We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We really enjoy the Embassy Suites. Our family has room to sleep and the indoor pool and hot tub are always a treat. We were on Spring Break and visiting family but the hotel never felt crowded. The breakfast was great and the kids loved the tv's at the tables. Sometimes the atrium setup is noisy but it was never a problem here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewartsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Stewartsix,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with our hotel. I was happy to read your comments about how your family enjoyed themselves during your visit to our area during Spring Break, and that our hotel’s various guest amenities helped in making your stay more comfortable. Additionally, your compliment of the LG LCD TVs inside our booths in the restaurant was appreciated; they are very popular with families and business guests alike. Thanks again for your positive feedback and valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    230
    92
    55
    18
See reviews for
301
137
23
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Like all Embassy Suites this one features the nightly managers reception and cooked to order hot breakfast each morning. Every room is a 2 room suite complete with microwave, sink and fridge. But this hotel has been recently upgraded and the furnishings are up to date not old and worn. This hotel stays booked at 100% capacity throughout the year so they are accustomed to handling large numbers of guests and do a great job! Staff are friendly and anxious to assist. The rooms on the top two floors have been updated with european (open) style showers which some guests don't like.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JagIlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear JagIlbert,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with our hotel. I appreciated your compliments of some of the renovated suite and public space amenities and furnishings, thank you for mentioning this. Additionally, your description of our Team Members’ ‘anxiousness’ to assist and service our guests was also very appreciated and I will share your excellent review with them as they enjoy hearing positive guest feedback always. Thanks again for your valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Spent a Saturday night here on a spontaneous weekend away. Booked room on Trip Advisor; used advance booking certificate and CAA discount. Seemed like a really good deal at 109 + taxes. Had early dinner in the restaurant and waiter surprised us by providing us with a free glass of wine given we had not gone to the Managers reception 5.30 - 7.30 pm). I had chicken marsala and it was good my husband also enjoyed his meal of ribs. Our room rate also included a full breakfast (made to order omelette). The selection was good and the self serve was convenient to choosing what you wanted.

Staff were very friendly (especially restaurant manager and his staff!) we definitely felt welcomed!

We were pleasantly surprised to realize that we had stayed there > 21 years previously with our first child when he was a year old. Hotel at that time was a Guest Quarters Suites hotel. This brought back fond memories from that stay and first hotel experience with our son.

Stayed in room 616 and in morning were surprised after breakfast to find that shower did not work at all. Hotel offered to fix but we had to leave to return home for an appointment. Front desk staff said "sorry" on check-out. Restaurant manager said "sorry" too. Surprised that there was not compensation or offer of discount so when we came home I called the Customer Complaints 1-800 # and was advised that Hotel's General Manager would be informed and would get back to me in 3 days. On the 4th day, I had an email of apology (another "sorry") from the General Manager.

Apparantly my expectations were too high regarding customer service regarding a complaint. Embassy Suites policy is clearly to have staff simply say "sorry". I must be an unusual customer to expect formal compensation!

This is just plain disappointing as far as customer service from my perspective! I will not stay at this hotel again and will think twice about staying at another Embassy Suites and/or Hilton hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 616 since the shower was not working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotgrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The front desk worker was rude and disrespectful. She was unhelpful and really almost made me jump across that desk. Enough about them 2. The rooms were clean and nice. The restaurant was nice and the food was delicious. Outside of front desk staff, the hotel was awesome.

Room Tip: be patient with the front desk worker, i think her name is Erin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Tan H,

I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of stay you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry about the lack of service you received from our front desk staff. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and your review will help us improve. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding time at our hotel. While we are pleased to hear that you found our guest room and dining enjoyable, we will address your issue directly. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider giving us another chance.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

My wife's family reunion was at the Embassy suites Auburn Hills. The rooms were very clean and spacious
Breakfast was very nice. The nightly managers reception was marvelous. I'm a Embassy Suites fan..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicrophoneChec12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I've stayed at this Embassy Suites several times when in the metro Detroit area (business and personal). I keep coming back because of the friendly staff, modern design, and efficient operations. I've noticed that some of the staff has been there a while, and seem to appreciate/enjoy their jobs...a testament to good management.

What I really want to note is that the last two time I've been there (within the last month), I was helping my ailing father. The hotel was more than accommodating with understanding last-minute changes to reservations, graciously upgrading when requested, and inquiring how else they could help.

Their facilities were an oasis from stress, and allowed my family and me to relax, enjoy a drink/snacks in the evening, excercise, and takd a swim. The pool area is great--indoor with a large hot tub, and an outdoor area too, if you want to sun.

We ate several times (other than breakfast...which is included at Embassy) at the hotel restaurant, and enjoyed the food, whether it was room service or restaurant service. Also, there's a few casual restaurants across Crooks Road if you want non-hotel food nearby. It's a quick drive to Downtown (if it's not rush hour) or Royal Oak for evening entertainment (yes, Downtown Detroit is actually safe, and has some excellent evening options--try Fountain Bistro on Friday or Saturday night!).

I highly recommend this Embassy for anyone who needs a North Detroit-metro area place for business or family. Be advised, though right off of I-75, it's a bit hidden in a business park, but well worth finding.

Room Tip: If staying here in hot summer, avoid 8th floor, as the A/C becomes a bit taxed due to the hot roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Goblu,

Thank you very much for your gracious and excellent review of your recent stay at our hotel! I appreciated reading the compliments of several guest amenities like the swimming pool, Jacuzzi, breakfast services, manager's reception, and your description of our property being of “modern design” and having “efficient operations”. I am anxious to share your compliments from your experiences here with our Team as they appreciate hearing positive guest comments and responses in reviews. They will truly enjoy reading your compliments of them; and I especially appreciated reading your account of how our Team Members have been consistent in both your recent visits in servicing your needs. Our property is fortunate to have this caliber of Team Members that interact with our guests with understanding, helpfulness, and genuine caring for our guests’ needs during their stay with us. Thanks again for the wonderful review and your valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.

Best regards,
Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Very nice rooms. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. We went to a restaurant off a list from the hotel and it was amazing. It was a steak house...personal names in the title..they even gave us a free app when it took so long (we hadnt even noticed and did not even think to complain) . Such good service everywhere we went and it made the whole (kinda boring) trip awesome!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Windsortraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Windsortraveller23,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at our hotel! All of our Team Members truly enjoy meeting and servicing Canadian travelers; as we are conveniently located on I-75 express way, we are in an ideal location to nearby shopping centers and numerous casual and upscale dining options. I was happy to read your comment that service was good at the restaurant choice made off of the list our Team Member offered you and that it appears that your overall trip experience at our property and the local area was memorable. Thanks again for your review and valued business, we hope to service your lodging needs again soon.

Best regards,
Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
2.4 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Address: 850 Tower Drive, Troy, MI 48098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Troy
#4 Business Hotel in Troy
#4 Family Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Detroit-Troy/Auburn Hills is located in the Michigan suburb of Troy, just a short interstate drive from Downtown Detroit, however, our Troy hotel is located just minutes from attractions such as The Palace of Auburn Hills, Walter P. Chrysler Museum, Somerset Collection Shopping Mall, and Great Lake Crossing Mall. As with all Embassy Suites hotels, we offer complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, evening Manager's Reception, and spacious two-room suites. Enjoy the other amenities of our hotel including high speed wireless internet access (for a nominal fee), on-site fitness center, business center, and indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Troy
Troy Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing