We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I went to TC for our anniversary. Stephanie took very good care of all the details to make this a memorable weekend! She set up a wine tour, had flowers in our room, craft beer on ice and chocolate covered cherries upon our arrival and a cherry pie upon our return from the tour! Danielle put us in a beautiful room waterside with an amazing view! Devon and Keene took very good care of us at Shimmers where we ate lunch and dinner! Their recommendations were right on and the food was delicious! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Sherri M-

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so thrilled you had a great experiance at our resort.

Devon, Keene, Danielle and Stephanie are valued members of our team and we are happy they made such a memorable experiance for you and your husband!

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Krystal F
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

May 1-4, 2014. We booked a 3 night stay at this hotel. The staff and hotel was awesome. They want to make your stay at the hotel an excellent stay. Each morning, we would have breakfast at the Bistro. Jennifer Totten was our waitress each morning, she was absolutely wonderful, she made you feel like you were at home. She was great and she want you to be comfortable and very accommodating to make you welcome. The rest of the hotel was great. We are so looking to our next stay at this hotel. We would recommend if you are traveling to Traverse City, stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Susan G -

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.com! We appreciate you sharing your feedback with others.

Most importantly, we value that you mentioned Jennifer in your review. She's a wonderful team member!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent a few nights in early Spring over Easter. Drove up from Spring Lake on Easter Sunday to Traverse City and chose this hotel because it had a Restaurant and knew we wouldn't want to go out after our trip. The hotel had a big Easter Brunch and the Restaurant was closed on the Sunday night. Booked on line so we weren't to know this but we were not advised upon check-in. Came down for dinner, very hungry and was told sorry its closed! So we went out.
Got back to our room and they had left a bottle of wine for us and an apology which was a nice gesture, however, had we known, we would have stayed elsewhere.

Hotel, rooms and facilities were fine, we had a room with a nice view of the lake. Barbara serving at the bar really looked after us well, all staff, very friendly but how can management decide not to operate the Restaurant when there are paying guests staying in the hotel ???

Room Tip: If you want a great view, ask for room 443 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwingkingGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

SwingKingGoldCoast -

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.com.

As mentioned, we did make a decision to close our restaurant after the busy Easter Brunch. We did this in an attempt to give our staff a "thank you" for their efforts earlier in the day and spending all morning and afternoon serving our guests.

I'm glad the staff worked hard to make it up to you - including the amenity; we also had complimentary sandwiches available, and offered shuttle service to area restaurants as well that evening.

We are sorry that this created an inconvenience for you. We will certainly reevaluate our decisions in the future.

Thank you,

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I went to TC for a quick getaway, long spring break weekend . We really enjoyed our stay at West Bay Beach! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect -- right on the bay! The rooms were nicely decorated -- clean and contemporary. This property was built in the '60s but recently remodeled. Manage your expectations about the size of the bathrooms. They are fine. But not huge. Rooms were large, however -- we had a king and a couch with lots of space. We really appreciated the complementary shuttle. With the shuttle, we didn't have to mess with parking downtown, didn't have to walk to dinner in the rain and we were able to bar hop a bit without having to worry about driving. This resort is really well managed and every single staff we met were welcoming and tried to exceed our expectations. We will DEFINITELY return to this resort. And the view on the Bay?? Amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dartanian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dartanian1 -

Thank you for your "100% satisfied" review here on TripAdvisor.com! We appreciate you mentioning our staff in your reviews...we, without a doubt, have the best staff in Traverse City!

See you again soon?

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went in for Breakfast and our waitress Jennifer made us feel at home. It was my birthday she put a rose on the table for a gift to me she was so nice and pleasant. A+ keeper in my book we will ask for her again

Room Tip: best view room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Robert L -

Thank you for mentioning Jennifer in your review!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was in the area with a bachelorette party, after wine tasting we went to Shimmers for more drinks and dancing!! Our server Keene was so fun and took great care of us!! We couldn't stay off the dance floor! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT5423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

KT5423 -

Thank you for mentioning Keene in your review of Shimmers on the Bay!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Allie was an amazing, friendly, attentive server. She was very quick and efficient and offered great menu selections. The sous chef, Nick Murray came by the table to check how the food was and he was very sweet. The two of them made for a great experience and I will certianly be back in the very near future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Melissa S -

Thank you for mentioning Allie and Nick in your review!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
407 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £96 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing