We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love T.C.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel was nice and clean. Staff was helpful & courteous. The view of W. Grand Traverse Bay was stunning (sunsets are unreal) and watching the sailboats is so relaxing. Close to the wineries & Sleeping Bear sand dunes. walking distance to 20 restaurants. *** Only downside was the outdoor dinning/bar area can be a little loud and you CAN hear it in your room if it faces that area.

Room Tip: West side rooms have great sunsets but can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Michael W-

Thank you for the nice review on tripadvisor.com!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed with a young man at the Starbucks this morning. Greeted everyone wished them a good day and helped with valuable information. He was awesome. His name is Eric. On the down side. We were served martinis in plastic cups and our power tripped twice and had to call for service. The staff was very pleasent.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Marcella J-

Thank you for the review on tripadvisor.com! Eric can make a mean cup of coffee and we are thankful he is on our team.

Hope to see you in the future,

Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Eric went above and beyond with customer service. Very great employee. Wish he worked at our Starbucks at our hometown. Would hire him in a minute. He deserves a great bonus for being so accommodating .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Girls249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hello Girls249-

Thank you for mentioning Erik in your review on tripadvisor.com. He is an asset to our team and we are lucky to have him.

Thanks again,

Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort in early August the weekend of our wedding. From our arrival it was clear all of the staff had been well trained. We were given the option of one of the nicest views in the hotel, but were warned about the noise from the night club on Friday and Saturday nights. We were too tired at night to be bothered by it, but if you are a light sleeper and turn in early I would avoid rooms near the club. Kids get a free breakfast and lunch and the food was pretty good. The beach/water was also nice. My only gripes with the rooms was that the bathroom space was too small and the soundproofing between the rooms was poor. Overall we had a great stay and would come back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi Scott T-

Congratulations on getting married and thank you so much for the lovely review on tripadvisor.com!

Cheers to a long, happy life together!

Krystal F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

wonderful pet friendly hotel, accommadations first rate. friendliness and service of the staff, (Devin) at the Day Club, from the food and drinks to overlooking the beach were great. walking distance to downtown. Parks for the dog to enjoy.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms very clean and updated, Rooms facing west,view of Grand Traverse Bay,(beautiful)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Myra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi Myra N-

Thanks for the nice review! So good to hear you and your pet had a great time. See you again sometime!

Krystal F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Walking distance to downtown, beautiful beach, great hotel. Older hotel but totally updated/renovated. Day club restaurant overlooks the bay great place to eat and live music at night. water sport rentals on site. only down fall - the carpet in the halls and stair ways were dirty and it is a little pricey but still very glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi Amy L-

Thank you for the great review on tripadvisor.com! Dayclub is one of my favorite places in town, the atmosphere is great and food is even better.

See you in the future!

Krystal F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got married just this past weekend at the West Bay Holiday Inn Resort and we cannot say enough about it. Every detail from the beach ceremony to the reception was handled with no issues by Rachelle, Kim, and Zack. Rachelle really went above and beyond and eliminated any stress to make sure we had a perfect day! We couldn't have pictured it any better. Also, a special thank you to Erik, who opened up the snack bar just for us after it was closed so that we could get a quick bite to eat. Also - thank you to Jennifer who gave us a wonderful breakfast experience the morning after the wedding. We also got a room that overlooked the beach and came back to our room after the wedding to a wonderful surprise. Thank you West Bay for giving us a wedding day that we will NEVER forget! ❤️

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Heather0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hello Heather 0809-

First of all, Congrats on getting married!! Thank you for choosing us on your special day! Your wedding day is one of the biggest moments in your life and we are thrilled to have provided such lovely memories for you.

Rachelle, Erik, Zach & Kim are valued members of our team, thank you so much for mentioning them.

Congrats again, maybe we will see you for the one year anniversary? :)

Krystal F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Traverse City, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £70 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing