We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ending to a stressful dramatic day.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Headed for Traverse City early this morning for a little getaway, we started the day with a broken alternator belt in our car. Four hours later the garage told us it wouldn't be ready until tomorrow. We only had tonight to get away for a one evening out. We rented a car after an hour of paperwork and finally got on the road. When we got to the hotel we were very much over the day and over traveling. As soon as we stepped in the doors we were greeted with very genuine smile from Ashley. She was so helpful getting us situated and headed in the right direction. We have two dogs traveling with us and things aren't always the easiest. After getting to our room we decided to head down to the lobby and get a coffee. This is where the whole trip really changed. In the lobby we met an employee named Suki Sherman. She was just getting off work and we had a delightful conversation with her. We learned that we knew some of the same people and were from the same area growing up. Thank you so much to Suki, Ashley, Danielle and the rest of the team for turning our vacation around into a positive one. We WILL be back on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Ryan2334 -

Thank you for your review! We are grateful you made it back home safely and without "events"!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

I've always enjoyed my stays at this property, but now that it's West Bay Beach - Holiday Inn Resort - my last stay this weekend was absolutely outstanding. Great food and service! Great job to Jon and the waitresses in Shimmers on the Bay and Jennifer in the restaurant. If you're looking for a business stay or a weekend of play, when in Traverse City, I only book at West Bay Beach!

Room Tip: Any view you can get of the water will be one of the finest views in all of Grand Traverse Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Jeffrey H -

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.com! And, thank you for mentioning Jennifer in your review!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Whhen we first got there,we were met by Brandon, the manager. He was very friendly,helpful and extememly professional. The room was great, very welcoming and cozy. When we checked out the woman at the counter, Danielle, was nice enough to reccomend places to stop after we left. The next time i am in the area,will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ad1324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

AD1324 -

Thank you for mentioning Brandon and Danielle in your review!

See you next time!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Didn't know this was a holiday inn resort. I think first one in the Midwest!

Modern, comfortable and friendly. Apparently the hotel has gone through a total renovation. Rooms have fridge, nice lounge chair, good lighting and lamps with plugs.

The bathroom is very small but the shower head is very nice. The coffee maker is practical and so simple to use.

Fitness center, hot tub and indoor and outdoor pools. Thank you!

Thank you and I'll be back in summer

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

CecibelB -

Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate you staying us during such a cold streak!

Our winters are tough but our summers are worth it!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Just in town for one night and Char checked us in quickly and explained everything the hotel had to offer. Extremely friendly. Room was immaculate and very cozy and was surprised at how comfortable the beds were. Danielle checked us out at the front desk and was very friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel and surrounding areas. She suggested things to do on our way out of town and just very enthusiastic at everything she had to offer. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Joshua O -

Wow - "Amazing" - what a nice title for your review! We are very appreciative that you took the time to write feedback here on our TripAdvisor.com listing! Thank you for mentioning a couple of our wonderful team members, Char and Danielle!

See you again soon, we hope!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Visited Shimmers when we were in traverse city and it was absolutely awesome. Definitely recommend it. it was such a fun environment with a great staff. The food was phenomenal and the service was great. Keene was our server and he was beyond on top of his game- great personality and always had a smile on his face just as every other staff member. It was a great way to spend our night with drinks, laughs and music. We are eager to return this summer to see what kind of fun the patio has to offer!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendyl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Kendyl C -

Thank you for writing a review on our restaurant, Shimmers on the Bay! Also, more importantly, we appreciate you mentioning Keene in your review; he is such a valuable member of our staff!

See you next time!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I spent three days and nights at West Bay Beach in February. Our room had a gorgeous view of the bay and we loved waking up to it every morning. We also visited the hotel's restaurant, Shimmers, on two occasions (once for drinks and another time for dinner), and enjoyed another picturesque view of the bay outside the wrap around windows (ask for the corner table!). In the resort, everything was convenient, and it was a pleasure interacting with every member of the staff - they all went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. For our purposes, the location was perfect. The hotel is on the bay, but it's also walking distance to many shops, restaurants, etc., and only a short drive away from plenty of other attractions (we visited the celebrated ice caves in Leland while we were there). Thank you to everyone at West Bay Beach for making our anniversary a wonderful memory. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Patricia J -

Happy belated anniversary! We are SO appreciative that you chose to spend such an important occasion with us here at West Bay Beach.

We can't wait to see you again!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
408 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £96 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing