We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Billy Sims Barbecue
Ranked #101 of 276 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: Barbecue, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Description: Billy Sims Barbecue specializes in traditional backyard barbecue, serving smoked meats such as: brisket, pulled pork, polish sausage, hot links, bologna, St. Louis style ribs, and boneless chicken and turkey. We serve the highest quality meats and sides in a casual atmosphere that celebrates the career triumphs of 1978 Heisman, Billy Sims. Our meats are smoked fresh daily at every location using seasoned pecan wood for the perfect combination of heat and smoke. Come visit us for great, award winning barbecue!
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Didn't like the sauce, and the dry meat needed sauce to help it. KFC cole slaw is better, didn't like any of the food. People were nice and friendly, but won't go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4forthefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BBQ does not get any better than this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

If you like good old southern bbq, you can't beat Billy's. Love the sides and always order brisket & ribs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KDenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Excellent BBQ served up fresh and quickly. My adult son has traveled extensively throughout Texas and has become a bit of a BBQ snob. When I took him to Billy Sims, he raved on and on about the brisket. I had the ribs which were really tasty -- the kind you dream about until the next time you have them. Another time I had the sausage -- plenty of delicate smoky flavor without being greasy. I had a nice salad as a "super" side each time (a super side counts as two "normal" sides). The BBQ Ranch dressing was really good (and I don't even like French).
This Troy location is about the size of a sub shop with an ordering counter and booth seating along two walls. Billy Sims' football memorabilia adorns the walls and there's non-stop football action on the medium-sized video screen. Another time I brought home carry-out, and the food was still warm after a 20-minute trip home.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Mi
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Have eaten at the Crooks Road location in Rochester Hills several times and have used the large carryout quantities for three family functions. Everyone loves it.Their BBQ sauce is outstanding. We have purchased that for home use as well. The barbecue pork sandwich and chicken sandwich are very tasty and come with a side. Staff is knowledgeable about their products and very friendly. You order at the counter.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbkmbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Solid option for BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The options for good BBQ in the area are quite limited. Don't expect white tablecloths though as this is a counter service restaurant that is mist often carry out. Meat is good and tender. My favorite sides arw the baked beans and green beans. A tad pricey but worth it if you have that taste for BBQ.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GLH0560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy Sims Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Billy Sims Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing