We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but pricey stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Corydon, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent several nights at the Hampton last week. The room was very neat though smaller than some. The beds were comfortable but I found the air conditioning unit to be a bit noisy as it cycled. I realize it was the high traffic season but I believe the stay was a little pricey. My only complaint would be that the motel advertises it is directly across the road from the beach. While this is true it is impossible to cross the very very busy road to get there without walking a distance down the road to an overhead crossing. The amount of traffic also makes it difficult to make a left turn to go back toward downtown. Many times we had to turn right and go down the road and turn around to come out at a light . This was a bit of an inconvenience.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room away from the front where traffic sounds could be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcrecelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. . I'm sorry that the location created some issues for you during your stay. Please stay with us again. We Love having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    236
    116
    41
    24
See reviews for
190
251
26
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
248 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Over $225 for one Saturday night. In all fairness, it is the high season and a weekend but for a standard room, in a small city, I thought it was a bit much. Room décor and layout are classic Hampton. As a gold member, the registration team rarely forgets to offer the waters and wi-fi. On this occasion, it did not happen. Hotel was clean and quiet. Breakfast was chaotic and tables were not wiped off. Would think one area of improvement would be to have a "hostess" that regularly restocks, wipes tables and assists with the breakfast crunch. Not located on beach side but across the street.

Room Tip: Back of Hotel away from front/road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgomez2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I see that we did not earn your 9's or 10's and I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Another nice Hampton Inn, consistent with many other Hampton experiences. Many nice things I could mention but they would be generic comments. Only one issue was the traffic noise in the morning, very likely due to the unique location of our room at the hotel. Although our kids slept thru the noise, the grownups couldn't. We were at the northwest corner of the hotel, which is nearest a traffic intersection. Getting a room elsewhere in the hotel probably would be quieter. Everything else was fine. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
680 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a motorcycle trip and since we came at high season we paid a very high price point but found this Hampton to be underwhelming with it's well tracked carpet in the hallways. Rooms were okay but for this price I expected more. It's okay but not worth what they charge in my opinion

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize for the trouble you had during your stay with housekeeping issues. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant. Our original room had a problem and they worked hard to make suitable arrangemnts for us. The hotel is directly across the street from the beach/state park. Great rooms and great breakfasts. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barbra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

It appears to be a fairly old place, so that shows a bit. However, the room was nice and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. It is not convenient to walk anywhere from here. No convenient way to get to the beach, which is on the other side of the road. Too much traffic to attempt to cross the road at any time. There was also quite a bit of noise early in the morning from the traffic. This was a good value though in comparison to other places there and it suited our needs fine.

Room Tip: The farther from the road you are the less noise you will have from the traffic early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuzuneed2no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. . I'm sorry that the location created some issues for you during your stay. I am very glad to hear that you felt that our hotel was a good value. Please stay with us again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was the most disappointing hotel I have ever stayed in within the Hilton chain. It had worn rugs, scarred halls and a hot tub with jets like trickling streams. We waited to check in for 20 minutes as the front desk clerk, who was nice and apologetic, said his "coworker just didn't show up"....my question was "where is the manager then?"...... the room was small and overlooked a trash bin and a deserted parking lot. The beach is near.....across a very busy, loud 4 lane highway. The only redeeming quality was a good breakfast. Save your money, stay at Hotel 6...it even had better curb appeal. I have always went with Hampton as I could count on quality. After this hotel, at this extraordinary price for what I received, I can no longer hold this maxim.

Room Tip: don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueFalconRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. I am so glad you enjoyed your breakfast. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing