We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel does not live up to the high Marriott standard. I have stayed at the hotel three times while traveling for business and will not be returning. The first two times I asked about rates for future stays and was told by the front desk staff they would leave a message for a Manager to contact me. Both time I did not receive a response. I emailed Marriott and only then did the manager respond with an email stating they couldn't find my messages anywhere on their desk but if I need something, to call.

My most recent stay sealed the deal for never using this hotel again. I do a lot of traveling for business and use Marriott esclusivley because normally they have been accomodating to last mintue changes. This hotel, however, is not accomodating.

If you are looking for good customer service, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARW4785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaveVetteWillTravel, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

I am sorry that you did not receive the guest service that we pride ourselves on. We will speak about clear customer communication in our daily meetings. It is our hopes that you will give our Marriott award winning staff another chance to provide you with great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The high point of this hotel is the staff. Every single front desk employee I spoke to was friendly and responsive. Upon check out, I asked to have a package shipped via FedEx and I received A+ care from the employee who helped me. She even taped up my box and made sure it was good to go before I left. I was very grateful for her help, as I was trying to make an early flight at TVC. Overall, I felt they had one of the stronger staff teams I have observed on recent my business travels.

The rooms are clean and in line with what one expects from Fairfield Inn properties. The bathroom mirror lighting could be better. Walls are a little thin. I did have a lot of noise from the man next door the first night, but, thankfully, he checked out and wasn't there the next two nights. I liked having my own refrigerator and made a run to Target to stock it. I'm not a huge fan of the AC window units, because they click on and off so loudly and disrupt my sleep, but they are pretty standard at places like Fairfield, Courtyard and Hampton Inn these days.

I had to travel to TC for work during the end of the Cherry Festival and caught the tail end of some surprisingly high rates at this hotel ($274 plus tax!!!!). That seemed to be the case at a lot of the properties in the area during the Festival, as has been pointed out in other reviews. Hard to believe that these rooms were costing as much as I have paid at the Ritz! At that price, it's hard to argue the Fairfield is a good deal. But it's a good value at around $150 a night, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GamecockGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here because it was a Marriott property and the city was busy with Cherry Festival, but we were blown away with it's $250 per night rate.due to the festival. The place was clean and the staff was very cordial, a big plus, but I can't get away from the negative price gouging feeling. The other huge negative was access to the property. It was hidden, and trying to get out was dangerous due the the heavy traffic and no stop light to slow the cross traffic down.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJCjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnota-AGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Although, we are a bit difficult to find, most of our guests enjoy our quiet location. Traverse City is a very popular summer vacation spot. We are confident that our rate is competitive in this market. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Rooms might be dated but hotel is clean and nice.
Good location, and you must try the strawberry water they have at the check in counter.
Pool is also nice and the breakfast is a big plus.
Sam's club is near by for cheap gas.and things you may need on your vacation.

Room Tip: Get the top floor so you don't hear people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Buyer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel same in person as in pictures. Great service and staff. Bit pricey but great location, far from craziness and traffic during 4th July weekend. Breakfast was also good. Pool and room really clean! Only complaint was the thumping on floor from room above ours at 5 am!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Valeria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I recently stayed at this property and cannot think of any complaints! It was under 10 minutes from downtown Traverse City, and very easy to access (right off a main road- but the hotel is tucked back far enough that from our room, we didn't hear any traffic). The complimentary breakfast in the morning was awesome! There was everything you could want in a free continental breakfast (waffle maker, eggs, sausage, oatmeal, etc) and the guy cooking and stocking everything was SO on top of making sure it was all full and that everyone had what they needed. The hotel is very updated and modern, including the rooms, which is always nice. The king size bed we had was SO comfy too, super fluffy! We enjoyed the pool & hot tub several times and were very appreciate of the extended hours for adults, from 10-11:30pm since we never got back to the hotel earlier than 10pm. Other than that, we didn't spend too much time in the hotel, but everyone we came in contact with was really nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to friends as well!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Not bad for a inexpensive/medium priced hotel, but nothing very special either. The room was clean and pretty big. Comfortable bed, free wi-fi, big screen TV, basic bathroom (stingy on the shampoo and soap). This place is located about four miles out of downtown Traverse City, but close to the route to the TC airport. It sits on a hill behind a Cracker Barrell and at a short distance from a Sam's Club, so we're not talking about scenery or ambiance here. It is fairly quiet as it's 100 yards off a highway. Breakfast was just OK--cardboard toast/muffins and reconstituted scrambled eggs, but lots of fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt.
The front desk staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful--they are the best feature of this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator or mechanical room (avoid anything with a 26 in the numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueNWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
5.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
4.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
404 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City

Address: 3701 N Country Ln, Traverse City, MI 49684-4577
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £72 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Favorite Traverse City Hotel to experience Pure Michigan! The Completely modern Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located in the epicenter of destination Corporate, Government, andLeisure Travelers coming to Traverse City. For Corporate Guest we are minutes to Munson Medical Center, Interlochen Center for Fine Arts, RJG, Sara Lee, Grand Traverse Mall, NMC University Center, and a host of our regions premier businesses. The Leisure Traveler will find us just down the road from Grand Traverse Bays, Sleeping Bear Dunes, and Old Mission/Leelanau Peninsula Wineries. Perfectly located around the finest golf, boating, snowmobiling, fishing, hiking, & nature site seeing in Pure Michigan. Large rooms, indoor pool/spa, free high-speed, complimentary breakfast,legendary guest service that makes you want to return. National Cherry Festival First Week of July 2010. Book now and experience the best hotel for the money in Pure Traverse City, located in Pure Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi Hotel Traverse City
Fairfield Inn Traverse City
Fairfield Traverse City
Traverse City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing