We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, adequate facility”
Review of The Met Troy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Met Troy
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is easy to get to. It has a nice continental breakfast. The staff upgraded us and was professional and helpful.
The overall appearance was old. The pool had dirty towels left all about from the night before and the water was murky. The rooms are dated and need a fresh coat of paint. The bed was comfortable.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lynn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Used hotwire before and got some great deals. But dissappointed at this one. Great suburban location but the place smelled and needs a lot of care. Even my kids are complaining its not clean. They should be knocked down a star for sure. The management needs to clean up their act. In addition the pool was not that clean and they didnt refresh the towels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We are at day one of our 3 day stay. Got a real good deal on hotwire and read reviews so i was a little worried.

But the room is clean, the people are nice. The breakfast is more than a so called carb fest. There are hard boiled eggs and they do make waffles (yes carbs), had fruit, yogurt even though it was a bowl of plain, and oatmeal. For a cont. breakfast it had all the normal things exceipt some places have omlettes but i have seen worse.

Our air went out briefly in middle of night but after playing with it,
Is now working and they are sending down maint to look at it and move us if needed.

Yes the hotel could use a update but the carpet is clean and doesnt look worn. No smell on floor 1, still need to check out the rest of the floors. The pool is clean and doesnt have a strong clorene smell. No sign of bed bugs in our room and they keep the place clean. Its before 10a and i see housekeeping on our floor. With the few people staying here, it shouldnt take long to housekeep.

It is ovious that the money maker here is conventions, they had one last night and another this morning already. The room portion is 2nd priority but they dont treat it like a 2nd priority.

Weight room looks nice, will try it out later today. Warning this hotel is a half circle shape and if you get a room near the end you will get your walk in!


For the price i would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike06181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed there for two nights. Several guests in our group got bit by bed bugs. They even saw live bugs in the rooms. the management keeps saying they do not have bed bugs. Also very poor service. .Did not clean rooms next day. No towels next day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCWoodridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I went into my stay at this hotel with my guard up based on previous reviews.

I have to say, for the price (found on Hotwire), I think it delivered. It's right near I-75. It's located in an industrial park, so no amenities nearby. Our check in was smooth. We came at 2:15 (check in is at 3) and were told the only rooms they had ready were on the first floor. We walked a good 5 minutes to get to our room.

The room itself was quite large, but clearly dated. The tv is a tube tv. The door to the washroom opens inwards, restricting space. The blinds didn't pull all the way in, so we had to improvise and tuck the curtain behind the chair to hold it in place. The beds (twin) were actually quite comfortable, with clean, soft sheets. The walls were pretty thin, but luckily we had nice neighbours.

The wi-fi was spotty at best (hotspot which only allowed so many logged in). The continental breakfast was sparse...some muffins, mini bagels, coffee, tea, and the room itself was quite messy.

Overall, for my purposes of a brief, one night stay, I'd say it was fine. Would I pay rack rate for it? Absolutely not.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdyrck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I was walking to elevator and hear the gm manager yelling at his employees..not just yelling but swearing at them..like (shut the @!## up), (I dont give a #$@!) I was so disapointed to have heard that..LATER on that day seen gm manager pacing back n forth..honestly walk right by him n the alchol and ciggarett smell was unbearable.. At first i wasnt sure who he was so i asked front desk and she sadly whispered.."that our GM" I was def shooked.. over all the rooms were ok,pretty cleaned, there employees were extreamly nice n helpful..the issue by far is the GM. MAY GOD HELP THOSE EMPLOYEES..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guadalupetoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Used to stay here when it was the Northfield Hilton. First time back in 15 years. It has sunk a long way since then. My room was clean. WiFi was spotty. Cable tv was poor. in Detroit suburbs and i couldn't get the Red Wings/Blachhawks game on tv. Did not visit the restaurant or the bar. For the Th, Fri & Sat night stay, it appeared that there were only about 10 other guests in the entire place. Clearly this property needs some new life (and investment) breathed into it

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tug1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
3.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
2.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Troy

Address: 5500 Crooks Rd, Troy, MI 48098-2806
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range: £85 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Met Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MET Hotel is conveniently located in Detroit's affluent Northwestern suburbs near upscale shopping, dining & entertainment venues, as well as a number of corporate headquarters. We offer 23,000 square feet of conference space, making The MET one of the largest conference hotels in the area. With 180 spacious guestrooms, we can perfectly accomodate groups large or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Met Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Met Troy Hotel Troy
The Met Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing