We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The check in process was fast, rooms are attractive, breakfast is good, staff are nice, view of the bay is nice. The rooms are quiet even if the hotel is full. I have stayed at the hotel for business and pleasure and always had good experiences

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Fraont Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

But service went right down the toilet with a poor room choice availability on the first floor for a rewards member. Phone did not work and mattress was saggy. This was a handicapable room and simply rotating the mattress would likely resolve the situation. Phone did not work and getting a wakeup knock was like asking for an act of congress. I have stayed here before and was quite happy. Don't know if I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Patrickwilliam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I see that we did not earn your 9's or 10's and I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 night with family of 4. Used it purely for sleep/breakfast. Room is smaller than normal and no where to unpack, so always walking around suitcases. No fridge is a major annoyance. Beds were comfortable, HVAC wasnt too loud. Breakfast gets overwhelmed when busy. Minimal seating but they did seem to keep up with the food quantity. Part of the seating issue is people spending an extra 30 mins talking without eating anything, just taking up space. It has 2 side entrances that are very convenient. We would definitely compare to other local hotels in the future given the competitive nature of Traverse City.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpartanGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I see that we did not earn your 9's or 10's and I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hamptons are known for being solid, and this one enforces that. Staff was all very kind, and the view of the water is gorgeous. It's East, so it's a little quieter. You can't beat being able to walk to the water from the front door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ashlee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Fromt Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We usually always enjoy Hampton Inns, but this one did not live up to their usual standards. The room was quite small, but that was not a problem. Right away my husband noticed that the 'easy' chair was broken. I called down to the front desk and was told that they could not replace it. Then the next day in the morning we noticed a stain on the comforter. We left a note for the maid, requesting that she change the comforter and the sheets and she did so. Then the 3rd day, the toilet was not working well. I called down to the desk and shortly a woman arrived with the plunger, which she attempted to hand to me, when I didn't take it, she came in and plunged the toilet. But she didn't fix it. She left the plunger and then my husband later fixed the toilet. We reiterated all this upon check out, but they didn't seem too concerned about any of it. Not sure if it is because Traverse City is a resort town, maybe they feel they'll always have customers, whatever the service was like, but we were disappointed. (On the positive, the complimentary breakfast was good as usual, and the staff in that area were friendly.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I see that we did not earn your 9's or 10's and I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Would recommend this hotel primarily for the fact that it is CLEAN. Free Breakfast was good. We had late checkout for free. Staff was cordial. Amenities worked. breakfast area was a little cramped and could've used some more tables/chairs...but all minor stuff. AGAIN: VERY CLEAN.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good value and close to anything in the city. Can access the bike trail to Sutton' Bay. Right across the street from the beach. The pool could have been a few degrees warmer. Next to a state park and close to other family activities like put put and go cart track.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £56 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing