We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged $100 for "evidence of smoking in the room" thought I don't smoke.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charged $100 for "evidence of smoking in the room" thought I don't smoke.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Charged $100 for "evidence of smoking in the room." I don't smoke. The unsubstantiated charge speaks as much to the management's incompetence as it does the cleaning staff's. Stay elsewhere. There are plenty of better options.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billingstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize for the misunderstanding in regards to the evidence of smoking in your room during your recent stay. Per your conversation with the General Manager those cleaning fees have been removed and the charges have been reversed. Again I am sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you and I thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    257
    132
    50
    27
See reviews for
219
275
27
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our family booked several rooms so we could attend our sons wedding. Our stay was very enjoyable, rooms were clean and the breakfast bar was excellent. We had to interact with hotel staff on several occasions an they were able to assist us in an prompt and professional manner. We would recommend the Hampton Inn at Traverse City for any to any of our family or friends for their future vacations or family functions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Change of plans caused us to want a different room than what we 1st reserved. Reception that night made a quick change for us with no problems. Room was clean. Breakfast was good but the sliced up fruit didn't have much flavor but that's not a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Sincerely,
Dee Houghton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcross, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Generally it's a standard hampton, nicely appointed, but pretty much exactly like every other hampton. Rooms are on the larger side, but again pretty standard. What I really liked was that it was right across the street from a state beach with a great playground and good beach access. It's not in the center of town or anything, but still easy to get to, and it's not too hard to find parking. Also it's got good access to the road that goes up to the wineries.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mooseyfate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Sincerely,
Dee Houghton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I will never stay at this hotel in Traverse City again. I travel extensively which includes this area. The bedspread was filthy, the sheets were musty/dirty. The night manager brought a thin bedcover up to my room and I was told the situation would be reported and rectified the next day. Upon arriving back to the hotel the next day after meetings, the linens and cover had not been changed. The thin bed cover had only been smoothed out, literally. Everything else was the way I had left it. Even the bathroom vanity had not been cleaned. I requested a new room for my second night. The sheets looked clean but smelled musty. The tiles in the bathroom were broken and mold could be seen around the caulking in the shower. Disgusting to say the least!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Lisa -

I would like to Thank You, again, for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize for the lack of cleanliness that you encountered during your recent with us. We will be providing additional training for our housekeeping staff to ensure that we meet and exceed the standard that you have come to expect with the Hampton Inn's. Thank you for your understanding and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As a former TC resident, I know this hotel has been in operation for close to 30 years. Despite a major upgrade and renovation in 2010, this busy property is showing significant wear and tear. Carpet to the elevators from the front desk looked worn and tired and was littered with paper scraps from the adjacent business center. Anyone on staff ever hear of a vacuum cleaner? Was disappointed in the cleanliness of room 235 on the evening of September 22. It was clear that horizontal surfaces and trim in the room were not being dusted on a regular basis, evidence of which was a large dust bunny (see attached photos) that housed a small spider and his web near the ceiling above the air conditioning unit. One would expect that the cleaning staff would look up once in a while! Tried to call the front desk about this but no one ever answered the phone. As the night was getting late, we decided to just live with it and tell the front desk staff about it in the morning. As Hampton Honors members, at this price point we have come to expect better. Unfortunately, not enough attention is being paid to keeping this place clean.

Room Tip: Making a left turn out of the parking lot can be a dicey business due to heavy traffic on Munson Ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatLakesMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I would like to apologize for the lack of cleanliness in the room that you occupied recently and for the public area cleanliness. We are actually in the process of replacing hall carpet and vinyl. I would also like to apologize for the lack of response from our Guest Service Agents so that these issues could have been addressed while you were here. Again, I apologize that we were not up to the standard that you have come to expect with Hampton Inn's. Thank you for your understanding and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We traveled with 2 other couples recently to Traverse City and on to Mackinac Island. This was a great home base while in the Traverse City area. We did full day trips to the peninsulas in the area. Returned at night. We could shower and change and make the short drive to downtown to have nice supper and beer or wine. Hot tub was great at the end of the night! This hotel is right across the street from the lake and only a few minutes to the airport!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Skydivegigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Sincerely,
Dee Houghton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing