We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wind in the Pines”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
New Haven, Indiana
1 review
“Wind in the Pines”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The location, breakfast and accommodations were all top notch. Breakfast was delicious and very attractively served. Dietmar and Marion are very gracious hosts making us feel very welcome at their inn. They gave us suggestions of the attractions in the area, which was most helpful. I would recommend this B & B to anyone. We plan to come back again.

Rich and Chris

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We booked our trip months in advance presuming that we could use a gift certificate that we purchased from www.bedandbreakfast.com. We had stayed there the previous year and were able to use it then. I made the online reservation on their website and mentioned the gift certificate and it returned an automatic message. Well, we didn't find out we couldn't use the gift certificate until we were checking out. Not until then did we see at the bottom of what appeared to be a message with standard language that the owner simply stated they did not accept GC from that website any more. The GC was only for $50 so we just ate these costs, but it think customer service could have gone a long way for returning guests if they would have just honored the GC. Oh well. We learned that lesson the hard way. My second part of this review is about the breakfast. Like I mentioned, the owners changed hands since we had been there. A nice couple from Germany purchased the place. I'm not sure if its tradition in Germany to be served a lunch-type food but it was definitely strange. They served an avocado topped with chopped tomatoes, feta cheese and drizzled with balsamic dressing, on the side of a hash brown cupcake with pesto and sour cream, next to sliced cucumbers and radishes. It was good to me (but not to my husband who loves a traditional American breakfast-pancakes, bacon, eggs, toast, etc). I'm not sure what to say about our stay this time around. While we loved our little tradition of staying here hike touring the city, I think we will be looking at other places next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashba1ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a three-day getaway and loved Wind in the Pines. The B&B only has three guestrooms but a beautiful and spacious common room for the guests (with a fireplace, boardgames, comfortable couches, et cetera). Everything at Wind in the Pines is lovely and clean. We truly felt like we were staying at the home of good friends, not a sterile hotel or a rundown inn.

The ample breakfasts were homemade every morning by Marion and laid out like clockwork at 9 AM. We had eggs florentine with German chocolate cake, and fruit platter one morning, and an egg and sausage scramble, custard, and fruit platter the other morning. The grounds are beautiful with lots of patio furniture, perfect for lounging in the mornings after a full and hearty breakfast. It is also lovely because you're only about a 10-minute drive from downtown Traverse City but you feel like you're in the middle of woods.

Dietmar and Marion were also lovely hosts. Very friendly and accommodating. I've stayed at a couple B&Bs and this one was my favorite hands down. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

First time visitor and it was very nice. Cozy with only 3 rooms but very nice accomodations. TV and reception was nothing fancy, but for Northern Michigan it was OK. Wi-Fi provided. Breakfast was very good, nicely done, homemade.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at Wind in the Pines and had a fabulous time. We've stayed at other Bed & Breakfasts that have been somewhat uncomfortable but we LOVED Wind in the Pines. The location was excellent. The rooms and home were beautiful. The homeowners were gracious and available without intruding. We will definitely stay here again if we're in the area. Oh and Chuck and Cindee really serve up a delicious breakfast. Don't miss that! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Spend two weekend nights at this secluded location minutes from Traverse City. Our hosts, Cindy and Chuck were very knowledgeable about the area and served marvelous breakfasts. The property is in a beautiful setting and the rooms are large and comfortable. The common guest area was inviting. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, MI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed only one night, wished we had booked our entire weekend here! The room was spotless. This B&B really feels like we were staying with friends! There are 3 rooms total, we stayed in the moose room. The house is beautiful, the room was spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Here are a few things sorta negative, which makes me feel bad to say. We could hear them walking around upstairs, the rooms blinds are light filtering, and the breakfast was promptly at 9am and there is no choice in what you eat. It was a good meal but I would have prefered a choice.

Overall I would and have recommended this place to friends and family. We will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imkaylajacobsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
9.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,115 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
9.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13573 S Gallagher Rd, Traverse City, MI 49684-7558
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are open all year long! Our beautiful log home is nestled among acres of pines offering peaceful, quiet relaxation. Three spacious guest rooms reflect the beauty of the north woods with their pine cone, bear and moose themes. We are located on the west side of Traverse City, just five miles from downtown. Our guests tell us that our location is ideal – away from the hustle and bustle yet close enough to experience all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing