We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 20 January 2014

It seems when we want a quick, nice, quiet, getaway at a good price, and easy access to walk our pet, we come to this hotel, the room was clean, bed was comfy, shower nice, ground floor drive up entry to room, and door in rear of room opens to indoor hall that leads to front lobby of hotel, or pool area, so weather your room is located up front or at the rear you can walk to lobby from indoor rear hall/or walk your pet, which in the snowy cold season makes it really nice, and each section of hall has vending and ice machines. This time we were pleasantly surprised to see that they had completed some remodeling, the last time we were here in 2013, it was in progress, we thought they were making a larger room for visitors, but we were glad to see it was a large new breakfast area, with waffle maker , eggs/sausage/yogurt/fruit/muffins/etc. and 2 new bathrooms next to breakfast room. We give this hotel a high five, for though it is an older hotel, they sure seem to be improving the premises, keep it clean and the staff is always nice and helpful.

Room Tip: ground floor near rear of building if you don't mind walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank its4hisglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We hope to see you again soon!



Sincerely,

Pamela Weisler
Guest Service Manager
Quality Inn By The Bay
1492 US 31 North
Traverse City, MI 49686
231-929-4423

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with family while traveling during thanksgiving. I knew "by the bay" meant across the street and it's just a short walk for beach access. The building is aging, but seems to be well maintained. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the amenities were spot on. There are a few restaurants close by and two across the parking lot, so food isn't a problem. The staff is pleasant and efficient. Overall, a great place to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank ChuckMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Vakued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We are grateful you enjoyed your stay during the Thanksgiving Holiday. We hope your experience with us was an added enjoyment to your travel plans.

Please spread the word and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Really thought we were upgrading from a hotel down the street, what a disappointment ! Very overpriced. Not only is it small, it hasn't been remodeled in years. The carpet was dirty, the bathroom sink and counter were tiny with little room to put any thing. There was a pole on a slant holding up the sink. The toilet seat was falling off to one side. We were on the ground floor by the outdoor stairway that thumped long into the night with people going up and down, and talking loudly. At one point someone tried the door, scaring the bejeebers out of me. Way, way overpriced. Never again ! Suggest you go down the street for a better deal.

Room Tip: Go down the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Than you for sharing your feed back regarding your recent stay.

First, we would like to extend our sincere apology that you had an unpleasant experience with us. Rest assured that the hotel contnues to go through updatesand renovations. We just completed updating every room with 32" Flat Screen Tv's, new beds and beddings. We are onhe tail end of renovating for a brand new, bigger and better breakfast area.

We apologize that you felt the conditions of your room was not to your expectation from the toilet seat, dirty carpet and the size of the bath room. Did you inform the front desk? We would have made evey effort to move you to a more suitable room. As far as someone trying to get into your room, did you get a chance to report that incident? Unfortunately there are some guest who makes mistakes and thinks they are trying to enter their room when they realize it's not thier room. Remember there is someone at the front desk 24hrs and our guest's safety is our #1 priority aside from comform and pricing. We are in a resort town and we feel confident to state that we have very competitive rates considering location and eminities the hotel has to offer.

We hope you will allow us another chance and we hope you will be able to take advantage of our new breakfast area and future updates to follow.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Room was clean. The bathroom was way too small. When I was is the shower, if someone flushed their toilet, the water would get way too hot. Staff was very pleasant. Would stay again if we had to. Breakfast was small, but ok.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay but thank you for bringing to our attention what we can improve on so that your next stay will be more enjoyable.

We are excited to share that we are getting a make over on our breakfast area to provide and bigger and better breakfast experience. We hope to see you soon again to share this long awaited update.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room was very clean and small. The bed was lumpy and only a double. That's all they had left. This location was not what I expected for a Quality Inn. A little deceiving when it's titled "By The Bay". And you can almost see it from the parking lot around the buildings across the street. The room was way over priced. Staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: these rooms are worth $50.00. But the summer demand they can charge $140-150 per night? The AC did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLKnapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are soory to know your experience was less than what you expected. There have many confusion regarding our lable "..By The Bay". Unfortunately we are not on the water and none of our rooms have view of the water or beach.

However, we are just a block walking distance away from beach access.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were very happy with our room at this hotel. We stayed in room 218, which was a king bed suite, with the bedroom separate from a good-size living area. The bathroom was extra large and included a jacuzzi tub, which we did not use. The living area included a queen-size sofa bed, comfortable chair, desk, decent size frig with freezer, microwave, and flat-screen TV. The bedroom also included a flat-screen TV. The a/c worked well but was only in the bedroom, not the living area, so we had to keep the door between the rooms open. We had difficulty with the key cards at this hotel, which worked intermittently, and noticed that other guests were having a similar problem. We did have the cards recoded at the desk, but that didn't help. Just get several cards, and one is bound to work.
This hotel is not fancy but is fine for a place to sleep. All of the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, especially Pam, who took the time to map out a day trip for us. As the other reviews have noted, the breakfast area is small and the food is barely average. At the very least, another waffle maker could be added to speed things up. We also used a rollaway bed, which was substandard, even for a child, but the king bed was very comfortable. So, if you know what to expect, you will be fine if you are not picky and just looking for a good location to tour the area.

Room Tip: This is a very long hotel, so if being close to the lobby is important, be sure to ask to be towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feed back on your recent stay. We do agree the two room suite is our premium rooms available. We are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed the emenities the room and the hotel had to offer.

We can agree the breakfast area is small but we are excited to announce that we are in the midst of rennovation to provide and bigger and better breakfast area. More space will allow us to possible set up two waffle stations as you previously mentioned.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay. We hope to see you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was hesitant to stay here after seeing some of the not so favorable reviews, but I booked 2 nights here on August 11th, 2013. I was glad I did, the hotel was very clean, the staff was very accommodating and although the breakfast area was small, they had a lot to choose from. I feel for the money we paid for the room at this time of the year in Traverse City was a bargain. I would stay here again in a minute!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking a chance in staying with us. We appreciate your business and we are happy to announce we just broke ground in new renovations to make a bigger and better breakfast area.

We hope to see you again so we can share this new and exciting change and update.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
236 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing