We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It 'met' our expectations, but not a 3.5 star”
Review of The Met Troy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Met Troy
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It 'met' our expectations, but not a 3.5 star”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Got this place for a night of shopping off Expedia.ca (Hotwire) for $58 bucks. We took it as it stated that it 'was' a 3.5 star which Expedia associated with name brand hotels such as Hilton etc. It is definitely not a Hilton (though it was many years ago).

For the money we paid, it met our expectations, but as other's have said , her better day's are behind her. You can tell this hotel is in full survival mode, doing just what it can to stay a float. Staffing is at a bare minimum. Heating is reserved for area's used (hallway's and other transient area's were cold) The restaurant's and bar are no longer functioning, except to run a bare minimum continental breakfast (selection of fresh bagels, fruit danish, some cornflakes and cheerios, and toast). Coffee and tea was good as was the orange juice.

We took a walk through the fitness area, the pool was warm today (compared to other reviews when it was not), the sauna did work, the fitness area had the minimum selection of free weights and some resistance weights). It appears some of their Precor equipment could use servicing as I could not get the treadmill to advance it's speed (buttons didn't work) and the other didn't work at all.

The hotel has a funky smell to it (like you would expect from someplace that has been closed up a little too long) but flip side is that they don't try to mask it with nasty deodorizer's/chemicals.

Check in was okay, staff were helpful in that as we booked via a mystery hotel site, we didn't know what kind of room we were guaranteed. They were going to put my wife and I in a double room on a Friday night, as their King rooms were being reserved for a conference on Saturday. The excuse was they didn't want to mess the room's up (I think their housekeeping staff is at a minimum), but after assuring them that we would be out early they relented and gave us a King Room.

The Room.

Pleasantly surprised with the comfort of the bed. Good support with a pillow top comforter added (not pillow-top mattress as stated). The linen's were clean, the duvet cover and blanket were nice/excellent shape. The bathroom was clean, though the tub's need some renovations (worn). Little things like a lamp shade in the bathroom was torn (made of paper) and some cig' hole in the carpet) were noted. The furniture, though dated was in good shape. The wireless internet worked well and was high speed (could you Google Phone to call home). Some wall paper noted in corner coming away (suggesting water damage) as well as some white plaster dust mold noted near a capped off water pipe where rad used to be. The heater in room worked well, though the cycling on and off was sometimes annoying.

We are not a picky pair so we are okay with listing the place as average for our visit and use. My wife did suggest that she wouldn't have felt comfortable staying here alone though as there were no other people around and at times place felt deserted.

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the front desk/ pool area to avoid the walk, or at least near an entrance d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisandlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    30
    46
    35
    107
See reviews for
68
56
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ann, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I have used the Met Troy several times recently as it is very near the offices of the surgeon I have been seeing. I have found that the spacious and tastefully decoated lobby does not indicate room quality or cleanliness. My last two visits were notable due to the yucky mold smell that permeated the bathroom from the shower curtain. As this is something easily dealt with using chlorine bleach there really is no excuse. On my last stay the room had apparently been a party room, and there was evidence of someone having been sick to his stomach on the bedroom carpet. They were far from full that night, and that room should not have been used without steam-cleaning the carpet first. Yes, I could have asked for another room, but my companion didn't feel up to making a move.
Also, if you arrive late in the evening there is virtually nowhere to eat without having to go back to the interstate and hitting the Joselyn Rd exit. Morton's Steakhouse is nearby, but is extremely pricey.
The hotel does now offer a complementary continental breakfast, but it is extremely limited. The coffe was good, though!
They do offer WiFi, which is easy to use.
The ice machine on the first floor was out of order.

Room Tip: I haven't found a good room there, yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boxer1724, Owner at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our property. Our managers are working hard to improve upon the aspects of our property that have fallen short of our standards in the past few months. Improving our housekeeping department is is a high priority for us and we hope we can have you back to show you the results of these improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Troy hotels

Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The hotel itself was eerie because it is so expansive, yet nearly deserted. The advertised on-site restaurant and lounge is apparently no longer open. Our room also lacked a coffee maker, which, according to the website, hotel rooms have. The front desk wasn't aware that they had been removed three months ago because of "insurance reasons". Strange that were removed; stranger that the staff isn't aware.

The staff seemed sluggish; our room was dusty and lacked enough towels for our party; the pool area lacked towels as well. Even though our room was dusty, it didn't feel dirty though.

We were looking forward to the pool, but it was disappointing. It is a nice fitness area, with weight room and a spacious pool area. However, the pool area was 63 degrees. The thermostat was set for 71, but there obviously wasn't any heat, and no one around to ensure that there was heat.

If we hadn't had a Groupon for the MET, we would've paid too much.

Room Tip: A balcony is nice in warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kOps210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boxer1724, Owner at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
I want to apologize for your less than exceptional stay here at The MET. We now have a new team of managers who are working hard to bring our facility back up to the standard that our guests deserve. We really value your feedback and would love to have the opportunity to change your mind regarding our property. If you have plans to stay at our hotel in the future, we would love to upgrade you to a suite, and give you a memorable experience here at The MET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Two years ago I happened by chance to book myself in the Met Hotel in Troy Michigan. I was pleasently surprised by the large comfortable room and the profession curtious staff. They also have a great fitness room and indoor poor. The location is perfect for anyone with business or family events in the Detroit metro area. I have since gone back 3 times and have not been disappointed.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boxer1724, Owner at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
We are so happy that you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel. We strive to offer impeccable service to all of our guests and I am happy to know that you have become a repeat customer. Thank you for your review, and I hope to see you again at The MET soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Our family and friends stayed here for our family wedding, unfortunately the ownership changed after the bride and groom booked the block of rooms, and so the service was not what was promised. Card keys constantly had to be reactivated at the front desk and the hotel is very, very long. Wear your walking shoes! Luckily there is parking throughout the hotel so you can park closer to an entrance/exit near your room. Coffee was non existent in the mornings, staff was friendly-but clearly stressed out due to the lack of help they had. I never saw the bar or restaurant open. Major plus, THE BEDS! One of the most comfortable beds I've slept on!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsdean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

fast check in had 2 reservations for 2 ppl had to tell them no 1 room for 2 ppl changed no problem breakfast was a joke no toaster cold bagels ran out of coffee cups only plastic think because of groupon as read before last room on floor which is quite a walk room nice good bed asked for balcony didnt get it 2nd floor think maybe 10 rooms without balcony i got 1 of those think again because of groupon

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This place wasn't awful but it was close. It's a tired old place that needs a lot of renovation. The staff wasn't rude to me but they were not well trained. I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
3.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
2.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Troy

Property: The Met Troy
Address: 5500 Crooks Rd, Troy, MI 48098-2806
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Met Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MET Hotel is conveniently located in Detroit's affluent Northwestern suburbs near upscale shopping, dining & entertainment venues, as well as a number of corporate headquarters. We offer 23,000 square feet of conference space, making The MET one of the largest conference hotels in the area. With 180 spacious guestrooms, we can perfectly accomodate groups large or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Met Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Met Troy Hotel Troy
The Met Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing