We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very "involved", but worth an occasional visit”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 278 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Big Beaver and Crooks
Description: We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Very "involved", but worth an occasional visit”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Overall, we enjoyed our meal, but having to cook one's own food is a bit involved so I could not imagine coming back more than 2-3 times per year. Pluses: the salads are very good; cooking the vegetables tempura style is very flavorful; shrimp, tuna, and salmon come out great and cook fast. Cons: cooking steak and duck was a challenge since it is hard to tell if the meat is too rare. If/when we come back we decided to stick to fish.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jongable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    49
    35
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love it--great place for ladies night out”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Get cheese, salad and dessert for the ladies. Be sure to ask them about ladies' night and when it is. They usually have special pricing in the summer when fondue isn't the first thing on your mind.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kendra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Will come again...”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our first time to Melting Pot. We came for my daughter's 18th birthday. They made it very special for all of us. All the courses were very good. Even the chocolate and I don't like chocolate very much. We had a coupon for a box of chocolate covered strawberries to go and the waitress forgot(which is the only reason I didn't give it a "5"). When I called back, the manager made it very right and invited us back. We will go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good quality food, but it could be more traditional Swiss”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The food is always good, but a bit americanized, with too many unorthodox recipes of fondue. Forget the traditional cheese fondue, which they serve too, but there are all kinds of meats and veggies, with an almost soup like broth, instead of the spices used in the few Swiss and French alpine recipes. There was no raclette either, which is a must in any fondue place.
But, like i said, the food is competent and the quality is also there.
Time is however not of the essence here. Perhaps very much like in a Swiss challet, it took over a hour to come, which in America, that is not acceptable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I came here with family for a night out and had an overall poor experience. The hostesses (3 of them) took about 5 minutes to seat us even though we had a reservation and just about every table was open. The waiter was very unhelpful, took a long time to get our drinks, confused what we ordered a couple of times and barely explained the menu. The food was nothing to brag about, and actually most of the meat tasted the same once cooked. In retrospect, we wished he would have started 2 pots for 4 people to cook food in - 4 to a pot was too many for the meat, as all the skewers tend to get tangled. The salads were drowned in dressing as well, The dessert was halfway decent, though. Haven't been this disappointed going out in a long time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jldsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing