We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satifsfactory but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Middlefield, United States
1 review
“Satifsfactory but not great”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel offers the typical Embassy Suites reception and breakfast. The hotel was run down with obvious wall paper peeling off the walls. It needs a fresh coat of paint or wallpaper almost everywhere. There is a lingering smell of cigarette smoke through some areas of the hotel. Also, for the managers reception there were very little snacks and the bar was so crowded it was hard to get a drink. Also, the wifi quality was almost nonexistent in my room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Donna A,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our property and brand goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations--and I am disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations and that you found our property to be run-down. In your review, you bring up some great points that we are currently looking into. In regards to updating---we're already on our way. In fact, our property will be undergoing some renovations in the near future to address the concerns you addressed.

Please be assured that the feedback you provided in your review will be taken into consideration so that we may improve our guests’ in-property experience. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.


Sincerely,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    236
    92
    55
    20
See reviews for
307
141
23
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The location of this hotel is in perfect proximity of many attractions that I visted. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. I was impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the breakfast. The staff at breakfast were so wonderful. They were kind enough to help my children with their breakfast selections, as I had my hands full with a tired (and very ornery) child. Also the gentleman that cleans the pool area in the morning was very friendly and does a wonderful job; the pool area was spotless!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear hannahlore,

Thank you for the Excellent review of your recent stay with us! I really enjoyed all of your compliments of our hotel's room and breakfast areas, and especially your description of our Team Members and how the "staff was friendly". Thank you also for recognizing our Team Member that helped you with carrying breakfast items for you and for the Team Member attending our swimming pool area and how it was "spotless".

Thanks again for the Excellent review and valued business, and we hope that we will be your first choice for lodging needs in your return trips to our area.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I spent two nights here on a recent business trip to the Troy, MI area. Overall, I found the hotel acceptable. It's hard to say more than that, positive or negative.

The room was mostly clean but in need of a refresh. The bed was quite comfortable and there was hot water for the shower, so I can't complain too much.

The Embassy Suites breakfast was fine. The omelet was pretty good, but the selections otherwise seemed limited -- a very limited selection of pastries, cereals, etc. Not the wide range of choices that you might see at other Embassy Suites. The diet coke machine wasn't working when I was there - just water.

The manager's reception was a hopping place. They give you a card for 3 free drinks each night, but the bartenders are pretty accommodating to 4 or 5 and they really know the regular guests. The snacks are pretty typical as well -- veggie tray, pretzels with mustard, etc.

Overall, I'm sure there must be a nicer place to stay in the area, but if you're a Hhonors member or a Embassy Suites fan, this will be fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JusticeSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear JusticeSalmon,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. From your observations and experiences that you described, it seems that your overall stay was not impressing, which I apologize for and will review your review with our Leadership Team and all our Team Members. We strive to provide consistently excellent service and hope that all our guests leave with a more positive last impression of our hotel and service. I appreciate also that your feedback is respected highly as you are a Top Contributor, with 37 hotel reviews in 38 cities, which all represents that you travel very often and experience numerous hotels so your experiences with us does heed our utmost attention, thank you.

Thanks again for the review and feedback; your valued business and we hope that we will have the opportunity to service your lodging needs in the future if you should be visiting our area again.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on trent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this very pleasant hotel for one night, 16th Sept. Brilliant we'll trained friendly staff, couldn't be more helpful. Free drinks at the bar. Good quality food. Large comfortable room would certainly recommend this place to anyone. Only criticism, it's not easy to find. One small sign on the road and no sign at all on the outside of the building. Only a small point but I drove past twice before I found it, then had to ask another guest when I was outside the place. Other than that great value. Management and staff should be proud.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank yberd1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear yberd1884,

Thank you for the Excellent review of your recent stay with us! I really enjoyed all of your compliments of your experiences at our property, from the large suite to good food choices and to our free drinks during our daily Evening Reception; and I deeply appreciated your compliment and recognizing our Team as being "Brilliant we'll trained friendly staff, couldn't be more helpful". I appreciate also that your positive review is earned from you; a Senior Contributor with 17 reviews in 16 cities; which all represents that you travel very often and experience numerous hotels so that we earned your positive feedback is appreciated, thank you.

Thanks again for the Excellent review, your valued business and loyalty to our Hilton Worldwide family of hotels, and we look forward to your return stays with us while you may be visiting our area again in the future.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed in the Embassy Suites for a week on business, and the entire experience from the get go was absolutely top notch. The staff could not possibly have beenmore accomodating, even down to helping me phone round available shops at 5 a.m. in the morning to locate somewhere I could buy cufflinks. The complimentary evening reception was a very welcome surprise, with excellent choice of drinks and nibbles. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kolawole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Kolawole O,

Thank you for the Excellent review of your recent stay with us! I will share all of your positive feedback with our Team Members as we appreciate the opportunity to service international travelers for both business and leisure purposes that are staying with us. While Embassy Suites Brand is well known in the U.S., it is not so in other countries as there are only a handful of them outside the States and mainly in North America. Thank you very much for recognizing our Team Members in stating that our "staff could not possibly have been more accommodating", this is truly the driving force for our Team to build our guest loyalty.

Thanks again for the Excellent review and your valued business and I hope that we will be your first choice again in your future travels to our area.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel because the breakfast is included! We had a nice quiet room tucked into the corner (LOVED THIS) away from the elevators and foot traffic. The breakfast each morning is great...we had eggs cooked fresh every morning. The individual booth has a television so you can watch the news or ESPN! Great hotel, nice gym. We love to stay here, also the living area makes hotel living for a week while visiting family nice and relaxing! The staff was very friendly and assisted as needed when we needed anything.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms if you want to have a really QUIET room! The workout room is really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear KarenRWilliams,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I appreciated all of your details provided in describing so many of our guest accommodations and services, thank you. Additionally, I am glad that the corner suite was perfect for your longer stay and your comment of "LOVED THIS" was excellent!

Thanks again for the great review and valued business, and I hope that we will be your first choice again for your return visits to our area.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Was here on business and this was an excellent stay. Clean, friendly, quick. Was a short trip for me, but took advantage of the breakfast in the morning (plenty of options). First time with Embassy and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ashley Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Ashley Marie R,

Thank you for the Excellent review of your recent stay with us! Although your stay was short due to travel and business needs, I am glad to read that you still had time to enjoy our breakfast services and that you left with such a positive impression of your first experience with an Embassy Suites hotel.

Thanks again for the Excellent review; your valued business and we look forward to servicing your future return trips to our local area for business or leisure.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
2.4 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Address: 850 Tower Dr, Troy, MI 48098-2845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Troy
#4 Family Hotel in Troy
#4 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Detroit-Troy/Auburn Hills is located in the Michigan suburb of Troy, just a short interstate drive from Downtown Detroit, however, our Troy hotel is located just minutes from attractions such as The Palace of Auburn Hills, Walter P. Chrysler Museum, Somerset Collection Shopping Mall, and Great Lake Crossing Mall. As with all Embassy Suites hotels, we offer complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, evening Manager's Reception, and spacious two-room suites. Enjoy the other amenities of our hotel including high speed wireless internet access (for a nominal fee), on-site fitness center, business center, and indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Troy
Troy Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing