We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but cramped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but cramped”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I only gave the lower ratings due to the size of the room and the fact that we had 3 adult women in this space. It was a much smaller room than we normally get at Hampton Inns, but the staff were very nice. There were no suites at this property so we couldn't upgrade to improve the situation. No accessible rooms with 2 beds were available for this stay and we have a family member who uses a wheelchair so space was even tighter for her. There were no rails in the bathroom which added to the challenge. The location was excellent though and the furnishings were very nice and well-done for the space limitations. There was no built-in closet to add to the challenge - just a wardrobe. So I would recommend for 1-2 people for a day or 2 but not for families or extended visits.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank RiskVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    257
    130
    49
    27
See reviews for
217
273
27
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This place was OKAY, in that it offered a clean and safe place with an adequate breakfast, but the positives were very limited. The breakfast was good but the area to eat in was cramped and loud. The employees were nice, but everyone I encountered REEKED OF CIGARETTE SMOKE. The rooms didn't smell, but every worker I met sure did. They must give the employees free cigs or something because everyone smelled like they just came off break after puffing a few. In fact, when loading my car up, I went out the back to find 6 housekeeping staff all puffing away.

If you are upset by even the slightest smell of smoke, then steer clear of this place. I have stayed in TC many times and this is in the bottom 25%. You're better off going more towards town and staying at the similarly-priced Howard Johnson's.

Room Tip: A king suite is way too small for a couple who both need to get ready at the same time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamGuy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize for the issues you had during your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRING GROVE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a good value in Traverse City with reasonable rates and I like the continental breakfasts included with the stay. The hotel is consistently clean and reasonably up to date. I love that the duvet covers are washed after every guest leaves...or so they say. I wish the bathroom sink area was a little bigger but for a couple days' stay, it's fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank TAMARA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davisburg, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It has been awhile since my fiance and I had a weekend away. This vacation was absolutely perfect. The views of Grand Traverse Bay are enough to sell you on this hotel. Once we checked it we felt at home with the friendly staff that helped us plan out our dining locations and activities. Though the hotel was sold out you would not have noticed with how clean the property was. Our room was spotless! If you are looking for a getaway in Traverse City you must stay at the Hampton Inn, you will not regret it. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta,GA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I arrived in the area earlier than the normal check-in time. However, since our room was not ready, we received an upgrade and allowed to check-in early. That was greatly appreciated because my husband needed to rest before meeting friends. All of the staff were polite and helpful. Facility very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk - Groups at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Your gracious comments were greatly appreciated. Also, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here. Let’s make it Hampton Traverse City, MI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very clean throughout. Air conditioning worked great in rooms. Pool was clean and a great temperature. Park with beach across the street. Hotel was quiet at night. The staff was great and handled every need. Gym was a little small but adequate for a short trip.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk - Groups at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euless, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The staff here goes out of their way to provide you with great service. I was also impressed with the condition of the hotel, we thought it was recently renovated (within the last 3 years) but found out it was done in 2006. Excellent job in maintaining the rooms and facilities!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing