We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right location, clean hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Kalamazoo, United States
1 review
“Right location, clean hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stay at a lot of hotels and the Hampton Inn Traverse City is very good. Whether your a business traveler or family this is a good choice. Excellent location, safe, clean, and the front staff is helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Sincerely,
Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    249
    123
    44
    25
See reviews for
203
260
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just spent a Saturday night at the Hampton Inn, one of the only hotels available for just a one-night stay in Traverse City.
All in all, a very positive experience - the front desk was super friendly and courteous, accomodations look very nice, new, and clean. The room is literally just a bed, maybe good for business stays, but it was very comfortable nonetheless. Bathroom was clean, shower head worked great on every setting (and great water pressure). There was also a pool/hot tub, but we did not get to take advantage of it. Complimentary breakfast 6-10am, and it's a decent spread including waffles, potatoes, and oatmeal.
Proximity to downtown about 15 minutes via E. Grandview Parkway. Price was comparable to other hotels for the weekend. I liked it, and would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelcake25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Sincerely,
Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room doors were VERY heavy and tended to slam. You had to make sure to grab the inside handle as entering to not slam the door (which many guests didn't bother doing).

It is located across the street from the beach.

The room and bathroom were all very small. There wasn't much counterspace to share for two people.

We also got a suite and were disappointed to find that it did not come with a fridge/microwave. I haven't had a suite that didn't before. I think this should be noted on their webpage.

The fitness room was really hot, but the equipment was really nice. Each piece of equipment had it's own TV set, and they provided headsets to use. This was a really nice feature.

Sam at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We arrived at dinner time and he gave us a dining guide and asked if we were looking for anything in particular.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyandotte, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I always stay here when I go to Traverse City. The hotel is always clean, usually pretty quiet, and the hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. Good breakfast choices, the food is always hot and fresh, and excellent coffee. Good central location to get to area attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while vacationing in the Traverse City/Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park area. We booked late, so we had to "make do" with a 2-queen room, but the beds were very comfortable & the room was sized just right.

Breakfast selection & quantities were top-notch, which we've come to expect from Hampton Inns. The hotel is right across the beach for Traverse City State Park, but you're within easy driving distance of any of the Traverse City beaches, not to mention the beaches along Sleeping Bear's shoreline.

The only complaint is regarding the location. It's apparently right on the main drive for Traverse City, and you're not on a corner with a light. So, be prepared to a) wait a long time to turn left in the morning out of the lot, and b) wait a long time to turn right out of the lot at night.

All in all, though, a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Hampton Inn in Traverse City, MI is your typical Hampton which comes with a courteous staff and nice rooms without any surprises. We were there at the beginning of August, which is heavily traveled area during that time of year. We were staying on business and dealing with all the traffic/people can become frustrating. You can't ask for a nicer place to be in the summer though and I sure do miss the temperatures I experienced there! The Hampton was booked solid and you could tell from the parking lot. One of the front desk personnel told me that they did have a room or two left and walk up rate was around $600.....yikes! We didn't pay that, I think our rate was around $150. Breakfast area packed, no place to sit. You have to be a very early bird to get a table right away. Nothing personal against Hampton, but to all the hotels out there that offer free breakfast, why don't you make a hotel with a breakfast area that can accommodate a lot more of your guests? Or if you know you will be full, have a breakfast seating time issued to your guests? Not sure what would work to solve the problem, but It sure is irritating not to be able to sit at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wstpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We didn't start off very happy with check-in (waiting for room that was ready clerk wouldn't check to see) but rest of stay was OK. Very pleased with breakfast selection. Room was clean, good location near airport and across the street is lake with beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing