We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

What a find! Wind in the Pines is a fabulous bed & breakfast. We were traveling with family and had the Moose & Bear rooms right across from each other which was perfect. The rooms were very tastefully done and the main living/dining area was also beautiful. The breakfasts were not "traditional" but they were very good. And the location is perfect...you feel miles away from Traverse City and yet you are closer than most hotels in town. The outdoor sitting area is pleasant as well; nice place to have a drink and just unwind. Would definately recommend this B & B to anyone traveling to Traverse City.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with another couple (or family) ask for the Moose & Bear rooms. The Pine C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Wind in the Pines for only one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Our room (Moose Room) was large and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The entire B&B was spotless; we have never stayed in such a clean "home away from home" before. The owners, Dietmar and Marion, were very pleasant and helpful, providing a great dinner recommendation in Traverse City, and remaining in good spirits after we accidentally locked ourselves outside at midnight (oops) while enjoying a drink on the patio under the stars. All in all, it was a great stay and we hope to return for a longer visit soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN_in_A2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed for some days. Comming from Switzerland, first time Traverse City/Michigan experience. Excellent breakfast, everything nice done and clean. Perfect size, just 3 rooms with a wunderfull living-room. Marion and Dietmar are lovely and helpful Innkeepers. We recommend this B&B to everyone ... thanks for the great time! Max&Rosa

Room Tip: We toke a look to all 3 of them, all are really nice, but we loved our moose room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The location, breakfast and accommodations were all top notch. Breakfast was delicious and very attractively served. Dietmar and Marion are very gracious hosts making us feel very welcome at their inn. They gave us suggestions of the attractions in the area, which was most helpful. I would recommend this B & B to anyone. We plan to come back again.

Rich and Chris

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We booked our trip months in advance presuming that we could use a gift certificate that we purchased from www.bedandbreakfast.com. We had stayed there the previous year and were able to use it then. I made the online reservation on their website and mentioned the gift certificate and it returned an automatic message. Well, we didn't find out we couldn't use the gift certificate until we were checking out. Not until then did we see at the bottom of what appeared to be a message with standard language that the owner simply stated they did not accept GC from that website any more. The GC was only for $50 so we just ate these costs, but it think customer service could have gone a long way for returning guests if they would have just honored the GC. Oh well. We learned that lesson the hard way. My second part of this review is about the breakfast. Like I mentioned, the owners changed hands since we had been there. A nice couple from Germany purchased the place. I'm not sure if its tradition in Germany to be served a lunch-type food but it was definitely strange. They served an avocado topped with chopped tomatoes, feta cheese and drizzled with balsamic dressing, on the side of a hash brown cupcake with pesto and sour cream, next to sliced cucumbers and radishes. It was good to me (but not to my husband who loves a traditional American breakfast-pancakes, bacon, eggs, toast, etc). I'm not sure what to say about our stay this time around. While we loved our little tradition of staying here hike touring the city, I think we will be looking at other places next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashba1ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a three-day getaway and loved Wind in the Pines. The B&B only has three guestrooms but a beautiful and spacious common room for the guests (with a fireplace, boardgames, comfortable couches, et cetera). Everything at Wind in the Pines is lovely and clean. We truly felt like we were staying at the home of good friends, not a sterile hotel or a rundown inn.

The ample breakfasts were homemade every morning by Marion and laid out like clockwork at 9 AM. We had eggs florentine with German chocolate cake, and fruit platter one morning, and an egg and sausage scramble, custard, and fruit platter the other morning. The grounds are beautiful with lots of patio furniture, perfect for lounging in the mornings after a full and hearty breakfast. It is also lovely because you're only about a 10-minute drive from downtown Traverse City but you feel like you're in the middle of woods.

Dietmar and Marion were also lovely hosts. Very friendly and accommodating. I've stayed at a couple B&Bs and this one was my favorite hands down. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

First time visitor and it was very nice. Cozy with only 3 rooms but very nice accomodations. TV and reception was nothing fancy, but for Northern Michigan it was OK. Wi-Fi provided. Breakfast was very good, nicely done, homemade.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
6.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
9.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,472 reviews
8.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
A Breath of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Aberdeen Stone Cottage B+B
Aberdeen Stone Cottage B+B
#5 of 19 in Traverse City
52 reviews
4.5 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13573 S Gallagher Rd, Traverse City, MI 49684-7558
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range: £109 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are open all year long! Our beautiful log home is nestled among acres of pines offering peaceful, quiet relaxation. Three spacious guest rooms reflect the beauty of the north woods with their pine cone, bear and moose themes. We are located on the west side of Traverse City, just five miles from downtown. Our guests tell us that our location is ideal – away from the hustle and bustle yet close enough to experience all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing