We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“safety”
Review of The Met Troy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Met Troy
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“safety”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Myself & my daughter were in a domestic situation from an ex. The staff at Met hotel made sure we were safe at all times. They listed our stay as non existence if someone might of got wind & called there trying to track us. They also honored their online price to us the whole time that we were in need to stay there which was great & affordable for us. It's a pleasure to have been surrounded by staff who cared & provided safety to a single mom in need.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great we stayed in multiple rooms just for the fun of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, General Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello Carmen,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Met Hotel and also taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I'm sorry to hear about your personal situation, but glad to hear that we were able to help make you feel a little safer. Please feel free to contact me or any member of our staff if there is anything that we can do for you either now or in the future.

Sincerely,

Ernie Backalar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    30
    46
    35
    107
See reviews for
68
56
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
697 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

While not the most central location, The Met was close to I 75, making it easy to get around. I choose this property because of the room rate and the fact that it included a light breakfast. It was also convenient to a major freeway. While The Met is in need of an update, the room I had was large and I found the bed comfortable. There were things that I felt were worn and in need of replacement. Considering the rate and what they had to offer, I thought you got good value for the money.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the check in area, which is near the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StockholmKindaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, General Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello Motown Guy,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Met Hotel during your recent visit to Troy. I appreciate you taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review and am glad that you found our hotel to be of good value. Many of the items that you mentioned will be addressed during our upcoming renovation. I hope to meet you during one of your next trips to the area. Thank you again for your time and business. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Ernie Backalar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

As others have said it is dated, but it was decent for a one night business trip. The King Size bed was comfortable with good pillows. Our office is close by so the location was perfect for the one night but if I had to spend more than a night in Troy I would look at other options close to Big Beaver Rd and Rochester as the Met does not have a restaurant/ bar attached and is a few miles from the retail/ restaurant part of town.

That being said the staff were very helpful and for a one night visit the price was right.

Room Tip: Get a couple of keys made, the hotel is flat and long, so it is quite a hike to go back to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, General Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello Paul,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Met Hotel during your recent visit to Troy. I appreciate you taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review and am glad that you found our beds to be very comfortable. We have recently opened up two new restaurants inside our hotel. The Epic Café serves breakfast and lunch daily. We are also proud to announce that Northern Lakes Seafood is open for a delicious dinner daily starting at 5pm with happy hour starting at 3pm on weekdays. Along with the two restaurants, we also offer room service.

Paul, thank you again for your time and business. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Ernie Backalar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The outside of the hotel look very nice and cool thinking its gonna be nice beautiful rooms wrong The room smelled like someone took a dump why don't they have flat screen it was stains on the sofa most of the Chanel's on my tv didn't work never again maybe when they update it

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickeyloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, General Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello Vickey,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Met Hotel during one of your past visits to Troy. I also appreciate you taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review regarding your stay. I'm glad that you liked the outside look of our hotel and appreciate your feedback regarding your room experience. We are currently in the process of planning our upcoming renovation that is scheduled to start this spring. I hope that we have the opportunity to see you again. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Thank you again.

Ernie Backalar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Troy hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

First off it is very easy to find, check in was smooth. Got to the room and it had a comfortable king size bed, room was dim, bathroom was small but overall a decent room. I would stay here again for a business trip by myself but not for vacation

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Thank you for your comments, we use all guest feedback to grow our team
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is an old hotel that was probably once very nice. It needs some serious updating. My room was big, but you can tell it was heavily used. Lighting is dim, especially bathroom lighting. NO COFFEE POTS IN ANY ROOM!!! I asked at the front desk. Everyone was polite at the hotel. It is a very large place, so don't forget anything when you leave your room. My key didn't work when I returned from work, I had to walk all the way to the front desk to get a new key. It doesn't sound like much, but when you're still on PST time and worked all day, that walk can seem like a long time. Would be a great place to stay if it were updated and brightened up a bit

Room Tip: pay a little more, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Thank you for your comments, we use all guest feedback to grow our team
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
3.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
2.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Troy

Property: The Met Troy
Address: 5500 Crooks Rd, Troy, MI 48098-2806
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Met Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MET Hotel is conveniently located in Detroit's affluent Northwestern suburbs near upscale shopping, dining & entertainment venues, as well as a number of corporate headquarters. We offer 23,000 square feet of conference space, making The MET one of the largest conference hotels in the area. With 180 spacious guestrooms, we can perfectly accomodate groups large or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Met Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Met Troy Hotel Troy
The Met Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing