We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Detroit Marriott Troy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Troy
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our stay at the Marriott in Troy, Michigan was a wonderful surprise. Just like previous reviews have stated, this hotel is absolutely worth the price. The hotel is one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed at. The room, the bathroom, everything was in perfect condition, and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nita1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    187
    81
    14
    16
See reviews for
107
71
15
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I would put it at 3.5 stars....why not 4....for the price I felt the pillows were the same a Courtyard Inn style, small scrunched up as was the room set up with the furniture and the tub showers...not complaining as I enjoyed my visit...the open lobby is nice and inviting to recreate with other travelers while working on the laptop and sipping a brew from the bar...very nice!
Rooms are spacious and nice but appeared to be a remodel or update? Nice hotel and great location to Somerset Mall area, nice restaurants, and has parking garage (nice if snowy winter)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Engel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Spent two nights here for business travel. Hotel is far from the airport--about 40 minutes to an hour depending on the route and traffic. Rooms are extremely clean but a bit dated and not that big. The cleanliness was a huge plus. Breakfast is very good and staff could not be more friendly. Only one drawback I noted was my room was four rooms away from the elevator and I could hear the humming. Next time I would request a room far from the elevator. Hotel is about 1 mile from some very upscale shopping and some nice restaurants!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gofish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This Marriott used to be one of the nicer hotels in the area ... self sufficient and great place for meetings ... the economy in this suburb of Detroit has suffered enough damage that the hotel is a little empty and forlorn most of the time now. I was there over Christmas and it was so quiet I thought no one else was there. The Shula restaurant is closed and so is the dance place that used to be there years ago. The lobby bar is open and the staff is great at that spot because they are so glad to see anyone sitting there ... rooms are still fine and service somewhat sparse, but still a nice place to go if you do not expect a lively stay. There are less expensive properties that are nearby that I prefer at this time. My mind may change as time goes on, however $100 + per night are hard to justify when $65 is right around the corner and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I generally use Choice Hotels, so was very excited to stay at a Marriott and experience all the things I hear about. My biggest compliment to this Marriott is the cleanliness! Rooms were spic and span! This is always the biggest thing I am looking for because I can feel at ease while staying here for the weekend. My biggest complaint is the lack of customer service. I checked in, I received barely a smile and got no information about the hotel. Didnt receive a check out time, No information on their f/b. The room could use a microwave/refidgerator for the price we are paying. No continental breakfast -- which would be okay if their breakfast offered wasnt an arm and leg. Pool/Exercise area was kept very clean as well and had great hours!

BIG PLUS -- Was on our way out of the hotel on the Sunday and a housekeeper (Manina, I think was her name) actually spoke to us, offered her help and wished us a safe trip home! Now if only all the rest of the staff could take some tips from her -- move her to your front desk and see more people come back because of her!

Room Tip: Bring a cooler if staying the weekend to save on beverages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed here for a conference in January weekend. Rooms were decent, location of the hotel is nice. But service from staff was little to nonexistant in terms of providing information, recognition of marriott elite status etc. Based on other reviews maybe I will give it another chance when its not busy but if a hotel of this stature cant handle being professional and welcoming during busy times, when can it ?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBeforeKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

As a traveling synchro parent I have stayed in many hotels. However, each and every year I look forward to my stay here. This is my 4th year here and the hotel is as beautiful and clean as when I first came. The staff is very friendly, they work with our travel manager very well. The breakfast buffet in the morning is great! You don't have to wait long for your omlets as they have two cheifs working the station. We don't have a lot of time in the morning and they are so fast and great in helping the girls sit togeather. The rooms are VERY clean. The beds are comfortable. Shuttle service is great. Very pleased. The mall is one mile away. Champs is across the street for great food.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank synchromom1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
1.5 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#12 of 17 in Troy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Troy

Property: Detroit Marriott Troy
Address: 200 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Troy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the upscale, contemporary design of a Troy, Michigan hotel in affluent Oakland County near downtown Detroit, The Somerset Collection, Chrysler, GM Tech Center and TACOM, as well as The Palace of Auburn Hills, home of the Pistons. This hotel boasts comfortable accommodations featuring an array of pleasing amenities such as 37" flat screen TVs and spacious baths with marble details. Travelers will appreciate the many thoughtful touches at this 350-room hotel, including wireless high-speed Internet access, well-appointed work-stations and deluxe bedding, as well as on-site restaurant, 200 west. The reinvented hotel lobby features plush seating, state of-the-art technology and creative food and beverage concepts in a stylish setting—all designed to meet the needs of today’s travelers. As a certified Michigan Green Lodging Facility, you can count on the Detroit Marriott Troy hotel to provide you with a comfortable and eco-friendly stay each and every time you visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Troy Hotel Troy
Marriott Troy
Troy Marriott
Detroit Marriott Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing