We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Everything Easy, Low-key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location, Everything Easy, Low-key”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Easy to park, fast, easy check in. Spacious and comfortable room with a bay view. Free fast wifi. Beach bar and restaurant had outdoor and indoor seating, or you can take your food/drinks down to the beach chairs. Walking distance to downtown shopping. The room was cleaned properly while we were out, newspaper every morning, pleasant staff. Glad we chose it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank pjalmttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
pjalmtlansing -

Thank you for sharing this review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay well enough to share it with others.

Thank you, in particular, for mentioning the staff; we have such a great team here at the resort!

See you next time?

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    226
    78
    38
    20
See reviews for
183
260
20
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tillsonburg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were with a group of 22 people on a convertible cruise. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were well looked after. It was a great stop on our road trip....even took pictures of the group of us in front of our cars!
The food on the patio was very good. It all came at the same time and we were able to enjoy our meal together.
Thank you Jacqui & Jackie for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mreeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Mreeen -

Hello! Thank you for your review! The team really enjoyed visiting with you for the few hours you were here! I personally enjoyed checking out all of your beautiful cars!

Jacqui & Jackie are absolutely wonderful, aren't they! We are awfully lucky to have them on our team.

See you (and your cars!) next year?

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We really liked the central location and being right on the beach, however, as others have mentioned, the walls are thin and you can hear other people very easily. We had someone coughing in the room next to us and it felt like they were in our room. I was glad I brought ear plugs to wear to sleep. We had breakfast in the restaurant one morning and the service was sooooooo slow. We were sitting 20 minutes before anyone even took our order - we were about ready to walk out. It took over an hour and a half by the time we sat down until the time we paid our check. We went to a nearby McDonalds the next day for a faster breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Krbower -

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are embarrassed that we let you down.

We do have guests occasionally hear their neighbors, and I understand how frustrating that is.

As for breakfast, there is no excuse. We were very busy, but failed in this case. We are expanding our offerings (we serve breakfast in DAYCLUB at West Bay Beach & on our patio with a wonderful view of West Grand Traverse Bay), and believe this addition will help us serve all of our guests more effectively.

Again, thank you for letting us know.

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My experience was not perfect, but when word got to the hotel manager, he reached out and took care of me. That's an unsolicited class act of the kind you seldom see in business today. I'm not the type of person to gripe so I wouldn't have left a bad review, but the actions of the staff of this hotel would make me give it another try. This hotel is walking distance to downtown and has great food.

Room Tip: You can walk to downtown from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Philip M -

Thank you for sharing this here on TripAdvisor.com.

It was great to talk with you...thank you again for taking my call and chatting with me for a bit.

We work hard to ensure our guests create positive memories here at West Bay Beach, and when we fail on that, our next step is to make it right.

When your ready to give us that next try, please contact me!

Thank you,

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visit TC annually and finally stayed at the West Bay Beach Resort this June. The entire staff was extremely attentive and the beach front restaurant/bar is truly unrivaled in the area. We sat on the beach for an entire afternoon while Ruebon Quijas and the staff delivered drinks and food to our beach table and lounge chairs, and the local musician provided a current playlist of acoustic songs that topped off the Florida-like atmosphere. The newly renovated rooms were well appointed, very clean and spacious. The downtown area is a very short walking distance away and the beach activities at the resort are plentiful. We will be returning next year and will recommend the west Bay Beach Resort to all of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie_M-B2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Katie_M-B2014 -

Thank you for your wonderful review here on TripAdvisor.com! We are so thankful you shared your feedback with others!

Our staff is, by far, what makes West Bay Beach Resort the place to stay here in Traverse City! Ruebon is a great member of the team - thank you for mentioning him!

We hope to see you again next year!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was better than expected. Recently remodeled, updated rooms, staff was excellent. Would stay here again and again. Perfect location, walk to downtown, sit on the patio for dinner and live entertainment or overlook the bay. Beach is 20 feet from the resort, small park next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Eric M-

Thank you for the great review on tripadvisor.com! You traveled a long way to visit us and we appreciate that!

See you again sometime,

Krystal F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This resort/hotel is simply awesome! Perfect location within walking distance to downtown, the beach is RIGHT there, a park next door, and quick and easy if you want to drive anywhere. Plus, the West Bay is where all the good action is! We stayed here for the 4th, and while it was noisy (as to be expected), watching the sun set right from our 4th floor room every night was amazing! The staff were wonderful and knowledgeable, the food in the restaurants smelled delicious (although we didn't get to try it), and their beach was beautiful.

Room Tip: West end of the hotel. You'll have some noise from the outdoor bar at night, but only till 10 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Carrie C-

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the lovely review!

We look forward to seeing you in the future and hopefully you can eat at our restaurants next time!

Thanks again,

Krystal F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,062 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
314 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing