We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn By the Bay
Nearby Hotels
Knights Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Hotel Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Place Hotel(Traverse City)
US$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
31
60
61
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
60
61
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesfirst floorpool and hot tubfront desk staffjacuzzi roombeds were comfortablelabor day weekendcookieswould stay here againfree breakfastregistrationfrigdowntownmichigan
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2008

My wife and I, along with our Basset, wanted to find a pet-friendly hotel for a decent price in a decent location in order to get away for Labor Day weekend. We found it in this place.

The room was clean, the AC worked nicely, and the shower pressure was adequate. We got ourselves a jacuzzi room, and were pleased with everything. The hot tub was clean and worked wonderfully, although it wouldn't shut off on the second night. No problem, though, as a phone call to the front desk promptly brought up a maintenance crew that solved the situation.

I requested a late check-out time on our second day, and the front desk was very pleasant and cooperative. If we ever need to stay in the Traverse City area again, we'll strongly consider this place.

The only thing we didn't like about the stay was when we tried to place an order for pizza to be delivered. The hotel guide's restaurant recommendation (Dino's Pizza) gave a time when delivery would no longer be available, and then refused to answer their phone for nearly a half hour. They finally answered immediately after their deadline, only to say that we were too late. I strongly recommend that you not call that place if pondering a late-night feast.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Flash-man-doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay besides the problem you encountered with ordering pizza.

Many of our guest are pleased to know we are pet friendly. There are only a few hotels in the area that are pet friendly. Also, we strive for making sure our guests are attended to right away for any needs and concerns. I'm sorry you encountered a slight issue with your jacuzzi tub.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The staff was very friendly, however, shortly after my husband and I entered the room, I noticed smeared fecal matter on the door jam, and other suspicious material on the bathroom door. A few minutes later my husband reached down the wall to plug in a small fan and received an electric shock because the electric socket was not affixed to the wall and open wires were hanging out. We found electrical wall socket problems in the next room that the staff had us move into. After stating our concerns with the rooms we were reimbursed a mere 20%. It was hazardous situation in which we felt stuck because there weren't vacancies in other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildephotography2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Assistant General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2008

Dear Maam/Sir:

As the A.G.M. of this hotel, I would like to begin by extending my sincere apologies to both of you in regards to the disappointment you and your husband experienced at our hotel.

Not to sound like we are making excuses, but please let it be known that this hotel is under new management and we are going to take this hotel to a higher standard from where the previous General Manager had left it.

I would also like to convey that SAFETY and COMFORT is our #1 priority at this hotel.

I have spoken to your husband in regards to these matters.I know that by me apologizing to what you have experienced won't change what had occurred during your stay, but rest assured that after this experience, it will allow the hotel to be better.

We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guest’s visiting the Traverse City area and can not convey strongly enough how much we value your choice of our property for your stay.

We hope that the next time you are in the beautiful Traverse City area you will allow us another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Pretty disappointed in this hotel. Room was small, "double" bed was TINY, could hear baby crying in the next room, shabby carpeting in hallway, bathroom tub/drain was not clean when we arrived in room. Avoid this place

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Chinamom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Assistant General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2008

Dear Maam,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable experience with us at the Traverse City Quality Inn. It is our commitment to provide our guests with clean, comfortable lodging in a well-maintained and genuinely hospitable atmosphere. I am surprised that the beds were uncomfortable because all rooms have Serta Sleepers. The carpet in the first floor hallway is brand new and new carpets will be installed for the 2nd and 3rd floor in the Fall of 2008. In regards to the noise from other rooms, it is challenging to ensure a quite atmosphere when the hotel is to full capaicty.
I apologize that we fell short of your expectation in regards to the dirty tub and drain. I will accept responsibility on the matter and rest assured that this matter has been brought to my housekeeping manager's attention. We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guest’s visiting beautiful Traverse City and can not convey strongly enough how much we value your choice of our property for your stay. I hope you will allow us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Right on the main drag (M72) and across from the water of the bay ... not exactly downtown, but only a 5 minute drive away. Just east of the State Park ... within walking distance.

Girl at the desk was friendly and helpful.

Room was decent size ... on the dark side, though ... beds very firm ... seemed to have some updates: the wood trim on the doorways lightened up the room somewhat ... and hallways were narrow and did have a slight smoky aroma .. especially in the stairway area. Bathroom is just big enough to turn around in .. sink area is outside the bathroom.

Forget the breakfast ... four tables seat only 12 in this small ante area .. there were over 30 people trying to crowd in .. crazy! Why fight it when Mabel's is just a mile down M72 ... or Bob Evan's?

Kind of expensive .. true I didn't book until 2 weeks before the impromptu trip ... but $125/nt? A little steep!

Basically, an old hotel trying to make good.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinfandel601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your input regarding your stay with us. Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from downtown shopping and dining, beaches and wineries.

Our breakfast area can get cozy during our busy season and we will be going through some renovations to make a bigger and more effecient breakfast area.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Traverse City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Unfortunately, there is very little room to eat the sparse breakfast offered at this facility.

We noticed the problem when we checked in but could not cancel due to the requirements of a late reservation.

There is no room for guests to sit down and eat without feeling the people standing around are waiting for you to leave. There is no actual breakfast room. There are only a few tables squeezed into the lobby.

For this reason, specifically, we would not return. For the price ($119 + tax) we would also have appreciated a paper in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank timdillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our sincere apology for the disappointment you experience regarding our breakfast area. We are going to be renovating the hotel to expand and make the breakfast area bigger and more effecient for all of our guests.

I know this information did not help you during your stay but I hope you will allow us another opportunity so that you can enjoy the newly renovated breakfast area.

Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews