We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is only OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel was OK. Was clean and breakfast was fine. No microwave nor refrigerator in rooms. Beds were not as comfortable as other Hampton Inn beds we have slept in. There are many hotels in Traverse city, I would try another if available.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent stay. Had great service and the breaky was delicious. The coffee was very good as well. The rooms were super quiet and the room was super clean. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would come back every time when visiting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
France Fitzgerald F.D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

There is nothing more to add, so I am typing to simply fulfill the two hundred character minimum. I hope you have a very merry Christmas and a healthy and a happy new year. The red fox jumped over the log to get where he was going.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
3  Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, front desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
France Fitzgerald F D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Room was nice, staff good. Bed was terrible. Too soft and almost lumpy. Just not good. Breakfast was a bit lacking but basically on par with any complimentary breakfast fare. Location is very convenient to downtown and airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize that the quality of the bed was not up to your standards. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This property was a real hit with me and the employees traveling with me in Traverse City. Everything was incredibly clean, and looked to have been remodeled very recently and in a very stylish and warm manner.
Our King rooms were very nicely laid out, and included some very nice features such as a sofa/sitting area, and built in desk (bed should be a few inches further from it, though). The walk-in shower in the bathroom was also a very pleasant surprise.
The pool was much larger than you usually find at this type of hotel, and it - together with the large hot tub - were very refreshing.
Fitness room had very nice equipment (elliptical, bike, & treadmill) with built in televisions - the headphone jack is kind of hidden below the stop button - which I've never seen outside of a very expensive hotel before.
Probably the only let-down of the entire stay was the breakfast. They did have a hot choice each day, but just eggs and carbs (biscuits, french toast sticks). Eggs are great, but they feel lonely without their friend Bacon :-)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Otowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

The Hampton Inn Traverse City is very pleased to hear that our hotel was a real hit with you and your associates. We take pride to maintain Hampton's excellent standard of service and quality. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving while visiting family. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our room was fantastic. Overall great experience and a reasonable price. The complimentary breakfast was a nice perk every morning. Planning to come back and stay again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Corey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. We loved having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Dee and her staff always make my stays at the Hampton Inn pleasurable. Everytime I walk into the door I know what to expect. They are very consistent in delivering their product. I love the rooms, the beds are the most comfortable. I never have issue when choosing the Hampton Inn in Traverse City!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank kwonna02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are a SUPERB guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. We loved having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £59 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing