We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up To Health Codes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The staff was very friendly, however, shortly after my husband and I entered the room, I noticed smeared fecal matter on the door jam, and other suspicious material on the bathroom door. A few minutes later my husband reached down the wall to plug in a small fan and received an electric shock because the electric socket was not affixed to the wall and open wires were hanging out. We found electrical wall socket problems in the next room that the staff had us move into. After stating our concerns with the rooms we were reimbursed a mere 20%. It was hazardous situation in which we felt stuck because there weren't vacancies in other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildephotography2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Assistant General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2008

Dear Maam/Sir:

As the A.G.M. of this hotel, I would like to begin by extending my sincere apologies to both of you in regards to the disappointment you and your husband experienced at our hotel.

Not to sound like we are making excuses, but please let it be known that this hotel is under new management and we are going to take this hotel to a higher standard from where the previous General Manager had left it.

I would also like to convey that SAFETY and COMFORT is our #1 priority at this hotel.

I have spoken to your husband in regards to these matters.I know that by me apologizing to what you have experienced won't change what had occurred during your stay, but rest assured that after this experience, it will allow the hotel to be better.

We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guest’s visiting the Traverse City area and can not convey strongly enough how much we value your choice of our property for your stay.

We hope that the next time you are in the beautiful Traverse City area you will allow us another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2008

Pretty disappointed in this hotel. Room was small, "double" bed was TINY, could hear baby crying in the next room, shabby carpeting in hallway, bathroom tub/drain was not clean when we arrived in room. Avoid this place

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Chinamom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Assistant General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2008

Dear Maam,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable experience with us at the Traverse City Quality Inn. It is our commitment to provide our guests with clean, comfortable lodging in a well-maintained and genuinely hospitable atmosphere. I am surprised that the beds were uncomfortable because all rooms have Serta Sleepers. The carpet in the first floor hallway is brand new and new carpets will be installed for the 2nd and 3rd floor in the Fall of 2008. In regards to the noise from other rooms, it is challenging to ensure a quite atmosphere when the hotel is to full capaicty.
I apologize that we fell short of your expectation in regards to the dirty tub and drain. I will accept responsibility on the matter and rest assured that this matter has been brought to my housekeeping manager's attention. We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guest’s visiting beautiful Traverse City and can not convey strongly enough how much we value your choice of our property for your stay. I hope you will allow us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Right on the main drag (M72) and across from the water of the bay ... not exactly downtown, but only a 5 minute drive away. Just east of the State Park ... within walking distance.

Girl at the desk was friendly and helpful.

Room was decent size ... on the dark side, though ... beds very firm ... seemed to have some updates: the wood trim on the doorways lightened up the room somewhat ... and hallways were narrow and did have a slight smoky aroma .. especially in the stairway area. Bathroom is just big enough to turn around in .. sink area is outside the bathroom.

Forget the breakfast ... four tables seat only 12 in this small ante area .. there were over 30 people trying to crowd in .. crazy! Why fight it when Mabel's is just a mile down M72 ... or Bob Evan's?

Kind of expensive .. true I didn't book until 2 weeks before the impromptu trip ... but $125/nt? A little steep!

Basically, an old hotel trying to make good.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinfandel601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your input regarding your stay with us. Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from downtown shopping and dining, beaches and wineries.

Our breakfast area can get cozy during our busy season and we will be going through some renovations to make a bigger and more effecient breakfast area.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Traverse City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Unfortunately, there is very little room to eat the sparse breakfast offered at this facility.

We noticed the problem when we checked in but could not cancel due to the requirements of a late reservation.

There is no room for guests to sit down and eat without feeling the people standing around are waiting for you to leave. There is no actual breakfast room. There are only a few tables squeezed into the lobby.

For this reason, specifically, we would not return. For the price ($119 + tax) we would also have appreciated a paper in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank timdillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our sincere apology for the disappointment you experience regarding our breakfast area. We are going to be renovating the hotel to expand and make the breakfast area bigger and more effecient for all of our guests.

I know this information did not help you during your stay but I hope you will allow us another opportunity so that you can enjoy the newly renovated breakfast area.

Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

This place is one of the least expensive in Traverse City and it shows. What I look for most in a motel after hours of driving is a clean room and a comfortable bed. Well the room was clean, but the mattress was worn and lumpy and should've been tossed out long ago; I can confidently say the bed was the most uncomfortable I've ever experienced in a motel. Other problems include a dirty bath towel, doors so thin you might as well be sleeping in the hallway in terms of noise isolation, and outdated decor. I would've gladly paid more for better conditions.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank costanzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Assistant General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2008

Dear Maam / Sir:

I am sorry that you didn't have a comfortable experience with our hotel due to the bed and noise. We have Serta Sleepers in all of our rooms and this is the first time it has been brought to our attention that the bed was uncomfortable. The noise volume varies depending on availability and if the hotel is sold out or close to being sold out. We try to be cognizant on room assignments and make sure guests are spread out, but this idea becomes a challenge when we are close to capacity. We are aware of the excessive lodging that are available to all customers who come and visit beautiful Traverse City and we greatly appreciate your consideration of our hotel. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Traverse City was quite expensive to stay in and this is one of the cheaper options. I also had a good experience there. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The neighbors were loud, so I wish the walls were a little more sound-proof. It was also located several miles out of town, but that wasn't a big deal. Continental breakfast was ok. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank coolclimates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in Traverse City. Rates in the area can get expensive during the summer sesaon since we are in a tourist/destination town, but our hotel tries to be conscieneous on our rates.

We are pleased you enjoyed the full hot deluxe breakfast with make your own waffles. We arfe located conveniently about 2.5 miles from downtown Traverse City where all the shopping and restaurants are located.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Needed a place to stay for just one night in Traverse. We weren't really looking for anything fancy, just a place to sleep. Quality Inn met those expectations. Price was right ($60). Comfortable but smallish room in an older hotel. Reasonably clean. Very small area for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rebelclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your travels through Traverse City. We try to be conscieneous on our rates to make sure our rates are "friendly".

We hope you will look us up again the next time you visit Northern Michigan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
871 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: £39 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing