We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Traverse City can be pretty pricey in season and the Hampton Inn is a great alternative to some of the really fancy places. The chain is exceptionally clean overall and this hotel is no exception. It is located directly across the street from a small public beach on Lake Michigan. The hotel is a couple miles from downtown. The bike path is directly across the street, and it runs to the center of the city and twenty miles or so beyond. You don't get lake views from the hotel, but other than that it's a nice, quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnblue222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    257
    132
    50
    27
See reviews for
219
275
27
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Very clean, very nice and updated hotel. Great price and location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99p38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is a very neat, clean hotel that is right across from the water. It's just a little outside downtown Traverse but if you have a car it's no big deal. Staff isn't very talkative but seems friendly enough. Nice bathrooms, big beds, free wifi, and breakfast in the lobby if you can wake up in time. Overall I think we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Craazylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Six members of the family stayed here for 3 days. The hotel is particularly nice a with a great location opposite the beach and lakefront. The breakfast is great. Rooms have wood panelling and are somewhat elegant. Lobby staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Enjoy the waterfront location (across the road). Lake Michigan sparkles in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aviron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, PA
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. The only negative was that it wasn't within walking distance of downtown which would have been nice during a very busy weekend. But we would definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KaMar4486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We visited Traverse City with our friends. Both rooms were clean and had adequate services to meet our requirements. The location was close enough to everything yet was away from a lot of the hustle and bustle of downtown. The breakfast is typical for a Hampton but the service area was very nice and there was not a problem with crowded conditions or finding a comfortable place to eat. The check in/Front desk staff was very good and helpful at all times. I would definitely recommend this property and would return if the need arises.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights. Room was cozy, comfortable and CLEAN. Hotel staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast was great. Coffee 24 hrs in the lobby. In a great location, right across the street from a state park (we watched the 4th fireworks there). Would definitely stay again. The only thing we missed having, was a fridge (we needed it for milk and a medicine).

Room Tip: I would not want a room near the lobby, breakfast was near there and very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bleach05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing