We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, better if it was closer to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The staff was wwonderful and the hotel is very well maintained. The main issue was that it was located a good deal from downtown. If you don't mind this then this is a great stay. Also, not all rooms have a fridge. This suprised me with the cost of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stones2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

When we arrived we found we had been allocated a Suite instead of a normal king room. A nice surprise.

Very comfy bed and good facilities.

Downside - the room is a little dark.

Breakfast excellent - although served on paper plates with plastic cutlery.

Staff were extremely friendly and so helpful. Thanks girls.

A $25 dollar discount for dinner at Boones restaurant came with the priceline deal - our advice - don't bother to use it - Boones is JUST ok! The "rib eye" recommended not good!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tompsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I visit the Traverse City area often and stay at the Fairfield Inn as many times as possible. The staff is always so nice, rooms are clean and modern. The hotel is best for single travelers, couples and older travelers. Although the hotel is not near or on the water, it is just a really short distance from the beach area and attractions. I find it best to call the hotel directly to make reservations. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missingtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed one night in a room with 2 double beds on the 3rd floor. The room smelled. I'll stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank Hinkochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The Fairfield Inn Traverse City was for the most part a typical Fairfield Inn. It is located in suburban Traverse City, and not as close to the water as many hotels and motels in the area. I did not shop around much so I cannot compare prices, but the location was adequate but not in the heart of things. I stayed in a king size room that met my expectations for a Fairfield Inn. They honored my request for a refrigerator, and upon check-in gave me a free bottled water and a milky way bar.
The second night was I there, I returned from a day frolicking about at Sleeping Bear Dunes, and was hoping to take a shower right away. However, my room had not be cleaned and it was almost 6 PM. I was a bit surprised, so I called the front desk and nobody answered. I tried calling several times before someone picked up. They explained it had been very busy and they were just now cleaning rooms. I suspect they were short staffed that day, but who knows. Anyway, the front desk lady sent the housekeeping person to my room and she cleaned the bathroom. If I hadn't needed a towel, I probably wouldn't have bothered with contacting the front desk, since it took so long anyway. I was a bit annoyed, but the staff was very friendly and did fix the situation, so no reason to dwell on it. I'm guessing just an off day for them.
On the plus side, the breakfast provided a nice spread and the lady working it was very friendly. The hotel also has a nice little market with bottled beverages (no alcohol), chips, candy bars, and ice cream.
I had a fine stay but I did wonder if one of the hotels closer to the lake would have been more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

This was not our first stay at Fairfield and it will not be our last. The staff is always helpful and everything about the hotel is clean. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel is quiet, so we get a good night's sleep. We also enjoy the breakfast, there is a good variety and the people are very friendly. We always enjoy our stays at the Fairfield.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mbbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Stayed at the Fairfield with my spouse and 3 other couples in early February. We came to Traverse City for a wine tasting weekend and arrived to a customized welcome letter, printed directions to our first wine stop, a map of Traverse City and special treats in our rooms. Wow...impressive start. It really is the little things that matter and this hotel does the little things well and the big things better.

I have always stayed at this hotel for many reasons. At the Fairfield, I feel VERY well cared for. The entire hotel is clean, it's in great condition and the attention to guests is remarkable. Rooms are fresh and renovated and the breakfast is GREAT. This hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalinoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
5.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City

Address: 3701 N Country Ln, Traverse City, MI 49684-4577
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £84 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Favorite Traverse City Hotel to experience Pure Michigan! The Completely modern Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located in the epicenter of destination Corporate, Government, andLeisure Travelers coming to Traverse City. For Corporate Guest we are minutes to Munson Medical Center, Interlochen Center for Fine Arts, RJG, Sara Lee, Grand Traverse Mall, NMC University Center, and a host of our regions premier businesses. The Leisure Traveler will find us just down the road from Grand Traverse Bays, Sleeping Bear Dunes, and Old Mission/Leelanau Peninsula Wineries. Perfectly located around the finest golf, boating, snowmobiling, fishing, hiking, & nature site seeing in Pure Michigan. Large rooms, indoor pool/spa, free high-speed, complimentary breakfast,legendary guest service that makes you want to return. National Cherry Festival First Week of July 2010. Book now and experience the best hotel for the money in Pure Traverse City, located in Pure Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi Hotel Traverse City
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi
Fairfield Inn Traverse City
Fairfield Traverse City
Traverse City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing