We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEDBUGS and DISGUSTING ROOMS”
Review of The Met Troy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Met Troy
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Reviewed 26 August 2014

When we went into our room we immediately noticed dirty towels, dirty sheets and pillows, and the toilet didn't flush. We went to the front and switched our room to one a few doors down only to discover when looking at another bed with dirty sheets that there were BED BUGS. Still alive. We checked out immediately!! As we were leaving we see that the hotel management (some bratty guy with no respect for the customers) has placed other guests in the room we were just in (with the dirty sheets and non flushing toilet). Just a truly disgusting hotel. The cost was supposed to be $99. After we checked out we got a room at the somerset inn for $79 a night, with beautiful SPOTLESSLY CLEAN rooms and NO BED BUGS. The met shouldn't even be considered a hotel. Overpriced dirty sesspool of a hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Thank you for your comments, we use all guest feedback to grow our team
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Met Troy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed there for the cost saving. Well learned that lesson. Will Not ever stay there again! Room smelled bad, feet got dirt from walking across the carpet. The hall way carpet had a oil? line running down it. Cleaning service came in the am, they barely made the beds. Also took all towns and never replaced them. The shampoo bottle was opened and half used. To top it off the hotel made 2 charges to my bank that were false. When I called the manager about it he said he would call me back in 15 minutes. He never did. Finally on the third call I was assured it would the money would be charged back to my account in 3 to 5 days. Here it is 10 days later and no money. I am very disappointed! !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidewalksplat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Thank you for your comments, we use all guest feedback to grow our team
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The rate was very affordable and cheap, but that was about the only good thing. The parking lot is rugged and at night they don't turn on all the lights so it will literally be pitch black out in the parking lot making it almost impossible to park. The rooms were Medicore and had uncimfortable beds that seemed very itchy. The maid forgot to come to our room and bring us fresh towels and make our beds. We had to call the front desk and they accommodated well except that they didn't have any maids left on the premesis so we had fresh towels but messy beds:/

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Thank you for your comments, we use all guest feedback to grow our team
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

series of excellent experiences
1) I was promised one rate (with tax) and billed Tax separately???
2) Card is charged without any intimation!!! for not known reasons??!!
3) Experience uninvited women knocking your door every night (especially weekends)!! - which stops after complaining the front desk ;)
4) Staff is arrogant - specially front desk!!!
5) House keeping is only a formality
6) Breakfast is same walnut cake every day!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VIP147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Thank you for your comments, we use all guest feedback to grow our team
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

i stayed at this hotel over a month, the front desk stuff other then monic was very unprofessional and rude. Housekeepers scream at the customers and instead of changing sheets they just make the bed with the same dirty sheets. They cut the water off without giving any notice.The room was really outdated. The only good part was the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Thank you for your comments, we use all guest feedback to grow our team
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed last week at the Met Troy and the was surprised. I had my reserve because of the reviews but our stay was a very pleasant one. The Staff at the Front desk was very friendly and service oriented. The room was clean and the location was perfect. For sure I will stay again when I am back in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 62Raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, General Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, Along with our great location we strive to be the best value in corporate and leisure lodging. We appreciate your response and look forward to being the best value in the Troy Market for the future.
Thank you for your business,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week for a convention I attended. What a cute hotel - great price, friendly and courteous staff, nice location. Good restaurants in the neighborhood and the mall is not to far away. I am a rather picky traveler and the hotel was able to meet all of my needs - I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metManager48098, General Manager at The Met Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your words of encouragement. Guest’s comments are what give us the guidance to improve or level of service every day. We work at being the best value in the Northern Suburbs of Troy / Detroit.

Thank you for your business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
3.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#11 of 17 in Troy
210 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
3.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Troy

Address: 5500 Crooks Rd, Troy, MI 48098-2806
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range: £88 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Met Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MET Hotel is conveniently located in Detroit's affluent Northwestern suburbs near upscale shopping, dining & entertainment venues, as well as a number of corporate headquarters. We offer 23,000 square feet of conference space, making The MET one of the largest conference hotels in the area. With 180 spacious guestrooms, we can perfectly accomodate groups large or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Met Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Met Troy Hotel Troy
The Met Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing