We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too little for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Too little for the money”
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This is no better than the average, inexpensive motel. The reception area is seedy and cheap appearing. The breakfast is banal, crowded, and uncomfortable. The rooms have the cheap hotel smell. I would expect more for $185, especially since the hotel is not on the water and has no view.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingsMountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, but I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We are completely aware of all the lodging choices that are available in Traverse City and we cannot convey enough how much we appreciate you choosing our hotel. I am confident that we have a competitive rate in the area. It becomes challenging when the hotel is at full capacity to have elbow room in the breakfast area, but believe it or not, when we are sold out we manage to get everyone through for a comfortable breakfast. The next time you are in Traverse City we hope you will allow us another chance to offer you a more pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    56
    53
    40
    24
See reviews for
57
71
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flint, MI
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed here for a weekend while in town for a cross country meet. We were with about 24 high school aged kids and some of their parents. There was also a football team staying here one of those nights too. We had called around to do some price comparing and found out most hotels were booked full for this weekend. We thought the price we paid here was a bit high, but I guess thats on par for Traverse City.

Check in: The staff was very friendly. We noticed a bowl of dog treats on the front desk and we saw several dogs staying at the hotel so this really is a pet friendly place.

Location: The location is a few miles from downtown, however its on the main road and right across the street from the lake and parks with public beach. There is a crosswalk to the beach about a block up the road in front of the state park. It is also within walking distance to restaurants, Dairy Queen, a convenience store and a complex with mini-golf and go carts. There is also a paved walking path along the back of the property that was great.

Room: It says its a non-smoking hotel but maybe someone had been smoking because there was a weird smell. I couldnt figure out what the smell was, but there was a definate smell. The room was pretty average for a 2 star hotel. No microwave or mini fridge. Two beds, a small table with two chairs and very tiny bathroom. The interior looked old and worn and could probably use some updating. The mattress was not comfortable at all and I could feel the springs so they need to be updated too. Otherwise the room was fine. We didnt see anything gross like bugs or mold so it was comfortable for a short stay. It was a bit loud at night. We were on the second floor and you could hear stomping from the third floor and when they ran the water up stairs that also made alot of noise. Overall though, it was sufficient and comfortable. They have free WiFi but we forgot our laptop so cant comment on that feature. We did watch TV and there were plenty of cable stations.

Breakfast: They offer a free continential breakfast. Normally we consider this a major bonus as it saves some money. However it was so crowded on this weekend you couldnt walk in the lobby to even get close to the breakfast unless you got there at 6am. Our boys did grab some food from there and said they have mini muffins, english muffins, toast, yogurt, cereal, make your own waffles and milk/juice.

Pool: There is a indoor pool, however it is very small. There is also a hot tub that was a decent size - could hold about 5 adults. The kids used it several times and loved it.

If we were to go back to Traverse City we would probably chose a higher quality hotel and maybe something closer to town or right on the beach. However if your on a budget, have dogs or just looking for something inexpensive and no-frills, this place would do fine.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griswolds198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your comments and feedback from your stay. Thank you for bearing with the hotel being sold out. I know it becomes challenging as far as noise levels and the number of people who comes down for breakfast when the hotel is at full capacity.

I am happy to share that the hotel will be going through some updates and rennovations to make the breakfast area bigger and better. We are going to have our rooms and beds updated throughout the winter season.

I do agree that our location sits pretty well in the area considering many of the attractions and activities are within walking distance or a short drive. We can't thank you enough for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs and we hope to continue seeing you in the future.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2010

To all you dog lovers out there that have large dogs - this is a great hotel! Our dog is 70 lbs & loves to travel, but he is constantly discriminated against because of his size. The Quality Inn made us feel welcome - everyone is friendly & helpful. The rooms are clean. Good location - immediately behind the hotel is a walking/bike path. Across the street is a beach. Downtown Traverse City is fun to explore & you can even find parts of the beach that allow dogs. I highly recommend this hotel. If we ever return to the area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinfool_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us. We are happy to know you dog enjoyed its stay as much as you did. We are proud to be a "pet friendly" hotel because there are only less than a handfull of hotels in this area who are "pet friendly". We understand that now a days people travel with their pets regularly because they are part of the family. Our guests and their pets also enjoys the nice walking trail conveniently located at the back of our hotel.

We are happy to know you were satistfied with the cleanliness of your room. We hope you will see us again and reccommend us to all of the people you know.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples fl
Level Contributor
330 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Stayed one night with my wife. Checked in and the front desk people were nice. Went to my room and there was a sticky/oily substance on the floor. Front desk girl came to the room with cleaner and got on her hands and knees to try to clean it up. Said I can have another room but it would cost extra! Ended up putting towels on the floor. Room smelled musty, low shower pressure, avoid if you can. Big disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joseph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

I am extremely sorry for your unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay. My staff and I are very passionate in making sure the rooms are clean and comfortable. I'm not certain as to what the stain and smell was in the room you stayed in but as you indicated in your comment, my staff tried what she could to make your stay enjoyable. I wished we had the opportunity to offer you a different room. I hope that we can make a more comfortable stay for you the next you visit Traverse City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

widnes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Stayed here on our trip to see family in Traverse City, nice location, rooms clean good facilities and good value. Breakfast was a bit chaotic!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feed back. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay. During the month of July can be very busy for the area as well as our hotel. We understand that our breakfast area can be a very busy when the hotel is at full capacity. We are going through updates and renovations where we will be able to provide a bigger and better breakfast area for all of our guests to enjoy.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I just returned yesterday from a weekend stay (Family Trip) at the Quality Inn by the bay and I really enjoyed myself. First of all the staff was very nice when checking in and even offered to give us tips on things to do. The front desk also has readily available directions to some of the local sites, I found it very helpful. The rooms were a good value for the money. Before when we traveled to TC we stayed in another location that was over two hundred dollars a night and really not worth it. Although The Quality Inn isn't the fanciest hotel on the strip it is all that we needed as we didn't spend much time in the room. The rooms were very clean and cleaned timely on the next day. The hotel is located on the main strip (US 31 ) with a beach located just across the street and a short drive to town. Breakfast is served each morning between 6 and 10 am and it has a pretty nice selection for it to be free. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would stay again. Out of the group of ten that we traveled with only one person had any complaints (can't please everyone). I would definitely recommend staying here for a comfortable stay on a comfortable budget :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and everything the hotel had to offer.

We try to remain competitive with our rates bearing in mind that price is as equally important as customer service and emenities. We are conveniently located near downtown, beaches, and other area attractions.

We hope you continue to see us each time you visit beautiful Traverse City.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2010

The hotel staff was very friendly and professional upon check in. My room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The continental breakfast was awesome! This hotel is a bargain for anyone who is working off a company budget. I will definitely stay here again and will recommend your hotel to others.”

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busytraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us.

Our goal is to keep every customer who stays with us.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
247 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Property: Quality Inn By the Bay
Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing