We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are some up-sides to staying here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We've stayed at the Quality Inn By the Bay twice for 3 nights each time. The criticism that this motel is not "By the Bay" is essentially a semantic quibble in my opinion,y it is "By the Bay", but not "On the Bay". It is conveniently located to downtown Traverse City, the few public access points to Grand Traverse Bay and several restaurants. The biggest up-side for us is the fact that this is a dog-friendly motel (reasonable $5 per night per dog charge) and there is a walking/biking path right behind the motel and lots of grassy areas around the motel. It is also convenient if you do have a bike and want to take a ride after you check in, or want to walk, run or jog because you can simply go out you door and get started. The trial goes on for miles. The breakfast is quite varied (sausage, eggs, both hard-boiled and hot, waffles, biscuits, fruit, etc.) but the breakfast area was carved out of the original lobby so it's small and can be chaotic if you show up when a lot of other people want to eat. We didn't find the per night price unreasonable ($77 per night). I agree about the safe charge, but they will take it off when you ask them to do so. The problem is that you have to pay attention to what is on you bill when you check out. The entire facility is very clean and the housekeepers were responsive to our request to have our room made up at a specific time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ml W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We know that the title "By The Bay" can be confusing. We wish we were on the bay with a beautiful view, but nontheless, we are accross the street from the bay but only a block away walking distance from beach access.

We are happy you were able to take advantage of our "pet friendly service". We all know nowadays our family pets travel with us more than before. Thank you for pointing out all of the convenient locations and activities you were able to partake while staying with us.

We can agree that the breakfast area is quite "cozy" but we are happy to announce that we will be going under construction soon to provide a bigger and better breakfast area.

Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again soon.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a recent visit to Traverse City. This was our first stay at this motel, and I was a little worried about the "mixed" reviews. However, we took a chance and I am not disappointed. Contrary to what many reviewers have said, we did not find our room or our wing of the motel to be "dingy," or "dirty." Yes -- it is a little "dated," but our room was clean and rather comfortable. Our room was equipped with a heart-shaped, Jacuzzi tub. The tub was clean and operated just fine. It was spacious, and easy to get into/out of, and we had no problems with it. Because we had a Jacuzzi tub, the bathroom was a bit "tight." The toilet is jammed next to the bathtub/shower. Our king bed was comfortable, and the room was equipped with an LCD Flat Screen TV with the usual type of "hotel" channels. No fridge or microwave. Plenty of pillows, even though they were a bit on the small side which seems to now be the thing in Choice Hotels. My only complaint about our room was the window air-conditioner. It operated fine, but only on "High," which was overly noisy. It took me a while to play with it to discover the "knob" was cracked and slipped. Once I figured this out, I was able to manipulate the knob to the "Low" position which was much quieter. The breakfast room is clearly an afterthought. It is jammed in the front lobby right next to the check-in desk. Both days of our stay, my wife and I were seated at a small table between the check-in desk and the front lobby doors. There were maybe a half-dozen other tables, so seating may not be available if the motel is crowded. Both days of our stay, however, we were able to find a seat during the 8:00 hour without a problem. The usual offerings for breakfast. Waffles, some cereals, sausage, eggs, muffins, toast, coffee, juices, milk, boiled eggs, yogurt, etc. Just nothing overly special. Suited the purpose.

They were doing work on the motel during our stay, so most of the guests seemed to be at the back of the motel. Note -- this motel has 96 rooms, and the building itself is over 900 feet in length. I couldn't believe how long it was. Reminded me of being on a cruise ship again. Since we were at the rear of the building, it was quite a hike up to the lobby area for breakfast. My wife is disabled, so I actually drove her down the 2nd morning so she didn't have to walk. It is nice and quiet on that end of the building, since you are back from the road. All things considered, a good stay.

If you are looking for a five-star motel with five-star amenities, this isn't it. However, if you are looking for a clean, affordable motel with basic amenities -- not too far removed from the hub bub of Traverse City -- and don't wince at a few, rusted plumbing fixtures -- then book a stay here. We found it clean, comfortable, and fit our fixed-income budget just fine!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguinhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a chance with us and our hotel. We appreciate all comments and reviews our guests submit and everyone is enttiled on their thoughts and opinions. It realy comes down to person preference and experience. We are delighted to know overall you guys enjoyed your stay. However, we are sorry you ran into a slight hurdle with the a/c unit. Thank you for trouble shooting the issue but please remember we are here for to assist in any way.

We are working on providing a bigger and better breakfast area to accommodate all of our guests comfortably. We hope to see you again so you can experience the changes and updates we have planned.

Thank You.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

As others have observed, it's not "By the Bay," but that's not the issue.
There are better places to stay at comparable prices.
Please check my other reviews - I'm NOT all that picky.

If you DO stay here, ask the management to remove the charge for the safe from your bill. You probably thought that scam went away years ago, but it lives on here at $1.50. Ok, a small charge, but who actually USES an in-room safe?

The shower felt like pin pricks with no adjustment to fix that.

The slide lock channel (replacing a "chain" lock) to the inside hall door was barely hanging on by one screw. Not real secure. The steel door to the parking lot was peeled up on the corner. It looked like it had been opened with a can opener.

There are six tables in the breakfast area for about 80 hotel rooms. Most of those tables are for two people. The cute sign says that they call it "cozy," but you can be the judge. There ARE trays so you could take food out of that area. Hint: Trays are hidden below the counter, you wouldn't normally see them.

Room was clean, but smelled a bit musty.
Bed was OK.
Bath was redone and huge, but strange in that the inside hall entrance is through the bath.
WiFi worked fine.

Room Tip: This is a long, skinny old motel. Higher numbers are further from the road noise, but also further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay.

The in-room safe service have always been provided and available to all of our guests. The fee for the in-room safe charge is clearly printed on every registration cards our guest sign and there is a big sign posted at the front desk that states the safe charge can be removed upon request if it was not used. We are not in the business on "scamming' people. Never have and never will. Believe it of not, people do use the safes for personal valuables such as lap tops and the minimal $1.50 fee provides coverage up to $10,000 of loss personal properties placed in the safe.

We are sorry that you ran into some issues regarding the water pressure in the shower and the door latch. . We hope you had a chance to bring this to our attention while you were here. We can agree that the breakfast area can get crowded but we are working on making major renovations to expand and provide a bigger and more comfortable breakfast facility.

Thank you for your time and we hope you will allow us another opportunity in providing a more comfortable accommodations you you and yours.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stopped here mostly because searching on my cellphone proved too cumbersome and we needed a place to stay after long day of driving, plus it was the first weekend of summer season.

Motel room was basic for the price, no refrig or microwave, somewhat hard bed. Clean, though, and great breakfast bar.

Convenient location near the bay, and right along main highway, in a popular summer vacation spot, which explains the price. And it did take pets, which was important since we had our dog with us.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtodrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your business and your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know you were able to take advantage of our "Pet Friendly" service.

At this time, we only have a couple of rooms that comes standard with a microwave and fridge and that would be our two room suites with a king bed.

Our hotel is conveniently located near beach access, restaurants and shopping, as well as activites such as Pirates Cove (mini golf, go carts and zip line).

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This property is not "by the bay" in that it is across the road and you can barely see the bay from the end of the corridor, but not from my room. It fronts a noisy, congested road. The curtain in my room had holes in it. The halls were dingy. The bathroom is small and old, and the fan keeps getting louder as it runs. It was priced ridiculously high. I will say that the bed was comfortable and the front desk man was helpful. The little tiny lobby was way too small to accommodate the breakfast crowd. Overall, I was disappointed.

Room Tip: The higher the room number, the farther you will be from the busy, noisy road. So, for instance, 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindyLou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback with us on your recent stay. Our name does state "Quailty Inn By The Bay" and unfortunately people are misled that we are located on the water. As you found out upon arrival we are accross the street from beautiful East Bay and we are just a block away from beach access.

I'm sorry that you were not satisfied with the condition of your room. I wished you had a chance to let us know so that we may have had the chance to remedy your concern and possibly offered you a more suitable room.

We are well aware of the many lodging choices made available to everyone who comes and visits beautiful Traverse City and we connot convey how much we appreciate your choice in our hotel. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to service and and provide a more enjoyable experience.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We got the hotel cheaply on Priceline, and some hotels definitely give you the less-desirable rooms and less helpful service when you book that way, but not here. All front desk staff were extremely nice, and the room was spacious and clean. All doors are secured with key card access. You can walk to several restaurants (including Red Mesa) and also to the crosswalk over 31 that gets you to the beach. The free breakfast had quite a big selection (even though it's in a cozy little space)--I love the make-your-own waffle station. My only complaint would be that some of the other guests were not very considerate or sanitary when using the breakfast room, but that's not the hotel's fault!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank without_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay starting with the rates you were able to get, to our level of customer service, to our room conditions. We are happy to know you also enjoyed the hot delux breakfast that was offered although it does get quite "cozy" when the hotel busy. The smell of the "make your own" hot waffles can help start your day in the right direction.

We hope to see you guys again soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Me and my wife celebrated our 16 year anniversary. The front desk attendant made us feel right at home. She was courteous and proffessional. Our room was very clean. Nice new T.V. Hot Tub worked very nicely. I was delighted at how nice everything was. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you for allowing us to be part of your special occasion. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to you and your wife. I'm delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and the amenities our Hot Tub Rooms had to offer. My staff strives to provide the best service our area can offer. Please continue to share your experience with your friends and family. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: £64 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing