We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We just stayed Friday through Monday and we booked it again for next year. Traverse City was packed with the film festival and many weddings and other social events going on. The hotel is in a very great location for us....if you want the beach its a short walk. The indoor pool is great! The breakfast is wonderful with many things to choose from. We stayed last year for the first time and really enjoyed it. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff are also top notch with making sure everything is OK. Great customer service at check in with warm cookies just baked and coffee,tea,hot cocoa. We will be back again!

Room Tip: We have stayed on the 2nd floor and 1st they are both wonderful...we did not have a problem with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maillady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    338
    99
    33
    16
See reviews for
460
426
27
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wis Rapids, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was large and roomy. Lots of rooms to spread out and relax. Breakfast was included and lots of variety. Breakfast area was a bit cramped, so difficult to obtain your food without bumping into others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Loved it. Efficient and clean. Great service. Nothing to complain about. Expensive for what it is but this seems to be the case in TVC in general. Actually more of a bargain than other choices. I was quite satisfied. Was surprisingly quiet given we were on the ground floor. The many entrances were a bit daunting but the staff was helpful. Don't usually write positive reviews as is human nature but I think these guys deserve it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Markjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howell, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff was super helpful and friendly. Mike G was awesome!! The breakfast was better then any other free breakfast I have had...lots of variety and yummy!!! Rooms were clean. Outdoor sitting area was really nice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Pros: Good breakfast but about the same as other complementary breakfasts elsewhere, whirlpool, pool, clean. Cons: Terrible Wifi could hardly stay connected to it on smartphone or laptop, parking was packed (to be fair it was during Traverse City Film Festival) but one night we couldn't park by our room and had to park by the lobby. I didn't feel I had gotten good value for my dollar.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Curtis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed on Sunday night. It was busy, but the front staff quickly checked each group in, had many people at the front desk so we only waited a minute and check in was very efficient and informative. They had popcorn, coffee, tea and hot chocolate out to help yourself to and complimentary cookie at check in. The pool was very clean, warm and fun. There is also a hot tub. The room was excellent, modern, with refrigerator and microwave. We fond the beds and pillows to be very comfortable. They even called a little bit after we checked in and got to our room to see if everything was,ok, or if we needed anything. This place knows customer service and exceed our expectations. It is in a convenient location, for activities downtown, around the bay, It is located at the base of the peninsula, I recommend the drive up the peninsula to the old mission light house 20 - 30 min. drive) , visit the wineries and stop at a roadside stand to buy some cherries.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John_Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was very impressed with country inn and will definitely stay here again. As a club carlson gold i was automatically upgraded and was welcomed with a gift pack in our room. The staff was top notch and the breakfast was great, i highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between the east and west branches of Grand Traverse Bay, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Traverse City places guests a mile from gorgeous beaches and a bustling downtown. Our Traverse City hotel is just a quick drive to more than 150 inland lakes and rivers. Ride a bicycle down the 10.5-mile TART trail, enjoy views along the Grand Traverse Bay shoreline, visit local parks or enjoy a delicious meal at any one of the numerous restaurants downtown Traverse City. Relax on the beach, catch a boat tour, take the kids to the Great Lakes Children's Museum or catch a show at the State Theater. And of course, if you're here in early July, don't miss the world-famous National Cherry Festival! Northern Michigan really does have it all and at Country Inn & Suites - Traverse City, you are minutes away from Old Mission Wineries, Downtown restaurants and breweries, Sleeping Bear National Park, Moomer's Ice Cream and so much more! Any given weekend you could be just around the corner from the fun and excitement of a festival or celebration. When you're done exploring the area, you can refresh with a dip in our oversized heated indoor swimming pool, relax your muscles in our large hot tub, our simply sit back and enjoy a book from our 'Read it & Return It' Library while lounging in our beautiful courtyard. For anyone looking to stay active, check out our 24-hour fitness center complete with treadmills, climbers, free weights and pre-core machines. Country Inn and Suites -Traverse City also offers cable TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, fax and copy services, guest laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar, same day valet service, complimentary USA Today Newspapers and fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing