We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent accommodation in Traverse City area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent accommodation in Traverse City area”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just came back from our 1 night stay at AmericInn Traverse City. Room had everything you need for a comfortable stay. We booked 2 rooms with 2 queen beds. Even with a connecting door between rooms, we hardly heard any noise from the room next door. Got a very friendly welcome note from the cleaning lady "Emily". Nice touch. I was also impressed with the receptionist "Megan" and the lady in breakfast area (did not catch her name). They were really friendly and helpful. I asked for late check out, and got it without any hassle. That nice 'breakfast' lady said goodbye to us after checking out and said "Visit us again next time", and I really feel that I would like to stay there again next time. Surrounding area was nice. Close to many restaurants and only a few minutes from downtown. Did not have the chance to try the beach across the street since the lake was still frozen. Our kids love the swimming pool very much. Breakfast was good, it was off season so we have no problem with seating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwir888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to tell everyone about your recent stay at the AmericInn Traverse City! Our hotel takes pride in its customer service and I’m so happy you were able to see our warm hospitality and that we were able to accommodate your special requests. Hopefully next time mother nature will cooperate and you will be able to try our the wonderful East Bay beach! Thank you again for taking the time to write about your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back to the AmericInn very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    144
    48
    12
    13
See reviews for
151
209
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
362 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Husband and I stayed for one night. We were a bit worried what our room would look like since we got such a great price, ( but it was off season). Nice size room, very clean, staff helpful. Will stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the AmericInn Traverse City. I am so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay! We take pride on our clean rooms and award winning customer service and I’m so happy that you were able to experience it first hand. Thank you and I look forward to seeing you on your return to visit to Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very nice and quiet room. Decent size, good lighting, refrigerator, microwave, iron and board, dryer, coffee, and WiFi. Free USA Today available in lobby, as well as 24 hour coffee, tea, or hot chocolate. Beds and pillows are comfortable. Great breakfast, with hard boiled eggs, Belgium waffles, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. Artwork in rooms and lobby are better than average. Pool and hot tub are nice. Very friendly staff. I will stay here again next time I am in Traverse City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I am so happy that you were able to enjoy your stay at the AmericInn and experienced all of our wonderful amenities that we have at the AmericInn Traverse City. Thank you too for pointing out our artwork. We are proud of our recent renovation and the artwork really was something that we worked to make sure was great throughout the property. I look forward to being able to welcome you back soon to the AmericInn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coopersville, Mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I enjoyed my stay very much...the staff was very helpful and they have a nice pool...kids will love it...Coffee on the counter,,,breakfast in am...great waffles...cereals, hard boiled eggs, juices, rolls, toast, butter, cream cheese, jelly, milk, some fruits...just what the doctor ordered...
I give this the A+ rating...just comfortable and clean...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Debcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay at the AmericInn Traverse City. I am so happy that you were able to enjoy our pool and other amenities. Thank you for your A+ rating and I hope to see you back at the AmericInn very soon when we can Welcome you to the end of the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

very nice hotel, good breakfast bar. very comfortable beds and pillows.
staff very friendly and helpful. would stay here again any time we would be in the traverse city mi area. unable to have time for the pool and hot tub , but the area looked clean


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Edwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our AmericInn Perk Breakfast in the morning! Hearing you would stay here anytime you are in the area is such a nice thing to say and we are glad to be able to welcome you back again and again during your visits to the Traverse City area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel isn't very impressive from the outside and may turn some guests away. But the hotel is very nice inside. Comfortable beds, clean and updated rooms and bathrooms. You normally get a lot less for the price or even more than what we pay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found a great value at the AmericInn! I appreciate your comments and hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon to the AmericInn Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Very clean, nice staff, and breakfast was wonderful. Many many options. The people in general in the traverse city area were just wonderful. The rooms were cozy and there were never problems with noise or anything like that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for the review. I am very humbled at your words. Our staff works very hard and works to ensure satisfaction in all areas of our hotel and I’m so happy you had the opportunity to experience our hospitality at the AmericInn. Thank you again for taking the time to tell everyone about your experience and I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to the hotel very soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Address: 1614 N US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly AmericInn Traverse City)
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, MI. We know there's no place like home, but with our updated furnishings, room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on GrandStay to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style Grand Start breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Traverse City
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing