We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Members Credit Union Company Christmas Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had an outstanding experience at this Holiday Inn (Now West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort). The food was great, the atmosphere was beautiful and the staff was very responsive and polite. I would like to thank Suki, Maegan, Rob, Corbin, Jacki, Tove, Zach and Jeff for taking such good care of us at our party.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomás P, Director of Sales at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Rex,

Thank you for your positive comments. I am delighted to hear that you had a good customer service experience with us and that the aforementioned associates took care of your guests.

Sincerely,
Tomás Paddack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I am writing to say what a nice stay I had at the TC Holiday Inn last weekend. The facility was nice and clean, close to the city, and convenient for meetings. I also enjoyed the egg rolls at Shimmers, thanks to the recommendation of my server Allie. Thanks Allie - they were wonderful !!?

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Rwt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomás P, Director of Sales at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Rwt67,

Thank you for staying with us and for your recommendation of our food and service at Shimmers on the Bay.

Please consider staying with us in the future on your next trip to Traverse City.

Sincerely,
Tomás Paddack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My family and I went to for Thanksgiving dinner at Shimmers. The food was excellent, and the staff was helpful. There was always someone there to describe what was in the fantastic buffet spread. They even had chicken fingers for my picky four year old! She was very relieved.

We also loved our room. My kids loved the bunk beds in family suite, and the indoor pool was great. Everything was clean and looked beautiful.

We can not wait to come back this summer to enjoy the beach!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adevary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomás P, Director of Sales at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Adevary,

Thank you for your feedback on our Thanksgiving Dinner. So glad that you had an enjoyable meal. I am also grateful for your feedback on our Kid's Suite. Great to hear that it was fun for you and your family.

Please visit with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Tomás Paddack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I traveled 12 hours from Rochester, NY to Traverse City to conduct a presentation and demonstration for Munson Medical Central. After a long, tiring journey I needed to print out colored copies for the next day. Amy Davis was about to leave for the end of her long day and offered to stay later in order to print out the copies so that I didn't have to travel outside of the hotel. You don't find that kind of dedication and service very often these days. I really appreciated her help. It totally alleviated my stress. By the way, I have never been to Traverse City and I am very impressed with how beautiful it is here. The people at the Holiday Inn are the best!

Room Tip: Book early to get a view of Lake Michigan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomás P, Director of Sales at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Susan,

I am glad that Amy made your stay more convenient and stress-free. I was in the office when you came if and was happy to hear that Amy took such good care of you!

When your travels bring you to Traverse City again, please consider staying with us.

Sincerely,
Tomás Paddack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We are originally from Traverse City but moved to Pittsburgh almost 2 years ago for my job. We wanted to stay at our Holiday Inn over Thanksgiving break and after traveling for hours on the road we were exhausted and ready for dinner and relaxing. We stopped at the hotel restaurant in the Inn and were lucky enough to get James to wait on us for dinner. He was fabulous and easy to talk to. My kids liked him and he knew some of their friends so the connection was immediate. Any business in Traverse City would consider themselves lucky to have James taking care of their customers. He was funny, light-hearted and knew just how to take care of us. Very patient and kind though out our evening. Take care of this man because we'll ask for him when we come back.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor or on the second floor over the club....that club is fun!!!! But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomás P, Director of Sales at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear NikkiRogers,

Great to hear about your experience at Shimmers on the Bay and the excellent service you received from James.

Next time your in town, please stop by and visit with us again.

Sincerely,

Tomás Paddack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

As far as guests are concerned, I believe I am rather unique among those who stay at West Bay Beach (a Holiday Inn Resort) because for four months every winter this hotel becomes my home. This uncommon perspective of life at the West Bay Beach Resort has allowed me to often gaze behind the curtain and see just how much effort the staff routinely employs to guarantee that each guest's needs are fulfilled without delay and to their satisfaction. Sara, a waitress at the hotel, is a prime example of this commitment to excellence. Several days a week she promptly brings me my morning breakfast. Now, you would expect that the continual repetition of such a mundane act would make it rather tedious, but if it is so you would never guess by Sara's actions. For every morning she is charming, inquisitive, and engaging.

The location of the West Bay Beach Resort is another reason why I return here every winter. It's located at the very tip of West Bay on the east end of down town Traverse City which provides me with a fantastic view of both. It's location also puts the downtown within easy walking distance while not hampering its guests with a burdensome amount of traffic.

Last winter the resort went through an extensive period of remodeling, and the pay off has been worth it. If you haven't visited the hotel since they finished the remodeling, I urge you to do so. Also, if you have never stayed at the hotel before, I encourage you to try to reserve a room on the west side of the fourth floor of the west wing of the hotel. It provides what I consider the best view of both downtown and West Bay.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the west side of the fourth floor of the west wing of the hotel. It provides what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomás P, Director of Sales at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Kurt,

We are so honored that you continue to choose to stay with us. As one of our extended stay VIP's, we strive to make your stay more comfortable.

Thank you for the wonderful feedback!

Sincerely,

Tomás Paddack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I were able to sneak away for dinner and a Nauticat cruise a couple months ago. We did some research and decided to try the Holiday Inn. Not only was the Nauticat awesome, but our dining experience was fantastic as well! We thought about dining out at one of our usual restaurant, but ran into Greg A., and he convinced us to try dining at the newly renovated Shimmers, and we are so glad we did. The food was excellent, and Greg was a great additive to our evening. He was on point with our service and had a great sense of humor. We could tell that everyone at your hotel were very professional at their jobs. But especially Greg! His personallity was great and he was very kind. We had such a great time and look forward to another fantastic dining experience at shimmers and hopefully Greg will be working when we do.
Thanks again Greg!

Room Tip: Any Bay Front Room will have an AWESOME view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dining d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomás P, Director of Sales at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear dining d,

Thank you for your feedback on Shimmers on the Bay and for sharing your experiences about Greg. One of the advantages of staying at West Bay Beach is the amenities we can offer, including the Nauticat.

Sincerely,
Tomás Paddack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#19 of 40 in Traverse City
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £72 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing