We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever stayed in! !!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst hotel I have ever stayed in! !!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Booked this place online and it was nothing like depicted on the site. It's in much need of updating and major cleaning inside and out! Not only was the room filthy, it had termites eating the leg on a piece of furniture and we actually killed several termites. We let the lady at front desk know of the problems, but she was not concerned or even offered to compinsate for the problems. They offered a continental breakfast that was served in a small room that was also filthy!!! This place should be comdemmed and the Choice Company should be more aware of what is going on their hotels! !!! To top it off we paid $150 a night!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19818389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Termites? No. However, upon inspection we did find a nest of large ants outside the window and some did get into the room--a professional service was called in to deal with them. The staff person in question has been reprimanded.
Choice Hotels inspects on a regular basis and we are in good standing. Our breakfast room was a manager's efficiency under the original ownership. A few years ago, when we decided to offer more for breakfast than what could be accommodated in our lobby, we converted it. Choice requires EconoLodge to offer one type of pastry, one unsweetened bread, regular coffee, decaf on request and juice. We provide up to four types of danishes, up to five varieties of bagels, waffles, white and wheat bread, two types of cold cereal, a variety of flavors of instant oatmeal, regular coffee, decaf coffee, regular and green tea, juice, milk and hot chocolate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    25
    18
    31
See reviews for
30
26
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel to get some christmas shopping done on the way back from the cabin. Just outside Traverse City. Saved money on staying here and put it towards more shopping. We were not at the hotel long due to shopping and ect. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Has a pool and hot tub. Some econo lodges don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for staying with the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We make an effort to keep our rates among the lowest in TC. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Based on reviews here I would have thought that I booked a room at a run down crack hotel. Not the case. Our room was clean and everything functioned just fine. Was it all new and nice? No. But I don't expect a hotel that is one of the cheapest in the area to be that way. We booked the room for a place to sleep and it worked just fine. If you don't like flat pillows, just ask for extras. The breakfast was tasty and the staff was friendly. The pet friendly atmosphere was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayesquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We appreciate your business and your kind words. We have been performing many upgrades, with more planned. As a small, family owned and operated business, it takes time. And we do strive to keep our rates reasonable for the area. We hope to see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

In the great spirit of D.Boon, Mike Watt, and George Hurley, we jammed econo in TC and bedded down at The Lodge. Complaints on this page are from haters who must chill or radically reorient themselves. You get in, you get out, you get home, you bed down, you crash, you greet the day, grab a bun, and you're on your way again. So what's the problem? There is none. The Lodge is the A#1 place to jam econo. No hassles, standards so good you won't notice if they're not, and an all-around vital component to a highly enjoyable 24 hours. I even took a dip in the pool. Stay here if you like to jam econo. D.Boon's spirit live on in this TC gem!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornelius N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for being our guest. We strive for top customer satisfaction and have performed numerous upgrades and renovations in the last few years and have more planned. In the last three years we've installed new carpet and wallpaper throughout the facility, installed new screens on all windows and installed new safety latches on them as well, upgraded our wifi service, all rooms now have fridges and micros and much more. We hope you will be back to see us the next time you are in TC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Where do i begin? My wife and I drove up to Traverse City for my step son’s graduation. We reserved the room over a week advance through choice hotels. When we arrive after a 20 hour drive exhausted from the road there is a sign on the door that read no valency's. My wife went in and the front desk told her because we arrived later and she had a wedding party arrived looking for rooms she rented them out. She said she did have one room with a faulty air conditioner that she moved people from and she would set us up in that room. We took all our luggage up-to the room and turned on the air because the room was very hot being on the second floor above the heated pool area, then we proceed to the MC Donald's down the road to get some food. When we returned the room was even hotter as the air was coming out hot not cold. It wasn't real bad outside so we opened the window but it would only open around three inches. It’s like cracking an open window in a smothering car, doesn't do much good without circulation. We figured it would cool down sooner or later and we lay down without covers. After a few hours of sweating and tossing in bed my wife finally called the front desk to complain. The lady came up with a fan asked to come in, agreed it was extremely hot in the room and checked the air herself and apologized for everything and told us unfortunately no management would be in until Monday and we need to defiantly talk to them because she had to move someone from that room a few days before for the same reason. The fan in front the window cooled he room fast and at 4:30am we finally were able to get to sleep. Then at around 9:15am i am woken in my birthday suit to housekeeping walking into our room. Checkout time is 11am. Again my wife called the front desk to complain but again the response was "management won’t be here to Monday". So we pack everything up in the morning because we expected a new room Sunday. Sunday night was much better. Monday checkout came and my wife asked to speak to management but the front desk said he was much to busy on important phone calls and would be better for her to call in an hour or so. He called her and was very rude telling her it was too cold outside and she was lying about everything. He basically said he would give her 20% off Saturday night and hung up. I was not happy with his accusations and it wasn't about the money as my wife is a nurse and i am a network engineer and we are not concerned about the money. It was the whole situation and the way we were treated that was the issue. I told my wife to call Choice because they would make sure the hotel was following the choice hotel standards and these issues should be looked into further including the fact that management flat out called my wife a liar like she was trying to get a free ride. A few days later management emails my wife and insults her and calls her a liar again and tells her to prove her accusations. Needless to say, I am very disappointed in my stay, management, and choice hotels and I will never step foot into this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't waist your time and money... Go somewhere else..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JamieGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCEcono, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Reviewer is reporting what is wife told him. Review of front desk video footage with audio tells a different story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montague, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were very disappointed! Very run down place! Bed and pillows wore out along with everything else! Bedding was not clean and pillows smelled bad! Will never stay here again and was way overpriced. $50 a night room at that!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryfox97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We just replaced all of our pillows two months ago. I will look into this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberry, MI
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a suite with king bed in one room and fold out sofa in other. Room was small but adequate. Relatively clean. No frills. The bathroom exhaust fan was NOISY. I would stay there again because it was cheap for the area. The pool/hot tub area was small but ok. The breakfast area was small.

Room Tip: Suite 300 was the room we were in. Quiet location in hotel but upstairs with no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cossondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econolodge. And thank you for alerting us to the problem you experienced with the bathroom fan. This information has been forwarded to our maintenance man to be addressed. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
202 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
7.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
780 reviews
7.2 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#28 of 40 in Traverse City
315 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1065 S M 37, Traverse City, MI 49685-8508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing