We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here-Dirty Sheets, Mold/Mildew, Clogged Sink, Dirty Shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Arrived for weekend with family for late check-in. Room is OLD not decorated since the 80's and FILTHY. Pulled back the bedspread/sheets to go to bed and found hairs all over---THEY NEVER CHANGED the sheets. YUCK!!! Shower still had prior guest's hair all over and sink was rusted and wouldn't drain. Mold and Mildew were growing on the wallpaper which made all of our asthma awful. We would have checked out that night but city was booked.

Housekeeping did come promptly and changed the sheets, but none of us slept well because of all the noise from the hall. Breakfast area seats about 4 people, so impossible to even get food.

Management would not even discount our room. We checked out by 7 am. Run from this hotel as fast as you can. It is a mangement MESS!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelforfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my sincere apology regarding the disappointment you experienced during your stay with us at the Traverse City Quality Inn. It is our commitment to provide our guests with clean, comfortable lodging in a well-maintained and genuinely hospitable atmosphere.

Each member of my staff is dedicated to ensuring that our guest’s experience is more than just a pleasant stay, while with us we are devoted to providing service that offers exceptional hospitality. When we fail in this endeavor, as we have on your behalf, it is important for you to know, as our guest, that it is taken quite seriously.

We are completely aware of the excessive lodging choices available to guest’s visiting the Traverse City area and cannot convey strongly enough how much we value your choice of our property for your stay.

Again, I apologize for falling short in performing as we should, and hope in the future you will allow us another opportunity to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so that I may be able to issue you a gift certificate for a free night stay.

Thank you for your time and consideration with regard to this matter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here because we couldn't find availability anywhere else that allowed our children to stay with us (cat and dog). The room was at the end of the building near a bike trail- that was the best thing about it. The bathroom was huge but the room overall was very dirty. The location is right on the main highway but it isn't within walking distance to downtown. Would never stay here, should have left but didn't have much choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for allowing us an opportunity in providing lodging for you and your party. As you mentioned, we are not conveniently within walking distance from down town, but we are confident that we are centrally located from all shopping, dining, and attractions.

We are glad to hear that the walking trail was convenient for you and your cat & dog.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to provide a more comfortable and pleasant experience the next time you visit Traverse City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

To be fair, there had been a lot of recent rain...but we smashed 4 spiders in our room over the two nights we stayed. However, the price for Labor Day weekend was excellent, the location was great, and they include breakfast with waffles.

The room was connecting and we could hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the room next door through the connecting door. Had no issues with the room on the other side, with no connecting door. We were on the ground floor and there is an entrance to the room from the parking lot and an additional door to the hotel's interior hallway. I had never seen that before and liked it as a good feature...it meant I didn't have to go outside to get to the indoor pool, the front desk, or the breakfast area. (Especially nice in the winter!)

The indoor pool and hot tub are small but adequate. We used the hot tub the first night.

The breakfast area is small but they offer fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, juice, coffee, tea, oatmeal and belgian waffles, along with assorted breads muffins and egg "patties" with ham or sausage.

They also offer free wireless internet; however, the room did not have a desk.

The Red Mesa Grill is two doors down and the food and margaritas were very good. We had some friends that said the pizza at the place right next door was good also but we didn't try that. The Turtle Creek Casino is nearby - we made a small donation there. :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feed back with us. We greatly appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs. Although you had an unpleasant experience with spiders, I'm glad that you were able to enjoy most, if not all, of the amenities our hotel had to offer; from the location of the room, breakfast, Wi-Fi, and the general location of the hotel to nearby attractions, shopping and dining. We have a perimeter spray for pests regularly and due to the weather during your stay, it appeared that the critters were trying to find shelter in our fine hotel. It also becomes challenging when the hotel is at full capacity to try to find a "quiet" room, but I thank you for bearing with us. We hope we will have the opportunity to accommodate you, your friends and family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I should of paid more attention to the review that said there was a weird smell! The room looked decent but the stench was overwhelming! Like a combo of skunk and throw-up. We left and took the hit of no refund! Stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TERRYMARIE101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my sincere apology for the unpleasant experience you had during your recent stay with us. I'm not certain when you may have checked into your room, but I wished that we had an opportunity to rectify the situation with the smell as soon as you guys checked in. We would tried all efforts to move you to a more suitable room. I hope that we may get another opportunity to make your stay with us more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This is no better than the average, inexpensive motel. The reception area is seedy and cheap appearing. The breakfast is banal, crowded, and uncomfortable. The rooms have the cheap hotel smell. I would expect more for $185, especially since the hotel is not on the water and has no view.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingsMountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, but I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We are completely aware of all the lodging choices that are available in Traverse City and we cannot convey enough how much we appreciate you choosing our hotel. I am confident that we have a competitive rate in the area. It becomes challenging when the hotel is at full capacity to have elbow room in the breakfast area, but believe it or not, when we are sold out we manage to get everyone through for a comfortable breakfast. The next time you are in Traverse City we hope you will allow us another chance to offer you a more pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed here for a weekend while in town for a cross country meet. We were with about 24 high school aged kids and some of their parents. There was also a football team staying here one of those nights too. We had called around to do some price comparing and found out most hotels were booked full for this weekend. We thought the price we paid here was a bit high, but I guess thats on par for Traverse City.

Check in: The staff was very friendly. We noticed a bowl of dog treats on the front desk and we saw several dogs staying at the hotel so this really is a pet friendly place.

Location: The location is a few miles from downtown, however its on the main road and right across the street from the lake and parks with public beach. There is a crosswalk to the beach about a block up the road in front of the state park. It is also within walking distance to restaurants, Dairy Queen, a convenience store and a complex with mini-golf and go carts. There is also a paved walking path along the back of the property that was great.

Room: It says its a non-smoking hotel but maybe someone had been smoking because there was a weird smell. I couldnt figure out what the smell was, but there was a definate smell. The room was pretty average for a 2 star hotel. No microwave or mini fridge. Two beds, a small table with two chairs and very tiny bathroom. The interior looked old and worn and could probably use some updating. The mattress was not comfortable at all and I could feel the springs so they need to be updated too. Otherwise the room was fine. We didnt see anything gross like bugs or mold so it was comfortable for a short stay. It was a bit loud at night. We were on the second floor and you could hear stomping from the third floor and when they ran the water up stairs that also made alot of noise. Overall though, it was sufficient and comfortable. They have free WiFi but we forgot our laptop so cant comment on that feature. We did watch TV and there were plenty of cable stations.

Breakfast: They offer a free continential breakfast. Normally we consider this a major bonus as it saves some money. However it was so crowded on this weekend you couldnt walk in the lobby to even get close to the breakfast unless you got there at 6am. Our boys did grab some food from there and said they have mini muffins, english muffins, toast, yogurt, cereal, make your own waffles and milk/juice.

Pool: There is a indoor pool, however it is very small. There is also a hot tub that was a decent size - could hold about 5 adults. The kids used it several times and loved it.

If we were to go back to Traverse City we would probably chose a higher quality hotel and maybe something closer to town or right on the beach. However if your on a budget, have dogs or just looking for something inexpensive and no-frills, this place would do fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griswolds198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your comments and feedback from your stay. Thank you for bearing with the hotel being sold out. I know it becomes challenging as far as noise levels and the number of people who comes down for breakfast when the hotel is at full capacity.

I am happy to share that the hotel will be going through some updates and rennovations to make the breakfast area bigger and better. We are going to have our rooms and beds updated throughout the winter season.

I do agree that our location sits pretty well in the area considering many of the attractions and activities are within walking distance or a short drive. We can't thank you enough for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs and we hope to continue seeing you in the future.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

To all you dog lovers out there that have large dogs - this is a great hotel! Our dog is 70 lbs & loves to travel, but he is constantly discriminated against because of his size. The Quality Inn made us feel welcome - everyone is friendly & helpful. The rooms are clean. Good location - immediately behind the hotel is a walking/bike path. Across the street is a beach. Downtown Traverse City is fun to explore & you can even find parts of the beach that allow dogs. I highly recommend this hotel. If we ever return to the area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinfool_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us. We are happy to know you dog enjoyed its stay as much as you did. We are proud to be a "pet friendly" hotel because there are only less than a handfull of hotels in this area who are "pet friendly". We understand that now a days people travel with their pets regularly because they are part of the family. Our guests and their pets also enjoys the nice walking trail conveniently located at the back of our hotel.

We are happy to know you were satistfied with the cleanliness of your room. We hope you will see us again and reccommend us to all of the people you know.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
430 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: £47 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing