We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn By the Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$99
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkshore Resort(Traverse City)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Hotel Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
31
60
60
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
60
60
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesfirst floorpool and hot tubfront desk staffjacuzzi roombeds were comfortablelabor day weekendcookieswould stay here againfree breakfastregistrationfrigdowntownmichigan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Bed spreads had rips in them. The room smelled like an ashtray and the bathroom was so small, you had no room to change clothes if you wanted...you barely had room to sit on the toilet. The breakfast area/ lobby was extremely small. There was no room to sit or stand if it was busy at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feed back with us regarding your recent stay. On behalf of our hotel and our team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations.

I wished you had the opportunity to bring your concerns to our attention while you were at the hotel. We would have made every effort to remedy the issues. I do agree that our breakfast area is small for the number of rooms and guests we have at our hotel. However, we are very excited to announce that we will be breaking ground in August to have a brand new breakfast area with more room to accommodate our guests comfortably. We hope you will allow us another chance in staying with us so we can share these new changes and updates with you.

Thank you again for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We've stayed at the Quality Inn By the Bay twice for 3 nights each time. The criticism that this motel is not "By the Bay" is essentially a semantic quibble in my opinion,y it is "By the Bay", but not "On the Bay". It is conveniently located to downtown Traverse City, the few public access points to Grand Traverse Bay and several restaurants. The biggest up-side for us is the fact that this is a dog-friendly motel (reasonable $5 per night per dog charge) and there is a walking/biking path right behind the motel and lots of grassy areas around the motel. It is also convenient if you do have a bike and want to take a ride after you check in, or want to walk, run or jog because you can simply go out you door and get started. The trial goes on for miles. The breakfast is quite varied (sausage, eggs, both hard-boiled and hot, waffles, biscuits, fruit, etc.) but the breakfast area was carved out of the original lobby so it's small and can be chaotic if you show up when a lot of other people want to eat. We didn't find the per night price unreasonable ($77 per night). I agree about the safe charge, but they will take it off when you ask them to do so. The problem is that you have to pay attention to what is on you bill when you check out. The entire facility is very clean and the housekeepers were responsive to our request to have our room made up at a specific time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ml W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We know that the title "By The Bay" can be confusing. We wish we were on the bay with a beautiful view, but nontheless, we are accross the street from the bay but only a block away walking distance from beach access.

We are happy you were able to take advantage of our "pet friendly service". We all know nowadays our family pets travel with us more than before. Thank you for pointing out all of the convenient locations and activities you were able to partake while staying with us.

We can agree that the breakfast area is quite "cozy" but we are happy to announce that we will be going under construction soon to provide a bigger and better breakfast area.

Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again soon.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a recent visit to Traverse City. This was our first stay at this motel, and I was a little worried about the "mixed" reviews. However, we took a chance and I am not disappointed. Contrary to what many reviewers have said, we did not find our room or our wing of the motel to be "dingy," or "dirty." Yes -- it is a little "dated," but our room was clean and rather comfortable. Our room was equipped with a heart-shaped, Jacuzzi tub. The tub was clean and operated just fine. It was spacious, and easy to get into/out of, and we had no problems with it. Because we had a Jacuzzi tub, the bathroom was a bit "tight." The toilet is jammed next to the bathtub/shower. Our king bed was comfortable, and the room was equipped with an LCD Flat Screen TV with the usual type of "hotel" channels. No fridge or microwave. Plenty of pillows, even though they were a bit on the small side which seems to now be the thing in Choice Hotels. My only complaint about our room was the window air-conditioner. It operated fine, but only on "High," which was overly noisy. It took me a while to play with it to discover the "knob" was cracked and slipped. Once I figured this out, I was able to manipulate the knob to the "Low" position which was much quieter. The breakfast room is clearly an afterthought. It is jammed in the front lobby right next to the check-in desk. Both days of our stay, my wife and I were seated at a small table between the check-in desk and the front lobby doors. There were maybe a half-dozen other tables, so seating may not be available if the motel is crowded. Both days of our stay, however, we were able to find a seat during the 8:00 hour without a problem. The usual offerings for breakfast. Waffles, some cereals, sausage, eggs, muffins, toast, coffee, juices, milk, boiled eggs, yogurt, etc. Just nothing overly special. Suited the purpose.

They were doing work on the motel during our stay, so most of the guests seemed to be at the back of the motel. Note -- this motel has 96 rooms, and the building itself is over 900 feet in length. I couldn't believe how long it was. Reminded me of being on a cruise ship again. Since we were at the rear of the building, it was quite a hike up to the lobby area for breakfast. My wife is disabled, so I actually drove her down the 2nd morning so she didn't have to walk. It is nice and quiet on that end of the building, since you are back from the road. All things considered, a good stay.

If you are looking for a five-star motel with five-star amenities, this isn't it. However, if you are looking for a clean, affordable motel with basic amenities -- not too far removed from the hub bub of Traverse City -- and don't wince at a few, rusted plumbing fixtures -- then book a stay here. We found it clean, comfortable, and fit our fixed-income budget just fine!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguinhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a chance with us and our hotel. We appreciate all comments and reviews our guests submit and everyone is enttiled on their thoughts and opinions. It realy comes down to person preference and experience. We are delighted to know overall you guys enjoyed your stay. However, we are sorry you ran into a slight hurdle with the a/c unit. Thank you for trouble shooting the issue but please remember we are here for to assist in any way.

We are working on providing a bigger and better breakfast area to accommodate all of our guests comfortably. We hope to see you again so you can experience the changes and updates we have planned.

Thank You.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

As others have observed, it's not "By the Bay," but that's not the issue.
There are better places to stay at comparable prices.
Please check my other reviews - I'm NOT all that picky.

If you DO stay here, ask the management to remove the charge for the safe from your bill. You probably thought that scam went away years ago, but it lives on here at $1.50. Ok, a small charge, but who actually USES an in-room safe?

The shower felt like pin pricks with no adjustment to fix that.

The slide lock channel (replacing a "chain" lock) to the inside hall door was barely hanging on by one screw. Not real secure. The steel door to the parking lot was peeled up on the corner. It looked like it had been opened with a can opener.

There are six tables in the breakfast area for about 80 hotel rooms. Most of those tables are for two people. The cute sign says that they call it "cozy," but you can be the judge. There ARE trays so you could take food out of that area. Hint: Trays are hidden below the counter, you wouldn't normally see them.

Room was clean, but smelled a bit musty.
Bed was OK.
Bath was redone and huge, but strange in that the inside hall entrance is through the bath.
WiFi worked fine.

Room Tip: This is a long, skinny old motel. Higher numbers are further from the road noise, but also further from the breakfast area. Maybe a number 115-120 or 215-220 is a good compromise. Get to breakfast early or late to avoid a crowd and look for a tray to take food out.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay.

The in-room safe service have always been provided and available to all of our guests. The fee for the in-room safe charge is clearly printed on every registration cards our guest sign and there is a big sign posted at the front desk that states the safe charge can be removed upon request if it was not used. We are not in the business on "scamming' people. Never have and never will. Believe it of not, people do use the safes for personal valuables such as lap tops and the minimal $1.50 fee provides coverage up to $10,000 of loss personal properties placed in the safe.

We are sorry that you ran into some issues regarding the water pressure in the shower and the door latch. . We hope you had a chance to bring this to our attention while you were here. We can agree that the breakfast area can get crowded but we are working on making major renovations to expand and provide a bigger and more comfortable breakfast facility.

Thank you for your time and we hope you will allow us another opportunity in providing a more comfortable accommodations you you and yours.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stopped here mostly because searching on my cellphone proved too cumbersome and we needed a place to stay after long day of driving, plus it was the first weekend of summer season.

Motel room was basic for the price, no refrig or microwave, somewhat hard bed. Clean, though, and great breakfast bar.

Convenient location near the bay, and right along main highway, in a popular summer vacation spot, which explains the price. And it did take pets, which was important since we had our dog with us.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtodrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your business and your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know you were able to take advantage of our "Pet Friendly" service.

At this time, we only have a couple of rooms that comes standard with a microwave and fridge and that would be our two room suites with a king bed.

Our hotel is conveniently located near beach access, restaurants and shopping, as well as activites such as Pirates Cove (mini golf, go carts and zip line).

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews