We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Nothing Super Special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Troy
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here for work. Nice enough hotel. No problems at all, staff very friendly. Found it very good for work purposes but would probably be a little boring for families. Mall with great restaurants nearby. Lobby nice for impromptu meetings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanilaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello and thank you for staying! We wanted to let you know that our rooms will be undergoing a complete renovation in 2014 and we're sure that you may experience a bit more "wow factor" with the new design. Hopefully you'll return again next year. Thank you again for writing your review and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our stay at this hotel was very satisfying. Staff in this hotel were very polite and very professional.

Anytime we requested any item such as fridge or extra coffee packets, they were sent to our room immediately and without any hesitation.

Rooms, main lobby and the restaurant were clean and very satisfying.

If we happen to visit Troy again, will definitely stay at Marriott. Bravo to the management and staff and please keep up the good work!!!!!!! Cheers

Room Tip: Request rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viinnievohra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello there and thank you for visiting! We certainly appreciate your kind words and hope that you enjoyed yourself at the wedding. Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Because of bad weather, my flight was delayed and I arrived at 3:00 AM. I called ahead and they had my feather pillows waiting! My main gripe with this and any hotel, is housekeeping staff that does not make sure that everything in the room works as it should. On two hours of sleep, I drew a bath but the plug inthe tub would not hold and the tub could not fill. Servise-wise, they sent a security guard to the room to try and address the issue but hey - he was not maintenance and did not have parts. They fixed it during the day and were very generous and kind. A great plus with this hotel is that they give silver elite members access to the Concierge Lounge. A nice touch. I am a silver for life member and have never had this courtesy extended. For a business trip I recommed this hotel. The service is exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cporter187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello cporter and thank you for visiting! We are so sincerely sorry that you had problems with your tub. You are 100% correct that we should work diligently to assure that maintenance issues are not the problem of our guests. As much as we try, sometimes items go wrong between guest stays and we are not aware. At any event, we would be very appreciative if you could email us additional information about your stay so that we can assure that the tub is in perfect working order. Our General Manager can be reached directly at thetroymarriott@marriott.com. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a solid hotel and what you would expect from a Marriot. Cleanliness is very good. Rooms are fine, nothing special but comfortable. The breakfast buffet is very good. The pool area is a nice bonus and very clean. The bar area is nice, just slow service and pricy drinks. The service is pleasant enough.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelswithkidsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Greetings and thank you for staying with us and for writing your review. We will definitely be forwarding your concerns over the speed of service at 200 west. Obviously we aim to offer friendly and prompt service to all guests that dine with us. We apologize if there was any sort of unusual delay during your experience. Also regarding your comments on our rooms, we offer some exciting news! Our guest rooms will actually be undergoing a complete renovation beginning in 2014. We hope you will return then and experience the new design. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here just 1 night for a wedding. For a Marriot it was okay...our air conditioning didn't work much (appeared as if the hotel over rides the room settings) and the rooms tended to let in much noise from the halls. Overall the decor and coziness was up to par with the chain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmparker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

jmparker, thank you very much for writing your review. We sincerely apologize in advance for the situation with your air conditioning and we'd very much like to speak with you further. If you have the time, please email our General Manager directly at thetroymarriott@marriott.com with details of your stay. She is eager to learn more about your problem as well as the noise situation. Once again on behalf of our entire team, we apologize and hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide a better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a single night stay in Troy and choose this property. It was OK; nothing special. The Shula's restaurant in the hotel was permanently closed which was disappointing, as was the fact that this wasn't disclosed on their web site. Nice front desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJCjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Hello JJCjr and thank you not only for visiting, but also for writing. We sincerely apologize that you were surprised by the change in our dining options. Shula's Steak House actually closed in December 2010 and 200 west opened the following month in January 2011. It looks as though you were our guest this summer, long after the switch. While we can confirm that information was updated on our official Marriott website at the time of the change, it is likely that other online business directories which are beyond our control perhaps did not update their own information. 200 west is open daily for breakfast and the 200 west lounge (lobby bar area) is open for lunch, dinner, and late night dining also daily. We hope this information is helpful and we apologize for any misinformation you may have received. Thank you again and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The location is good, the staff are friendly and I got a pretty good deal. Rooms clean but the hallways needed a little work. Rooms on the smaller side and an older property so not the fanciest place. I would stay here again but it isn't the best Marriott I have been in.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Hello James and thank you for staying with us this summer. We apologize that you were disappointed in our rooms, however we are excited to announce that we will be undergoing a complete renovation of our guest rooms beginning January 2014. We hope that you will return and experience the new design. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Troy

Address: 200 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range: £100 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Troy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the upscale, contemporary design of a Troy, Michigan hotel in affluent Oakland County near downtown Detroit, The Somerset Collection, Chrysler, GM Tech Center and TACOM, as well as The Palace of Auburn Hills, home of the Pistons. This hotel boasts comfortable accommodations featuring an array of pleasing amenities such as 37" flat screen TVs and spacious baths with marble details. Travelers will appreciate the many thoughtful touches at this 350-room hotel, including wireless high-speed Internet access, well-appointed work-stations and deluxe bedding, as well as on-site restaurant, 200 west. The reinvented hotel lobby features plush seating, state of-the-art technology and creative food and beverage concepts in a stylish setting—all designed to meet the needs of today’s travelers. As a certified Michigan Green Lodging Facility, you can count on the Detroit Marriott Troy hotel to provide you with a comfortable and eco-friendly stay each and every time you visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Marriott Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Troy Hotel Troy
Marriott Troy
Troy Marriott
Detroit Marriott Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing