We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: under new management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Haven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warning: under new management”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I've stayed at this location for 2-3/month for several years. Must be new owners and/or management. I stayed there 5/10/12 and the lack of professionalizm astounded me! The young clerk was sitting on the counter (until he saw me walk up) talking with 2 other employees (one eating her dinner) sitting in the only 2 chairs in the lobby dicussing work schedules! I was using a "free" night certificate, but the young man (who left his shoes sitting on the desk!) couldn't seem to find my reservation (I'm sure they didn't want to take the certifcate) until I told him I had my confirmation # if that would help him. He suddenly found my reservation. Still an ok place to stay, but beware I have the feeling it will be going downhill soon (I've seen it too many times before). Happy, safe travels to all.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
We appreciate your honest feedback. Constructive criticism is a critical part of growth and we welcome both the positive and negative feedback of our valued guests. Simply put . . . . it makes us better. As is the case with any progressive organization, training is key. Your feedback has assisted us in addressing key elements in our training program, allowed us to identify and address this issue, as well as put processes in place so that instances such as the ones you addressed do not reoccur. We thank you, and hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to providing the ultimate in guest satisfaction.

Greg Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    57
    22
    5
    16
See reviews for
31
26
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

They had a good rate, but that was all. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohiobill2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Though we always strive to make each guest stay a perfect one, it is apparent that yours was less than that. Though negative feedback is not pleasant, it allows us the opportunity to identify needed issues and to aggressively address. We will whole-heartedly do so in this case and ensure that your concerns are adequately addressed in our effort to improve our services to you and all of our valued guests.

Greg Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,162 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel got it 95% right. Too bad the 5% they got wrong ruined what would otherwise have been a good night's stay. Apparently, housekeeping forgot to change the sheets in my bed (either that, or housekeeping needs to wear a hairnet). There were dark hairs on both sides of the bedsheet, and it was itchy, not fresh. It was too late and I was settled in too much before I noticed this problem. My advice: check the beds here as soon as you check in, to avoid a ruined night. I took a looong shower the next morning to relieve the dirty feeling I felt. This was in one of the basic no-frills rooms with no fridge, microwave or coffeemaker. This was one of the worst priceline rooms I've stayed in, and in the future, I would not bid below 3 stars for this area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We sincerely apologize for your experience. Though we are happy that we acheved 95% of your guest satisfaction, we are saddened that we missed the remaining 5%. We are dedicated in our ongoing efforts to improve our services and reduce service issues. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Greg Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Over the past 3 years, I stayed few times at this location. When you get the Superior King, you get a nice room with everything, fridge/ microwave & big desk, however, be ware that if you use the safe, then you will be charged extra. You have to ask for the dryer or other items at the front desk.
Also, if you book online, make sure the price you paid online matches the bill you get from this location. Few times when I booked a non-smoking room, they give me a smoking room, or non-smoking but smells!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had a terrible experience with a certain hotel just down the road from the Red Roof Inn (*cough* Quality Inn *cough*). They had made our reservation for the wrong day so when we showed up to check into our hotel prior to our Friday night festivities, we had no room.

Luckily the Red Roof Inn was close by. We hurried into the lobby and were helped immediately by Monica. She was cordial, friendly, and very helpful! She found us a room right away, and got us a great deal using my AAA membership (a superior king room was only $10 more than the basic room). We paid a great price for our room. It was spacious and very clean!! and had a small refrigerator, coffee pot, microwave, safe... the only thing missing was the iron/ironing board.

The rooms must have been recently renovated because the carpet, flooring, bed, furnishings, and decor all looked new.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay, the service, and the value. The location was a little off the beaten path, but it was a nice quiet area and still very close to all of the attractions (restaurants, shopping, etc.) in Troy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mostin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownstown Township, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I can't say enough good about my stay at the Red Roof Inn in Troy, Michigan! I travel frequently and had never tried the Red Roof Inn. Check-in was fast and easy. Monica, was great. She was pleasant, friendly, and made me feel right at home, She did a great job of covering all the details without a long, boring production. I swear, there wasn't one question she couldn't answer. I needed some paper plates, plastic spoons and napkins. Guess what - she had some. Needed to know where the nearest gas station and restaurants were - she made some excellent recommendations. The lobby was clean and inviting as well as the room. On top of all of this, the room was a great value. I will be returning to this area quite frequently over the next several months and am happy to know where i will be staying. Thank you Monica for everything and looking forward to seeing you again soon!.

Bernie

Room Tip: I don't think you could choose a bad room at this facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Staff friendly, location convenient, pets welcome, rooms comfortable. Choose the Superior King room to enjoy a larger room that includes a fridge and microwave.

Room Tip: book online through the red roof inn website for the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p00ky73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Detroit - Troy
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
1.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy

Property: Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy
Address: 2350 Rochester Rd, Troy, MI 48083
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy Hotel Troy
Red Roof Inn Troy
Troy Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing