We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The nicest shopping experience in the Detroit area”

Somerset Collection
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
701 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“The nicest shopping experience in the Detroit area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This mall has many high-end stores (most of them in the north building) and a wide variety in the south building. Every trip to Detroit must include a visit or two or three to Somerset. The Macy's store is fantastic and we even used the valet parking on the last visit since parking was next to impossible to find.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlyAtNIght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    74
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beach
Level Contributor
190 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great mall options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Great mall shops from the priciest to the fairest. Clean. Perfect size. Not too big of a mall to get tired of roaming (just right) parking is only bad during holidays where you may have to be at the top uncovered part of the parking garage.

Helpful?
1 Thank TryNewPlacesBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrific shopping - Horrible Parking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just finished up a successful day of shopping at Somerset Collection today. What an amazing selection of stores. The mall is beautiful and offers a little bit of everything.
The only complaints are:
1) parking. Save yourself the 20 minutes of total frustration with the one-ways, small lots, etc and splurge for the valet. I suspect it is worth it and I will be doing this next time.

2) elevators. We had a toddler in a stroller so required use of the elevator to go between floors. Usually malls will have signage indicating that those who are able (read: not in wheelchairs, on crutches or with small children in strollers) are to use stairs or escalators. Despite there being PLENTY of escalators throughout the mall it seemed majority of people preferred the very slow elevators. Those of us with strollers and those with wheelchairs found ourselves waiting for the 'next one' because idiots refused to walk the extra 20ft to escalators. It was a tight squeeze and you are waiting a long time as they aren't very quick. This was a major point of annoyance for me and I did give up on shopping third floor stores because I was too frustrated with the crowds and wait time to utilize the elevator.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crikgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Upper class, great variety of stores!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I've been going to Somerset for years now and it's still one of my favourite places to shop. The mall itself it absolutely beautiful and has a relaxed but energetic atmosphere. In addition to shopping at mid-high end boutiques you can also take a break at their very affordable food court or go to any of their in mall restaurants (Such as CPK or P.F.Changs.) If you need a drink there's a Starbucks and Teavana on the first floor. There are also multiple salons for if you need haircuts or mini-facials! I always have a wonderful time at Somerset and am happy to go back anytime.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VeryMeltyButter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to be in this mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Though we live in Charlotte but we have nothing that competes with this mall..

Have seen only one that may be as good that was King Of Prussia is Philadelphia. .

But we love this mall
The Skyway speaks for itself -:)
Very upscale shopping

Improvement? !
Very underwhelmed by the Food Court!!

Helpful?
Thank soooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Somerset Collection also viewed

 

Been to Somerset Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing