We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Troy
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I moved from the Marriott in Southfield, MI to this hotel and was happy I did so. The hotel is clean and what you expect from a Marriott. At check-in, they offer you a chance to pay less for internet services. It is $5 dollars vs $12, so I opted in. I am not sure why I still have to pay for internet services when I am paying over $200 a night for a room that is 500 square feet. $5 dollars is more palatable than $12, but still unreasonable. Plenty of restaurants in the area, so I would recommend this hotel. I am staying here again this week, so I will write some additional comments and maybe post some pictures.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIDAKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed for a wedding reception at the hotel. Great choice to get great night sleep after the fun.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganKansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here one night to attend a family wedding. Everything was very nice, especially the staff (friendly and professional) and lobby (large sitting area, bar, contemporary setting). The wedding reception facilities were professional and full service. Reception food was very good. Obviously convenient to stay overnight at the reception location. Rooms were nice (although not very big), beds fluffy, bathrooms basic. My wife and kids loved the beds but I thought they were a bit softer than the standard Marriott bed.

I noticed that the pool was "medium size", big enough for several kid families but not so great for swimming laps. Exercise area had treadmills and dumbbells but not much in the way of weight machines. If I was here on business I would consider the fitness facilities more like a courtyard inn. Not deluxe, just adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradleystat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a nice location and the staff was always ready to help. Very polite and always making you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasIslandhoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I've stayed here for a night and it's a good place to stay near the Troy area. Located just of the I-75, it's near the Sommerset Mall and some nice restaurants.
The rooms are renovated nicely and offer a comfortable stay but overall you can tell the hotel is kind of old, especially the hallways and common areas.
As a platinum member, I was offered a complimentary breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant which was very good (worth $17 + tip), two bottled waters and a Haggen Dazs pint (my choice).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. This is your typical full service marriott. When I checked in it wasn't crowded, but there's a dedicated line for Marriott elite member. The breakfast from the lounge has a typical marriott breakfast (scrambled egg, sausage, pastry, and fruits). One thing that's good is the fruits are abundant (they always have baskets full of oranges, apples, and bananas) and they are fresh. The gym is spacious (one room for weight and one room for cardio) and it's open 24 hours. The pool is big but it's closed at 11 every night. The location is great (there are a lot of restaurants within 5 minute drive) and the staffs are friendly. There's a garage behind the hotel where you can park for free. When I was there, there was plenty of spots to park. If you're staying in Troy and are looking to stay at a full service marriott, this is a good place to stay, but the one at centerpoint has a better rate and offers the same service.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1209 and 1210 (they are next to the lounge so keep hearing people opening and closing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechDbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is your typical, totally cookie-cutter Marriott, which is just fine. Basically if you've ever stayed in a suburban Marriott anywhere in North America, you know exactly what you're getting here. The rooms are nice and clean, there's a good work space, a couch (for throwing your clothes on in my case) and a pretty comfy bed. The breakfast offering is exactly what is offered at all their hotels like this one, and it arrives just the same as you'd expect. Thus, if you just want a no hassle stay and you're doing business in the area, this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#10 of 17 in Troy
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Troy

Address: 200 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range: £96 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Troy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the upscale, contemporary design of a Troy, Michigan hotel in affluent Oakland County near downtown Detroit, The Somerset Collection, Chrysler, GM Tech Center and TACOM, as well as The Palace of Auburn Hills, home of the Pistons. This hotel boasts comfortable accommodations featuring an array of pleasing amenities such as 37" flat screen TVs and spacious baths with marble details. Travelers will appreciate the many thoughtful touches at this 350-room hotel, including wireless high-speed Internet access, well-appointed work-stations and deluxe bedding, as well as on-site restaurant, 200 west. The reinvented hotel lobby features plush seating, state of-the-art technology and creative food and beverage concepts in a stylish setting—all designed to meet the needs of today’s travelers. As a certified Michigan Green Lodging Facility, you can count on the Detroit Marriott Troy hotel to provide you with a comfortable and eco-friendly stay each and every time you visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Detroit Marriott Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Troy Hotel Troy
Marriott Troy
Troy Marriott
Detroit Marriott Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing