We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home for a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I travel home to visit family and friends with my children and we've stayed at the Holiday Inn several times. I love this place. I feel at home and the staff in all areas is wonderful and welcoming. I never consider any other hotel. The location is prime and the views of the bay are beautiful. Great job making us feel as though we are home away from home Holiday Inn!!!! We love you! !!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank NikkiRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

NikkiRogers -

Thank you for your second wonderful review on our property! We REALLY appreciate your loyalty when returning "home".

See you again soon, we hope!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have been coming here for at least 15 years. For much of that time, you could set your watch by its reliable and steady value. It was an understated gem in Traverse City. Some of our favorite family memories were made here, and we cherish them all. We saw many of the same employees year after year, which spoke well of the management and working conditions. We felt like we were coming home every year.

Under new ownership, this is now a "resort." I don't want to sell the property short. It is a rare property on the bay because of its multiple dining, drinking, and pool options. (And the outdoor pool, thankfully, is warm!) The view is very nice and location ideal. The new décor is new. That said, our days as guests may be numbered. The food has become too expensive (no Holiday Inn menu either) and the whole atmosphere seems more enticing for 20 and 30-somethings without kids. The room prices are climbing, climbing . . .

We don't see many of those same employees. Maybe they're still there but we just don't see them. Our one constant remaining is Jennifer, who has served us breakfast as long as we've been coming. She has watched our kids grow up and she is a friend we look forward to seeing with every trip. I think it is safe to say that as long as she is here, we'll be coming back. Once she's gone...?

A lot of money has been sunk into the new "resort," but does this justify the higher prices everywhere? Will this become a haven for the "good time" crowd, or continue to be a family destination and an option for a variety of guests? Time will tell.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovemykids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Lovemykids2 -

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.com. We really appreciate your feedback.

Rest assured, many of our loyal employees are still with us! In fact, before I wrote this, I did some fact checking:

We have 43 employees that have been here 7+ years! within that great group, there are 15+ that have been here 20+ years! Icing on the cake? We have two employees with 45 years! The tenure of our staff is a large part of what makes our property so great!

See you next time!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Had an awesome stay. The remodel looks great. Our server Nikki on the patio was the best. The staff was all good and room was comfortable. Food was good and drinks aren't super expensive. Also it's a short walk to downtown. We will definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Jim S -

Thank you for your five star review here on TripAdvisor.com! We really appreciate you sharing your feedback with others!

Also - thank you for mentioning Nikki! She's a wonderful addition to our team!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We did not stay here but wish we had instead of Grand Traverse. We loved the vibe, the fact that it was right in the water and the food was good. I saw pool,and it was marginal but I am looking for beach in the Michigan summer. The band was fun and so was the crowd.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Theresa N -

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We can't wait to have you stay with us next time!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Huge success! Just wanted to say I appreciate everything they did for us in hosting our staff meeting. Food, rooms, everything was great! The place is really looking nice and their staff was very nice, attentive and accommodating! Great work! Can't beat those views of West Bay too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Zachary K -

Thank you SO much for your wonderful review! It was such a pleasure hosting your group here at West Bay Beach.

See you soon!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

When I stayed at the holiday inn, I had a great stay. We went to the resteraunt one time and it was great. Our server Gabbi was awesome. She was so helpful and gave me samples of beer to find out if I would like that one. It was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeftyNefcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hello LeftNefcy-

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at West Bay Beach! Thank you for the awesome review!

Gabbi is a true asset to our team and we are thrilled that you mentioned her in your review.

See you on the patio sometime,

Krystal F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location on the lake not far from town and plenty of great restaurants. It was about a five minute walk into town. Our room was so comfortable and spacious! Bed linens much better than most hotels, good beds and a very practical down blanket. Room was quiet and set up to make everything easy. The staff was helpful, knowledgable, and efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mommak201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi mommak201-

We appreciate the great review on tripadvisor.com, thank you so much!

Hope to see you again soon!

Krystal F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
407 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £96 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing