We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed here for a bachelorette party over July 4th weekend. The rooms were clean and the staff was kind and helpful. They even helped us book a taxi (there aren't many taxi options in Traverse City!) to transport us to dinner and back from the bars. The hotel is about 3 miles east of downtown Traverse, but there is a nice beach right across road. Overall, it was a nice place to stay and the prices were better than most of the other options in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Font Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Traverse City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Nice and clean hotel. Close to the water. Could just walk across the street and you are on the beach. The front desk seems a bit rude to me or just pre occupied. I had to go to the front desk a couple times to ask for information, every time I had to stand there and wait while they do their thing and finally speaks to me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize for the trouble you had during your stay with the staff. Your issues have been address. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Traverse City, MI Hampton Inn is a wonderful experience located in the heart of America's cherry blossom industry. It consists of fine dining, old town character and terrrific wineries. The views are exceptional next to Lake Michigan and the relaxed atmosphere lends favorably towards a key vacation spot, family gathering or just sitting back and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very nice hotel and room - exactly what you would expect from a Hampton; however, I tried to use the pool and whirlpool and was literally chased out of the room by overly strong chlorine. Never have I had my eyes swell up and "cry" like they did here. It's been 2 days and I can still smell it.

Room Tip: the king was very comfortable
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize for the trouble you had during your stay with the pool area. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I was coming into town for a very short visit. Sadly I was attending a memorial service. The staff at the Hampton Inn got my room ready in advance and basically had me checked in so that I could run in and get ready and just 10 minutes to make it on time. They did not act like it was an inconvenience. And sent me along quickly with a water. Thank you.

As mentioned, this is a classic Hampton Inn which was comforting for me on this visit :)
So,
Staff at the front desk ....five stars
Staff at the breakfast...... Five stars
Cleanliness of the hotel..... Five stars
Location and ease of access..... Five stars
Heating and cooling.... Five stars
Sleep ability of the bed...... Five stars
Soundproof..... Four stars
Ability to make the room dark...... Five stars

The only challenge was in the room, number 126, and it was minimal. I struggled with the handicap shower and the phone was not functioning. I called down to the front desk not to complain, simply to inform. She promptly offered to send maintenance but I told her it was not necessary. She assured me they would check into it tomorrow for the next person.

How Hampton Inn handles inevitable challenges..... Five stars


* see my reviews for attractions and dining in the area.... Boones in Traverse City and the sleeping bear dunes

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheWaxQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I usually like staying at Hampton Inn because I know what to expect. I stayed here for three nights this month. I had a few interactions with staff from check in to breakfast, no problems but also no smiles. I guess maybe they are tired of the summer season? Luckily, everything else was fine.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Krismamabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Good day! Thank you for your stay and your review. I'm glad you found many things that you enjoyed about the Hampton Inn Traverse City. I apologize for the issues you had with staff members during your stay. Your comments and feedback have been address with staff members. I hope you will give us another opportunity to service you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Room was very clean and had everything we needed for our one night stay in Traverse City. Price was a little high but right in line with other similar hotels in the area. Breakfast was good and staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klkneifel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
359 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £64 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing