We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality....i don't think so.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality....i don't think so.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel was a disappointment for myself and my two boys.
The pool was absolutely horrible....Very cold and the size is too small to be called much more than a large bathtub.
The hot tub/whirlpool was built into the pool, and consequently, the temperature never got much warmer than 'tepid'. Also, the room housing the pool was very small and created such loud reverberation....A person could not stand to be in the pool when there were children playing...children splash and carry on unattended and unsupervised, creating such a hazardous space that it probably shouldn't even be legal.
The loud noise from the children was very upsetting....
Our room accomodated us with two double beds. I had requested Queen size beds ..
We were promised Wifi...not to be! When i went to the front desk to ask about the access code, the girl at the front desk was very unaccomodating and handed me a piece of paper with a phone number on it and told me that it was my responsibiolity to call the internet provider....What????? i was stunned....are you serious...i'm not placing a long-distnace call on a hotel phone...and be kept on hold for goodness only knows how long....
The last and final straw was the regrigerator...i had requested a fridge in the room.....Well...No fridge...WEnt to the desk, and was told that on our last (third) night there, i could have a fridge for a 10.00 fee.....Fine i said...it arrived and was left outside the room!!!! When we returned from a hot afternoon at the beach, There it was....unceremoniously dumped in the hallway outside our room!...not even hooked up...Thanks alot!!!
We love Traverse City, and will go there a whole lot more in our lifetime...But we will never ever stay at the Quality Inn again! The bill for three nights totalled just shy of $500.00...This was an unacceptable cost for the Un-Quality at the so-called Quality Inn....
The only bright spot was a front desk attendant named Pam....Everyone else there needs serious customer service training!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlynnebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time in submitting your feed back and speaking with me over the phone regarding your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that you and your family had a less desirable experience during your time with us.

The swimming pool and hot tub gets serviced every Mondays and Fridays and I wished you had the opportunity to notify our front desk that the pool and hot tub wasn't to temperature.

I noticed when you made your reservation you called our hotel directly and spoke to our front desk supervisor who has been with the hotel for over 10 years. I'm not certain as to why there may have been some miscommunication in regards to your room having two queen beds. Our hotel does not have any rooms with two queen beds. Majority of the rooms we have are with two double beds.

We have an outside vendor who provides our Wi-Fi service and, as we discussed over the phone, my staff makes every effort to assist our guests with any Wi-Fi concerns before we refer them to the service provider.

Lastly, I'm sorry that we fell short in regards to providing you a refrigerator. There is no excuse as to why it was not placed into your room.

My entire staff makes every effort in anticipating all of our Guest's needs and I am sincerely sorry in falling short on a few items. We are well aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guests visiting the Traverse City area and cannot convey strongly enough how much we value your choice of our property for your stay.

We hope in the future you and your family will allow as another opportunity in providing a more enjoyable and pleasant experience.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    56
    52
    40
    24
See reviews for
56
70
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I want to say that we had a wonderful time at this Quality Inn by the Bay. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were very clean, pool was not too crowded and clean and the breakfast that this place puts out is unbelievable. I have a son that has to have low carbs and another one that loves his sugar. Well, they offered everything you could have imagined. Eggs, sausage, yogurt, cereal, muffins, Belgium waffles, fresh fruit and great coffee. Both my sons and husband were really pleased with the breakfast layout. I will stay at this place again. The price is unbelievable for Traverse City.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and did not hear any noises at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejnizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay.

Aside from being able to have a good nights rest in a clean and comfortable room, many of our guests enjoy the full hot deluxe breakfast with waffles. We are happy that you and your family was able to take advantage of our full breakfast. It is good to know we can provide for your children's special diet needs.

We hope to see you guys again soon and don't forget to refer us to friends and family.

Thank You again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at the Quality Inn by the Bay for two nights during the Labor Day weekend. The hotel was quiet, clean and close to the paved bike trail. The hotel was heavily booked during this time but was quiet and no noise kept us awake. The small breakfast area was packed each morning and many people could not find a table to eat at. We had to bring the plates back to our room to eat one morning.

The pool and hot tub are small and and can only accommodate a few people at a time.

The free Wifi worked well in our room.

The smoke from the camp fires next door at the State Park was not detectable in the room.
The rooms are all on the opposite side of the building away from the park.
The bathroom was the smallest I have seen.

Room Tip: The lower numbered room are closer to the hotel front where the breakfast & check-in area area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your recent stay with us. The hotel tends to feel cozy when it's at full capacity but we are always amazed as to how we are able to get everyone through the breakfast are each morning.

We are glad you had a quiet comfortable stay and we hope we will see you back again. Please refer us to friends and family.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My room was of the configuration mentioned in some other reviews with a door to the interior hallway in the bathroom and an exterior door in the sleeping room. Bathroom seems to be about 2/3 of the square footage of the sleeping room. The space would be much more usable if the bathroom was smaller and main room larger. Oh well that ship has sailed, you will have to accept having your back to the tv if sitting at the desk... The room was clean and the staff friendly. Parking seems to be a bit lacking but I got in early so it didn't affect me. Location is good, easy to anything you need. This is not a bad hotel by any means but if you can swing it spend the extra cash and stay at the (very nice) Comfort Inn up the street.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The8racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for our feed back. We are happy to see overall you enjoyed your stay. The room you stayed in is very unique in the way it is laid out. All of our ground floor rooms have an interior and exterior entrance. It provides the convenience of being able to pull up right to your bedroom door.

We know of the many choices of lodging available to our guests who visits Traverse City and we cannot thank you enough for choosing us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Checked out at the front desk and told the desk manager we need to pack up. Had the do not disturb sign on the door of our room. Twenty
minutes later house cleaning entered our room without knocking to clean the room. Our privacy was invaded and when brought to management companies attention they would not acknowledge house
cleaning erred in their judgement and that they would remedy mistake
that this would not happen in the future. Front desk even got belligerent
saying that when I checked I gave up any right t the room. However, I
was never advised of this policy upon checking out. No respect or courtesy by management.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

There is an obvious misunderstanding regarding this situation. When you checked out at our front desk around 11:00am, you informed our staff that you were checking out to get a receipt but still needed a few minutes to pack up the rest of your belongings. Approximately 45 minutes had gone by which is well past our 11:00 am check out time, our housekeeping team went to the room not knowing you were still in there. My staff apologized to you and asked for you to call down to the front desk once you have definitely vacated the room.

We are sorry for the misunderstanding and value your business. We are well aware of all the lodging choices available to guests who visit Traverse City and we cannot convey how much we appreciate you choosing us.

We hope we will have another opportunity to provide you with a more pleasant experience.

Thank you again for your consideration in this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Detroit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I booked this room through my corporate travel service. Being frugal, I choose this hotel. Mistake. Although the room was "non-smoking" it smelled like a dirty ash tray. The smell was so strong I had a difficult time sleeping. After walking barefoot in the hotel room, my feet were BLACK! It looked like someone dumped ashes into the carpet and it was not properly cleaned. The hotel was very out dated. The room set up was odd, with a door to the internal hall way in the bathroom. There was a door to the parking lot in the main room. There was a small continental breakfast that was nothing special.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooner_Sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us.

Our team takes pride in providing a clean and comfortable place to stay whether its business or leisure. We apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience during your time with us.

Our hotel is 100% Smoke Free and although we try to monitor people's behaviors and enforce our 'No Smoking" policy, we regret to say that people don't follow rules. We wished you had the opportunity to let our staff know of your concern while you were here so that we would have had the chance to remedy the situation. This also goes for the carpet and anything else that you may have found out of place in your room.

We thank you again for choosing us and hope we may have another chance to provide you with better service next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed two nights at the Quality Inn and really enjoyed our stay. It was clean, well maintained, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were the typical size of a hotel at this price range and were very clean! It is not an upscale hotel but for the price it gave us everything we were looking for. The breakfast had both hot and cold foods and was really quite nice. I will stay there again and and use the money I save to take in more of the attractions in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randall427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our full hot deluxe breakfast with waffles.

Since there are many lodging choices in the area, we try to maintain a competitive rate to try to align with our guest's budget.

Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you, your friends, and family again soon.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Property: Quality Inn By the Bay
Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing