We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and extremely helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is well located for business in the Troy area. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean but need alittle updating. The staff are very attentive and the restauant, room service and bar stff are particulary helpful and make you feel very welcome. I will absolutely stay again and have no hesitation in recomendeding the hotel for all visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Leslie Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Leslie Gerald B,

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay with us. I appreciated your feedback of all of your experiences in your stay, from the attentiveness of our Team Members to the enjoyable suite accommodations, thank you. I also appreciated receiving your honest feedback of how some of our suite appointments could use a "little updating"; thank you for mentioning as our guests' feedback is very important and will help guide us through our soon-approaching renovation plans.

Thanks again for the great review and valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs when traveling overseas to our area again soon.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Travelled to Troy recently for business. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful upon arriving. Room was very spacious. A living room with a desk to work from. Spacious bedrooom, and small wet bar area with fridge and microwave. Bed was comfortable and room very quiet. Breakast in the morning was great with a great selection. Fitness room was a bit cramped, but suited my needs just fine. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear John C,

Thank you for the Excellent review of your recent stay with us! The title of your review was perfect - "Excellent from top to bottom", thank you for writing this as it describes our Team’s goal to provide excellent service to all our guests through our Excellent Service Culture. I really appreciated all of your detailed descriptions of your experiences during your stay, from the front desk staff being very helpful to the enjoyable suite accommodations and the great breakfast selections, thank you; and thank you also for providing your feedback on the fitness center space also and I am glad that the equipment was still functional for your workout needs.

Thanks again for the Excellent review and valued business and we hope to be your first choice for lodging needs again when returning to our area for business or leisure.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Not my usual stay in Detroit area but decided on trying considering my go-to hotel was fully booked. The only good thing I could say about this place is the food and buffet (made to order) wasn't too bad. Evening dinner food was pretty good. And the pool and gym area were adequate at best. Other than that, several areas needing attention:

1) Place is worn and in need of a renovation. Carpet is heavily stained in eating area, walls, elevator controls, etc. all needing updating, repairs, and cleaning. Style and décor is dated.

2) Room amenities also needing updating and general maintenance. Out toilet seat was literally broken clear through on one side.

3) WiFi in our room was of such low signal strength that it was useless. Even throughout the hotel, the "hhonors" wifi signal was weak and not reliable.

4) Housekeeping is a problem. Yes, they did make up our room every day, but because we had 3 in our suite, we needed extra towels. Called down 3 times for service and was told each time they were on their way. After waiting for an hour, I went down to front lobby and asked. Receptionist immediately went to go get them but after walking about 30 feet, ran into another hotel employee and starting having a conversation with him about something right in front of me waiting in the lobby. (Really?). Again, I strongly reiterated the need for some towels immediately, and she stopped and walked off and brought me the towels a few minutes later.

5) The beds were very soft and clearly worn - like sleeping in a hole.

Not what I had in mind for this hotel in the middle of a business district - (not the easiest to find). Would not go back unless major changes made.

Also - beware of reviews of this place (or any other place, for that matter!) that ranks it 4-5 stars and the reviewer has 1 review under their belt.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cohibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Cohibaba,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. We apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that we provide our guests with plenty of fresh towels. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the speed of our WiFi and we are currently addressing this issue with our service provider to ensure additional guests do not experience the same issue. We really appreciate your feedback about the appearance of our property and are very sorry that your guest room did not live up to your expectations. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience and hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Sincerely,

Eric Welch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Enjoyed my stay for 3 nights- service was good, evening reception and breakfast both very well done. Room was very clean and quiet, lots of parking and location was perfect for business trip. No complaints would stay here again and recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Pete F,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I enjoyed reading your compliments of the breakfast and evening reception services throughout your 3 day stay being "very well done"; these two daily amenities are very important features of our Embassy Suites value for our guests so I am glad that you enjoyed your experiences with them. Thank you in advance for your future consideration of staying with us again and recommending us to your family and friends, much appreciated.

Thanks again for the great review and valued business and we look forward to servicing your future lodging needs when traveling in our area again.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

yuck. They had a lot of nerve charging nearly 200 bucks a night for a room with wallpaper peeling off the walls, paint peeling off the bath ceiling, and a couch so gross I was afraid to sit on it. Came to the area for a business trip and when I return later this summer I will be staying someplace else for sure. nothing at all nearby - and they give you a drink coupon and monitor and check off your drinks - never seen this before at an Embassy Suites property!

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NashBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Barbara D,

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.

Thank you,

Eric Welch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If I travel this way again, I will stay at this hotel. Everything was great, the hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff was quick to help if there was an issue. The other people who accompanied me on this trip were totally out done with the quality of the hotel. the evening reception was the best, you get your money's worth and more when you stay at the Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was very clean and had a great enviroment. Staff was very professional and were very engaging with the guest. The Bartenders were awesome and very friendly. The hotel is very easy access on and off the expressway. The Food was great and we would stay again when we return to Michigan

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
2.7 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#11 of 17 in Troy
215 reviews
2.4 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills

Address: 850 Tower Dr, Troy, MI 48098-2845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Troy
#4 Business Hotel in Troy
#4 Family Hotel in Troy
Price Range: £87 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Detroit-Troy/Auburn Hills is located in the Michigan suburb of Troy, just a short interstate drive from Downtown Detroit, however, our Troy hotel is located just minutes from attractions such as The Palace of Auburn Hills, Walter P. Chrysler Museum, Somerset Collection Shopping Mall, and Great Lake Crossing Mall. As with all Embassy Suites hotels, we offer complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, evening Manager's Reception, and spacious two-room suites. Enjoy the other amenities of our hotel including high speed wireless internet access (for a nominal fee), on-site fitness center, business center, and indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Troy
Troy Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing