We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was very nice. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked. There was coffee and tea 24 hours a day. The fresh chocolate chip cookies in the evenings was a mice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
2  Thank dew-s02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about the AmericInn and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and amenities. We know you have a lot of choices in lodging when staying in town and we are so happy that you chose to stay with us and that you would return on your next visit. Thank you again for taking the time to tell everyone on TripAdvisor about your experience at the AmericInn Traverse City. Hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great Place to stay in the Traverse Area. Has all the Comforts of Home. The Staff Goes OVER AND ABOVE in Service. Breakfast is Delicious and there is a wide variety of choices. The Room was Clean Comfortable and Modern. Will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
3  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Liz, thank you for your kind words. I am so happy that you found your stay to be just like home. We strive to be your vacation destination while in the area and try to be just like home with all the comforts you expect. I’m so happy that you enjoyed our upgraded accommodations and the award winning service that our staff provides. We all enjoy welcoming our guests each day to the hotel! Thank you again for taking time to tell everyone about the hotel and I hope to be able to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was not sure what I was going to get for the descent price, especially in Traverse City. You don't have lake front property, but are near a putt-putt. For the price & if you spend most of the time outside of the hotel room, it was excellent for the price. Clean with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
2  Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Victoria, thank you for the kind words about your recent stay at the AmericInn. I am so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations about the hotel! Thank you again for taking the time to tell everyone about your stay and I hope to see you back at the AmericInn very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The facility, the room, the staff and location was adequate for all we needed to do on our visit this past weekend. Pretty much sleep and shower is all we were looking for. My wife and I had a busy weekend away from the hotel so we were satisfied with everything this hotel had to offer. The only thing I would strongly suggest is for a young family to keep a child's attention by walking hand in hand. Especially outside in the parking lot. The five lane road at the front of the hotel is very busy and cars travel between 45 to 55 MPH. This hotel is located across the street from East Bay with no safe crossing area. The indoor pool area looks nice and adults from 10 to midnight is a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
3  Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Karl, thank you for writing a review about our hotel and your recent visit. I am glad you enjoyed your time here and hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy more. It sounds like you were very busy during your stay! The state highway which we are located on is very busy I will agree. Please know that there is a overhead walkway just down the street from the hotel at the State Park which anyone can use. Thank you again for your kind words about the AmericInn and I hope to welcome you again for your next vacation to beautiful Traverse City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay was amazing. The hotel was very clean. The breakfast was awesome. There was lots of good freshly made food and the kids had a great time in the pool. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in Traverse City.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Matt, thank you for your words about your recent stay at the AmericInn Traverse City. I am so happy that you had an awesome time and that you would recommend the hotel to others coming to town. This is such a nice compliment. On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for choosing the AmericInn for your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I normally stay at Hampton Inn or HIE when travelling, however my wife insisted we stay here because the hotel had good reviews and the price was attractive (half the price of Hampton Inn). I must say I was hesitant at first when we booked but ended up being quite surprised when I walked in. The hotel was up to date and the rooms were clean. The only downside I can think of is that the pool use chlorine and the smell is strong in the lobby and corridors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the AmericInn Traverse City. I’m glad that we were able to introduce you to our brand and from your comments, hope to make you a regular guest at our hotel. We take pride in providing clean, comfortable rooms with superior service to all of our guests. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again and again during your visits to beautiful Traverse City! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We got a GREAT PRICE on this hotel because it was after spring break and before the season starts, plus it was an online last minute deal! The hotel was CLEAN which is the main thing I look for when I'm staying away from home! The front desk clerks were helpful and sweet. And besides a wonderful deal, there are coffee and cookies in the lobby at all hours!~ And we got a free breakfast to boot!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poohspal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about the AmericInn Traverse City. I am gladthat you foujd everything you wanted in a hotel. We are proud of the service and quality of our hotel and feel greatful that you were willing to share your experience with everyone. The last minute deals on our website are very nice I will agree. Again, thank you so much and I hope to see you back very soon to the hotel where we can welcome you to the end of the day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City

Address: 1614 N US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly AmericInn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £55 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, MI. We know there's no place like home, but with our updated furnishings, room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on GrandStay to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style Grand Start breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Traverse City
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing