We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Westland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a tremendous deal for the money. Great on all counts, especially the charming, helpful, energetic staff, especially Rhonda, who helped us get our bearings as we checked in. The location is close to downtown Traverse City, and right next to an adventure golf/go cart/Dairy Queen activity center.
Check out was fast and efficient, sped up by the young receptionist who was cleaning up the already neat breakfast area, but who asked our info as we were taking bags to the car, and had our paperwork completed for check out when we arrived back inside.
This is not an upper end hotel, but it is neat, clean, comfortable, and full of friendly faces, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDavis1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for such kind words about the AmericInn Traverse City. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your accommodations and staff. We are proud of our hotel and are so happy when we hear from our guests who have enjoyed themselves. We know that there are a lot of options in lodging and are honored that you have chosen to stay with us and also recommend it to their friends. Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Traverse City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    149
    49
    12
    13
See reviews for
156
211
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A friend and I went to Traverse City in 2012 for a few days fishing. We chose the AmericInn for budget reasons and were pleasantly surprised by the facility. It was very clean and well managed. At that time it was a real bargain at $76 per night.. When the time arrived to reserve a room for 2013, I was disappointed to find that the price had risen to almost $100 per night. It was still a good value so I made the reservation. Great decision. We arrived to find that the rooms had been completely refurbished. New beds, furniture, carpet and paint were present, as were a small refrigerator, microwave and a flat screen tv. The complimentary breakfast is standard fare, but fresh and well presented. The condition of the property, and the competence of the staff are excellent. I found this motel to be an outstanding value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about your stay. I am so happy that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated rooms. They turned out great and we are getting a lot of positive comments regarding them. I hope your fishing trip was a success and that we will be able to welcome you back during next years fishing trip! Thank you again for your kind words about the AmericInn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bitely
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Where to begin? The front desk staff is very friendly, they even had cookies on the counter! The entire hotel was very clean. Our rooms were clean and a good size,and included a microwave and fridge and in room coffee maker. The beds and pillows...oh my goodness, what a great nights sleep we had! We thoroughly enjoyed the continental breakfast! The rates were VERY reasonable. Our only complaint is that this was only a one night stay...we WILL be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for making such nice comments about our staff. They are truly professionals and dedicate themselves to making sure our guests have outstanding vacations while in town. It is great to hear of your positive experiences! We will have to fix that “complaint” and make sure you booked multiple nights during your next visit! Thank you again and I look forward to being able to welcome you to your next visit to Traverse City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was sooo close to being a five. First the great things. The rate is the most reasonable rate for a top notch place to stay. I say top notch because the king suite we had was roomy, modern and clean. The lobby is attractive. The indoor pool is a good size. The breakfast is generous. There is 24 hr coffee, tea, cookies, fruit, yogurt and milk. There are also vending machines. Everything is clean. The breakfast person was excellent, the cleaning staff was excellent. The location although 4 miles from the downtown, was terrifically close to a wonderful beach, which is a state park. It is on a very busy street but there is a walk bridge close enough that gets you safely across the street to the beach. The drive to the downtown is a straight shot and very easy if you start out early enough to get good parking and avoid traffic. There is some very good food within walking distance.
The con was that when the room next to us filled their whirlpool it was so loud we woke up. The second time it happened we were still awake and it was kind of humorous.
We would absolutely stay here again. The greats were so great that the con was very minor in comparison.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank learnedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words and know that on your next visit – I’m going to make sure you can change your headline to “It’s a five!” I’m glad that you enjoyed your suite and it sounds like you were able to explore all that Traverse City h as to offer. We take great pride in our hotel and our city and feel so fortunate to be able to share it with our guests. Thank you so much for your kind works and I look forward to your next visit when we show you that we earned that five! Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our family enjoyed our stay. The rooms were quiet and clean. The beds were comfortable. We enjoyed having Pirate's Cove next door and saving money by buying our putt putt golf at the front desk. The front desk staff was always friendly. The pool area was nice. We really appreciated having breakfast in the lobby, but there always seemed to be an issue with seating. It was cramped and not a lot of places to sit. By our last morning we decided to go out to breakfast because there was no where to sit. We would definitely stay at here again if we are Traverse City.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenR2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing the AmericInn! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be comfortable. I understand the frustration of the smaller breakfast area and apologize for your frustration of trying to find someplace to sit. I am happy that you would come back and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at 3 different Americinn's on our recent trip to Michigan (Munising/Wetmore, TC and Ironwood) and were please with all of them.

This property had recently received an updating of its guest rooms/bedding. We had a double queen room and had plenty of room for all 4 of us (2 kids/2 adults). Beds were comfortable and bedding was quality. Breakfast was nice although after 3 nights/mornings the choices got a bit stale. Would be nice to see a rotating hot option instead of biscuits and gravy every AM. Pool area was nice and front desk staff was pleasant and helpful when assistance was needed.

Location was convenient for our purposes and I would certainly recommend as a good family option. Reasonable rates too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeelyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy you were able to visit Michigan and use three AmericInn properties! We are very proud of our remodel and upgrades and have heard so many positive feedbacks on them over the past couple months since we remodeled! I know one of the most important parts of a stay is service and thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our front desk staff. They are experts on the area and dedicate themselves to each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had just spent a few days on Mackinaw Island, and wanted to visit Traverse City as we headed back south. This hotel is located on a strip with what seems like hundreds of other hotels on both sides of the road. I picked it originally due to its great pricing and I wasn't disappointed at all. The hotel is clean, quiet, the rooms were well appointed and the beds, pillows, and all were great. We enjoyed having a microwave in our room, as one night we stayed in and just popped some popcorn (available in the lobby vending machines) and watched a movie. Being next to the Pirate's Cove was nice in that one day we just walked over for some Dairy Queen, and not having to get into the car to make the drive made it taste even better!

This hotel is a few miles from downtown Traverse City, and walking is really not an option (road has really heavy traffic). Although I did see a parking garage or two in the downtown area, keep in mind that you need to be really good at parallel parking and have lots of change as that is the primary form of parking. This hotel is just a short distance from several public beaches which are large and clean with good parking. Hotels on the other side of the street with their own beach access would have been better if you were there for the beach, but we were not so it didn't really matter. Traverse City is about 30 minutes from Sleeping Bear Dunes if that is an attraction you might want to visit.

Breakfast was nice - cold cereals, instant oatmeal, danish, toast, yogurt, make your own waffles, and sausage gravy with biscuits. Coffee station is nice, they offer flavored creamers and flavor shots to make it more than just plain coffee. Seating is really limited though so keep that in mind. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worleybird98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel during your visit. Its great having DQ and Pirates cove next to us along with all the other great activities. The hotel was actually remodeled this past spring and the addition of microwaves and refrigerators to all rooms has really been enjoyed by our guests! Im so happy that you enjoyed everything about the hotel and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the area during your next stay. Hopefully you are able to stay longer and enjoy even more that Traverse City has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
348 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Address: 1614 N US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly AmericInn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, MI. We know there's no place like home, but with our updated furnishings, room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on GrandStay to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style Grand Start breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Traverse City
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing