We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Met Troy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Met Troy
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Lake Ann, MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I have used the Met Troy several times recently as it is very near the offices of the surgeon I have been seeing. I have found that the spacious and tastefully decoated lobby does not indicate room quality or cleanliness. My last two visits were notable due to the yucky mold smell that permeated the bathroom from the shower curtain. As this is something easily dealt with using chlorine bleach there really is no excuse. On my last stay the room had apparently been a party room, and there was evidence of someone having been sick to his stomach on the bedroom carpet. They were far from full that night, and that room should not have been used without steam-cleaning the carpet first. Yes, I could have asked for another room, but my companion didn't feel up to making a move.
Also, if you arrive late in the evening there is virtually nowhere to eat without having to go back to the interstate and hitting the Joselyn Rd exit. Morton's Steakhouse is nearby, but is extremely pricey.
The hotel does now offer a complementary continental breakfast, but it is extremely limited. The coffe was good, though!
They do offer WiFi, which is easy to use.
The ice machine on the first floor was out of order.

Room Tip: I haven't found a good room there, yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boxer1724, Owner at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our property. Our managers are working hard to improve upon the aspects of our property that have fallen short of our standards in the past few months. Improving our housekeeping department is is a high priority for us and we hope we can have you back to show you the results of these improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    30
    46
    35
    107
See reviews for
68
56
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The hotel itself was eerie because it is so expansive, yet nearly deserted. The advertised on-site restaurant and lounge is apparently no longer open. Our room also lacked a coffee maker, which, according to the website, hotel rooms have. The front desk wasn't aware that they had been removed three months ago because of "insurance reasons". Strange that were removed; stranger that the staff isn't aware.

The staff seemed sluggish; our room was dusty and lacked enough towels for our party; the pool area lacked towels as well. Even though our room was dusty, it didn't feel dirty though.

We were looking forward to the pool, but it was disappointing. It is a nice fitness area, with weight room and a spacious pool area. However, the pool area was 63 degrees. The thermostat was set for 71, but there obviously wasn't any heat, and no one around to ensure that there was heat.

If we hadn't had a Groupon for the MET, we would've paid too much.

Room Tip: A balcony is nice in warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kOps210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boxer1724, Owner at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
I want to apologize for your less than exceptional stay here at The MET. We now have a new team of managers who are working hard to bring our facility back up to the standard that our guests deserve. We really value your feedback and would love to have the opportunity to change your mind regarding our property. If you have plans to stay at our hotel in the future, we would love to upgrade you to a suite, and give you a memorable experience here at The MET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Troy hotels

Bronxville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Two years ago I happened by chance to book myself in the Met Hotel in Troy Michigan. I was pleasently surprised by the large comfortable room and the profession curtious staff. They also have a great fitness room and indoor poor. The location is perfect for anyone with business or family events in the Detroit metro area. I have since gone back 3 times and have not been disappointed.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boxer1724, Owner at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
We are so happy that you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel. We strive to offer impeccable service to all of our guests and I am happy to know that you have become a repeat customer. Thank you for your review, and I hope to see you again at The MET soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Our family and friends stayed here for our family wedding, unfortunately the ownership changed after the bride and groom booked the block of rooms, and so the service was not what was promised. Card keys constantly had to be reactivated at the front desk and the hotel is very, very long. Wear your walking shoes! Luckily there is parking throughout the hotel so you can park closer to an entrance/exit near your room. Coffee was non existent in the mornings, staff was friendly-but clearly stressed out due to the lack of help they had. I never saw the bar or restaurant open. Major plus, THE BEDS! One of the most comfortable beds I've slept on!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsdean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

fast check in had 2 reservations for 2 ppl had to tell them no 1 room for 2 ppl changed no problem breakfast was a joke no toaster cold bagels ran out of coffee cups only plastic think because of groupon as read before last room on floor which is quite a walk room nice good bed asked for balcony didnt get it 2nd floor think maybe 10 rooms without balcony i got 1 of those think again because of groupon

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This place wasn't awful but it was close. It's a tired old place that needs a lot of renovation. The staff wasn't rude to me but they were not well trained. I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If I could give this place 0 stars I would. I've stayed here about 3 times in the last year and the customer service is severely lacking and the front desk employees as well as the managers on staff are Rude. Oh, and your stuff will get STOLEN. Only an hour after I'd checked out, I realized I'd left my (expensive) sunglasses on the bedside and quickly called so I could go back and retrieve them. After being given the run-around for 2 weeks, housekeeping and hotel staff claimed 'nothing' hadn't turned up. I will never go here again and recommend taking your business elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jiggi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
2.9 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#11 of 17 in Troy
210 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Troy

Property: The Met Troy
Address: 5500 Crooks Rd, Troy, MI 48098-2806
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Met Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MET Hotel is conveniently located in Detroit's affluent Northwestern suburbs near upscale shopping, dining & entertainment venues, as well as a number of corporate headquarters. We offer 23,000 square feet of conference space, making The MET one of the largest conference hotels in the area. With 180 spacious guestrooms, we can perfectly accomodate groups large or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Met Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Met Troy Hotel Troy
The Met Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing