We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Hamilton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent value, will stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I chose this property based on Tripadvisor reviews, which for a discount hotel chain seemed very high across the board. We were not disappointed at all, and the price can't be beat.

The check-in was pleasant and quick, taking three minutes. The front desk clerk was very helpful and prompt. The room was exactly as promised, and was either brand new or meticulously cleaned, or both. The king bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spotless and new, towels were good. The TV was easy to use and had an array of channels including HBO.

We chose a king room with a fridge and microwave, and both were spotless and clean. The room seemed to be geared to the business traveller, and had a very large L-shaped desk with a great lamp, and a fully adjustable office chair. The room was one of the largest king bed rooms I've stayed in.

I was suprised when the top drawer under the TV had a wireless keyboard! Apparently you can access the internet and other services using this keyboard and the TV. The rooms also had WIFI which worked well.

Another great feature is a noon checkout, and a 1pm check-in. Very convenient.

The only shortfall was that the heat tended to cycle off and on frequently, and the only other nitpick was the need for a soapdish!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viognier9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    56
    22
    5
    16
See reviews for
31
25
29
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

This hotel was recommended by Custom Music International in Ferndale, MI. We were visiting from South Carolina to test out and possibly buy a new B&S tuba for my son who is a college freshman. We were apprehensive not only about visiting Michigan in January, but also staying at a budget hotel. The reviews on trip advisor were favorable and the rates thru the Red Roof Inn site were fantastic.......$39.99 for the first night, $19.99 for the second night and $9.99 for the third night. Wow! So we decided to give it a try.

We booked the Superior King room and it was spotless. I did my usual bedbug check of the mattress before bringing in my suitcase. It looked spotless too. We had a microwave, safe and mini-fridge in the room. No hairdryer or clothes iron, but you can borrow them from the front desk. No coffee maker in room but they have free coffee at all hours in the little lobby. There is a snack machine, soda machine and ice machine, but no guest laundry. The front desk and maid service were helpful and polite. I also saw people walking dogs, so the hotel must be pet friendly. The wireless is free and I had no trouble with my VPN connection. The only downside really was that the beds could have used a layer of memory foam and some additional blankets. We were provided with one thin blanket and a nylon bedspread. The heat worked great, but we would rather keep the room cool and bundle up with cozy blankets. I guess I should have asked the front desk for more blankets.

It snowed a couple of inches everyday, but the roads were clear. One night, we went to the Somerset Collection Mall, a huge upscale mall, for dinner and shopping. The next night we saw a movie and had dinner in Royal Oak which was a lovely town with lots of restaurants.

Overall, this was a great trip. The people in Detroit are wonderful.....friendly, helpful and genuine.

The airport was pretty awesome too...clean and modern, although the full body scan scared me to death! But it was no big deal after all. Security is tight...which it needs to be to keep us all safe. The woman before me was patted down after the full body scan, my son had his back pockets patted down and security took the guy in front of me away for a few minutes. Be sure your pockets are empty and your shoes/belt/jewelry are off and sent separately through Xray scanner! They also had random ID checks before boarding the aircraft.

Overall, I would recommend the Red Roof Inn in Troy as great budget hotel option.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

This inn looks great and is a tremendous value, but I almost left over a serious staff error BUT thanks to a customer service superstar of a general manager, not only did I stay but this is my choice for Red Roof Inn's in northern-Detroit area!

As a business traveler, I stayed at Red Roof of Troy earlier this spring and also a few years back. This Red Roof was always clean, but has needed a bit of updating for a few years. As of my stay ending today, I can say that it is almost like a completely new hotel! I took advantage of their Detroit winter special and stayed in a Superior King (also known as All-Inclusive King rooms in other locations). The room featured Red Roof's new soft contemporary furnishings and room design. This includes a refrigerator, microwave and digital-safe (including INSURANCE) all smartly space-planned into an entertainment/dresser area. The room is also outfitted with a sleek workspace that features a round desk-end that can double as a cafe-style dining table, a task lamp with extra plugs and modem port, an ergonomic executive-style desk chair, and a stylish fabric-covered lounge chair. The bathroom area remains small, but is of good decor featuring faux-hardwood floords and easily made up for with a large vanity area. The bed area features two cantilevered side tables cleverly built into the a headboard, executive alarm-clock, a comfortable king-sized mattress, and modern and fashionable bedcoverings. Rounded out with posh carpeting and tasteful window coverings and accessories, a person would easily mistake this single room for being a higher-price hotel suite! Coupled with the free WiFi and easy accessibility to shopping and business nearby, this is an amazing value!

As with all hotels, there are a few things to polish up. I've stayed at other Red Roofs in Michigan; it is becoming my preferred brand. All the rooms I've encountered could use built-in hair dryers and, if possible as an investment, updated flat-screen televisions with video ports. Otherwise, as far as the rooms and the property itself, nearly perfect! And, on this particular stay, the staff was professional and amenable (though they could warm-up a bit more in their interactions with customers). Unfortunately, they did miss the special requests that were sent with my reservation, so I had to request them again at check-in. Not really a big deal, and perhaps the staff people were just busy the times I interacted with them.

A more serious issue did pop-up later in the stay, but was handled professionally by the management - and then later, my customer service expectations were WAY surpassed! I had to stop by front-desk to request a "Do Not Disturb" sign as my room did not have one. The front desk staff person could not find any, so she said she would put one on the room and put a note in the system not to enter the room while I was gone. Unfortunately, this didn't happen, and the room was entered by housekeeping against my wishes - and I had left gifts in the room instead of my car and accidentally left the safe unlocked! Though my items were left untouched and the room was straightend up around them, I was very upset and was immediately put through to the general manager - who assured me of the professionalism of her staff and assured that if anything was missing as a result, it would be taken care of. I almost left that day, but the manager was understanding and handled the issue with care. The rest of the stay went without a problem, but I will admit I was a little upset that management didn't offer at least a discount, as Red Roof guarantees a hassle-free stay.

Well, I shouldn't have worried, because today, that general manager took the opportunity to more than make up for it. I have a late-day meeting, but am not sure I will need a room after that. I called to see if a day-rate or late check-out was available, even for a cost. The front desk person told me that 12:30 PM was the latest they could offer today; I took it and planned to kill some time for several hours. But before I could walk away from the phone, the general manager called back. She had intercepted the call from my room, and called back to offer a 6pm check-out at no additional charge. I was amazed and this general manager is such a customer service superstar that I wanted to share the incident and the moment - it really shows how far Red Roof has come!

As a result of her service, I will stay at the Red Roof of Troy again without question, unless one of the overpriced three and four-star hotels in the area suddenly decide to compete and come down in price - which is unlikely. The Red Roof of Troy is an amazing value, and almost like staying in a three-star hotel anyway, so I probably won't even look elsewhere for awhile. The service standards are great, the rooms are excellent, and the management is exceptional. And the prices and specials are near impossible to find elsewhere in the area. In short, STAY HERE IF YOU CAN!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamjbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

The staff here are always very friendly and will do all they can to help you with your needs. They are a Pet Friendly Hotel and they don't charge for your pets to stay. They could use a little more updating but really it's a great place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nielsen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

Based on TA reviews we selected to stay here for a night on our way from New York State to Wisconsin. We arrived late on a hot, humid, buggy night, but it was just fine for a brief evening and return to the road the next morning. Good rates, clean, and perfect location for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

the hotel was great. The room was very clean. the only problem both times i stayed was the desk clerk monica. She was very rude dont know if i woke her up both time i checked in after 1am. her appearence was just awful.. her shirt looked like she had slept in it for days her pants well she had on a cream colored pair of shorts and white tennis shoes. i really dont think this is a good look for a work place. the desk clerk that checked me out in the mornig was very pleasent and well dressed for her job. overall the hotel was very nice. the next time i stay ill make sure to check in when monica is not working!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy91_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

This is a good choice if you're looking for a cheap place to spend a night. it's clean and recently renovated, and the beds are very comfortable as cheap motel beds go.

The one thing that I had a big problem with is the extra $1.50 they add to your bill for use of the safe. They add it whether you use the safe or not, and if you don't use the safe, you have to ask them to take it off your bill at checkout, or else call the hotel later and ask them to remove it. This is obnoxious, clearly just a way to nickel and dime customers. Also, it would have been nice to have hair dryers in the rooms.

Other than that though, I had a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x94cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Detroit - Troy
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
1.2 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy

Property: Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy
Address: 2350 Rochester Rd, Troy, MI 48083
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy Hotel Troy
Red Roof Inn Troy
Troy Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing