We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont stay at and red roof again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wont stay at and red roof again”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Ill start by saying I travel for business and an internet connect is required to send it document. Check In was easy. Once I entered the room I tried connecting to the internet and every time it would kick me off. I went to the office and told the front desk immediately. I didnt even touch anything in the room. She stated that the connecting might be better in another room. So I switched rooms. All I brought in was my computer to test it. Same issue although i did have another bar on connectivity. Went immediately back to the office and she said try it in there, so I brought my laptop in there with the same results. She said it looks like its running fine but it wasnt, im sure she wasnt an IT specialist because she looked at her phone and said it was connect. What a joke!!! I stated I cant stay because I need a connection otherwise I can get wriitten up at work. She said she couldnt refund me and would leave a note for the manager to contact me. I figured they would call but never did. I contacted redroof.com and they did nothing and said the hotel sent me an email for a free night in the mail but wouldnt refund me. I wasnt even at the hotel for 30 MINUTES. I have had this problem before at other hotels and never had an issue. Ended up staying at the super 8 in Sterling Heights and dint have an issue.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank maltese50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    57
    22
    5
    16
See reviews for
31
26
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The staff and the manager are friendly and very accommodating. I booked a King room and even though they are in the process of renovating the hotel I have a room that has not yet been renovated. Well I thought it had been. The room is very clean the bathroom is very clean and everything works as it should, nice flat screen TV and FREE WI FI. One can’t ask for much more. Especially at the prices you pay at a Red Roof. My wife and I use Red Roofs all over the country and at this price point this hotel stands very tall I must say. If you have pets you can not go wrong with Red Roof, no extra charges and they don't look at you as if you carry a disease when you say that you have a dog or cat!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I booked 2 rooms on hotwire, so that I can have a king size and my own privacy. I got to the hotel early, and was told that hotwire assigned me 2 rooms each having 2 double beds. I said I didnt want that, and if I did, 1 room could have done that. Then I asked if they have king size rooms available, and was told they have them, but because it was booked online, they cant change it. They claim they couldnt change it because "the computer locks in a specific room". What kind of BS is that? I would understand if they didnt have any kings available, but to be told they have and couldnt do it, well, that was strike #1. Then I get out of the shower, with wet hair, and start looking for a hair dryer, again instant disappointment. I look everywhere, and call the front desk, and was told "we have hair dryers in the lobby". Well, doesnt that defeat the purpose? unless they are running a hair salon in the lobby. The clerk said she would bring me one, and I quickly had to get dressed so that I wasnt seen naked. Totally unprofessional. I guess I was lucky that I didnt have to beg for toilet paper and that was fully stocked.Strike 3, 1am, the front desk knocks on my door, wakes me up and says "is everything ok?". Well it was while I was sleeping until I was rudely woken up. I dont think I would stay here again, and I probably wouldnt recommend this hotel either. You definately get what you pay for. If your looking for cheap, you found your place, but if you want to spend a few bucks more, and get something classy...book elseware.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mparra21, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your stay with us. I must say, I was very disappointed to read of your experience with us and I can assure you, this is a rare case. We strive to provide all guests with superior service and a positive experience.

It appears there were multiple moments where there was a communication breakdown, both on Hotwire for not making it clear to you on what room type they reserved for you and for us, in not simply asking if there was a better time for them to bring the hairdryer to your room so we do not have to inconvenience you in any way. I do want to mention that my staff is fully trained and required to make courtesy calls shortly after a guest checks into the hotel to make sure we are meeting your expectations in regards to room quality and cleanliness. They are never permitted to leave the lobby to personally knock on doors. That much I can assure you. Please accept my sincerest apology for the bad experience and not going the extra mile to accommodate you in your request for a standard king room. I can only hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

On a good note, I am delighted to share with you that we are in the process of renovating our entire hotel (new flat screen TV, new mattress, fully painted rooms and new carpet) and I do foresee in the near future of having iron, ironing boards and hairdryers in all our rooms. Thank you again for the feedback and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed here for one night and loved the front desk service. Very friendly and professional front desk staff. The room was however dirty and there was dust everywhere. I always stay at the Red Roof and I was expecting better. I will never stay at this Red Roof again. The bed covers were very old and there was no room upgrade except for the flat screen TV. Won't stay at this Red Roof again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mparra21, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback in regards to your last stay with us. We, at Red Roof Inn, welcome both good and bad feedback. This is very important to us and we take all issues very seriously. We are always working hard in making sure we provide superior service and a quality cleam room to all our customers.

When there comes a time when a customer is not satisfied with the service or room quality, it is unacceptable to me and I take it very personal. I sincerely apologize for the condition of how the room was and I can assure you, I have addressed this with my staff so this would not occur again. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to make a better impression and make your experience a positive one.

I am also delighted to share with you that we are in the process of renovation at our hotel. We have jsut recently installed new flat screen TVs, new mattresses and coming in the very near future....newly painted rooms with new carpet, along with exterior painting of the property. I do hope you will consider us for any future lodging needs and see all the wonderful positive changes!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
182 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I checked in late with no problems. The room was clean and info of the area was available. The shower had excellent hot water in AM. The only problem I had was that you could hear the traffic noise from outside. It was a Sat night, so place was busy. The only thing I did not like was they charge you deposit fee for the safe. They inform you to ask for refund at check out, but like most I forgot about it next day. I told them that they should charge only if I ask for safe info to be able to use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outer area and not in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrcalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2013

its an average room and affordable rates... friendly and helpful receptionist and cleaners... nice and clean room... its very easy to book and lots options for food deliveries... the room we stayed in was a king size bed, big computer desk, clean rest room, with Tv, ref and microwave...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phia22c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This place is right off I-75 at Rochester Rd & close to Troy's Big Beaver corridor. Some people have really ranted about the place online. You get what you pay for. The rooms are very basic. However, they are clean & quiet. The staff are professional & have coffee for you in the front check-in.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Detroit - Troy
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
1.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy

Property: Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy
Address: 2350 Rochester Rd, Troy, MI 48083
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy Hotel Troy
Red Roof Inn Troy
Troy Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing