We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plugged In ? ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel the lady at the front desk offered us the kids room. So we took her up on the offer which meant bunk beds for the kids and a king size bed for us. When we got to the room the kids were so excited until we found out that the TV and the DVD player or not working in their cubicle area. All of the cords were plugged in but nothing was working so needless to say our king size bed became very small so we could all watch TV. We went out to the deck for some live music and dinner which was great. The server was very helpful and did a great job. We as a family walked along the beach which was a beautiful sight. We also had time to check out the small arcade and the kids play area which was nice for younger kids. The exercise room was nice to have available was very very clean along with the indoor the pool and hot tub. Breakfast was kind of pricey for a family of four in the morning and I must have missed the free coffee but all in all it was a nice stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lyndie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Lyndie E,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Even though the hotel is located within walking distance to downtown, they provide a complimentary shuttle to wherever you would like to go. Our driver, Dan, was very considerate and polite. The breakfast options (either a buffet or sit down menu) were great, and our waitress at the sit down Day Club, Jackie, was so enthusiac and fun! By our third day she had our typical meals memorized which was very impressive! The bars at this resort were also great. Both the out door patio bar and indoor my formal bar area were very relaxing, and we had an especially good experience with a bartender named Devon. He was both very accommodating and friendly to my husband and I. Overall, I will be recommending this hotel to everyone, and can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliciaPT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi AliciaPT23-

Thank you for the great review on tripadvisor.com! Breakfast on the patio in Dayclub is one of my favorite spots in Traverse City, we are so glad you thought so too.

Dan, Jackie and Devon are important members of our team, thank you so much for mentioning them!

See you again in the future!

Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My family and I have stayed at this property for several years. We love staying there because of it's location and amenities. The staff is always friendly and willing to go the extra mile to please you. Autumn and Ashley always greeted us with a smile in the morning. Polly was always there for us when we needed extra pillows, towels, and soap. James is an exceptional waiter and has been taken care of us the past few years out on the patio. Jacqui is an amazing VIP host. She made sure our nights went well at The View. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esesi617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hello Esesi617-

Thank you for your continued business at our Resort, we are so happy that you choose us every year to stay with your family.

Jacqui, Ashley, Autumn, James & Polly are key members to our team, we apprciate you mentioning them in your review.

See you next year!

Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I was greeted by a young man in your restaurant /coffee shop named Eric with the most cheerful,professional, enthusiastic attitude. Eric' s attitude set the tone for my morning. He made me feel welcome!!! His knowledge of great customer service was evident in every thing he said and did for everyone one he spoke to while I was there.. Eric is certainly an ASSET to your facility.. The hotel staff made my stay an absolute joy Thank you for great service!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paulette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi Paulette M-

Thank you for the kind words about Eric, he is an asset to the team and we are happy to have him.

Thanks again,

Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had our wedding on the beach August 23,2014. This was one of the best experiences I have had. The staff starting with Rachelle,Kim and Amy to the banquet staff with Zach as the captain along with Jeff, Tove, Brittany, Diane, Eddie, Rob and Nico were so helpful and very attentive to myself and my family members that were setting up in the room for the reception. This experience made my wedding go off without 1 hitch and we had the time of our lives. All my guest commented on the wonderful food, patio for the band and bar area. The rooms are great the food was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay and you don't even need to leave the hotel with all it has to offer.
The staffs professionalism along with awesome customer service made my weekend better than I could have imagined. The staff at the West Bay Beach in Traverse City ROCKS!

Room Tip: Ask for a Bayside View, it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi Denise E-

Congratulations on getting married and thank you for chosing us to share your special day! We love hearing all of the great experiences people have at our resort and are thankful for all the shout outs to our staff! They are all important pieces to the puzzle and we are thrilled they helped contribute to making your day special.

Thanks again,

Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This place is old-renovated but old. The rooms are clean. Parking is good. Getting in and out is difficult. Breakfasts are good - but the same everyday . Personal is very pleasant.
It's not bad for a Holiday Inn but way over priced.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the beach and lake. It can be difficult turning out of the parking lot if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickiejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear mickiejack,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend with some friends. Had a great time, great location, friendly staff. Rooms were clean and adequate for what we needed. Just a great time all around. Will definitely return again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank michskier8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi michskier8181-

Thank you for staying us and for the nice review! We are thrilled you and your friends had a great time, we can't wait to see you again sometime!

Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Traverse City, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £70 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing