We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Detroit - Troy
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Shepherd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I always stay there was I'm down that way for business. Beds are great, service is great, food is great! Will always continue to stay there and recommend others to stay there as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nashadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinntroy, General Manager at Quality Inn Detroit - Troy, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Well, I am sorry about the issues you encountered, AND thank you for your kind words about the rest of your stay. We look forward to having you back and hope your next review will be *****! : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    65
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
37
14
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,235 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I really loved this place when I stayed here in September (see my review dated October 7, 2011). I was back here again about a month afterward and still thought it was outstanding. However, my most recent visit in January had caused my to lower my rating one notch.

It is still a very good place to stay and I would recommend it, but there were a couple of issues this last trip that caused me to down-grade my rating one notch. The negatives were:

1. The first room I was assigned had a problem with the fire dector beeping intermittently. Although the hotel immediately assigned me a new room two doors down, I was not that impressed was the individual at the front desk. In the past, the front desk staff have been outstanding, personable and just great to deal with. This guy was professional, but seemed bored about the whole issue. The fire dector continued to beep until I went to sleep; you could here in from the halls and even slightly from my new room.

2. Although the bathroom was exceptionally clean, the carpet in my room needed a better vacumming; it was obvious that no one had cleaned the rug under the desk area in a while. UGH.

On the other hand, I still really like this place, particularly due to:

1. Great price for area; I always upgrade to the jacuzzi room. which is great.

2. Beds are comfortable; room layout is good if you want to do some work, e.g., good desk with adequate lighting.

3. PCs in the business center alcove are great to catch up on email etc., if you are not bringing a laptop with you.

4. Excellent deal in the bar area -- from 6 to 7:30 pm for Choice Members (no cost to join) there is a free bar for beer, wine and soda, and a free bar foods buffet. The food is great, and the woman and man who work the bar are exceptional. Great time.

I will continue to use this Quality Inn for my home base when in the Detroit area, but this last trip just wasn't as good as in the past.

Room Tip: Upgrade for the jacuzzi -- it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CynthiafromOhio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We previously wrote a negative review for this property (on October 31, 2011). We had purchased a Groupon deal for a one-night stay in a jacuzzi room with two breakfasts and two drinks and two desserts from the lounge included. We had called to make our reservation, and unbeknownst to us, the woman who handled our reservation over the phone incorrectly entered our reservation date. When we arrived to check in on a Friday night, they told us that our reservation was supposed to be for the previous Monday and that we were a no-show. Because of this, our Groupon was revoked, we lost our money, and they wouldn't give us a room without us paying the full price. We left extremely disappointed.

The following week, the manager of the hotel (who wasn't present at the time of our arrival) called and apologized repeatedly for the mistake. He offered us a night in a jacuzzi room at no charge and $25 to go out to dinner to make up for things, and we accepted.

The manager hadn't mentioned that they would also honor our original Groupon deal at no cost to us, but when we arrived the attendant presented us with both the $25 as promised and a set of tickets to redeem for breakfast and the two drinks and desserts. We were very pleasantly surprised.

The room itself was large and very clean, *including* the jacuzzi (sometimes you never know what you're going to get)... we were quite happy with it. At the Wheel House Lounge, we met Randy the bartender, who was friendly and a hoot to talk to. Breakfast also exceeded our expectations, and there was a nice older gentleman who refilled our coffee and made it feel more like a restaurant setting even though it was just a breakfast buffet.

We are pleased to replace our previous negative review with this positive one after the Quality Inn made the extra effort to win back our business.

Room Tip: Not the most scenic location. Best if you just plan to sleep there and explore the town, as it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mostin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinntroy, General Manager at Quality Inn Detroit - Troy, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
I remember reaching out to this guest because I had to do something about the fact his anniversary was disrupted due to our hotel. What a pleasure to deal with and I completely appreciate a guest who understands that things happen from time to time. Thank you! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The hotel itself is dated but fine. The staff on seeing what our family group was trying to do opened a conference room for our use. Things like this are remembered and appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OleAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We find Quality Inns to always be comfortable, and this one was. We slept well. For breakfast, we paid $9.44 for two. Hot buffet similar to all the Comfort Inns, but it was in a large meeting room. Perhaps it was b/c there was a class reunion having breakfast. Two men were serving the juice and coffee and clearing the tables. They left the pot of coffee on the table. We thought our breakfast would be included, but the receptionist checked our rate, and said it didn't include breakfast. But the breakfast was fine, and it was downstairs, so that is convenient. The room value is good. This Inn is hard to find at night, using the side streets coming from Troy. Luckily, we had a print out from MapQuest to guide us.

Room Tip: Use GPS to find this place, if confused, at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredSecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinntroy, General Manager at Quality Inn Detroit - Troy, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Breakfast is not complimentary to all guests who pay to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We were in Detroit for a 50th high school reunion and this was the headquarters hotel. The location would not seem to provide a challenge, but it's tucked back away from I-75 and required a couple of wrong turns before we actually arived. It turned out to be perfect for this event . Facilities were just right for a Friday evening meet-and-greet and a Sunday morning farewell breakfast (Saturday night gala was elsewhere). Bar and restaurant on site; nice ambiance and good food, based on one experience. Room was large and very quiet; bathroom a bit small, however, with limited counter space. Friendly and helpful staff from housekeeping on up. Complimentary breakfast was well done with several hot items. If you are in the area, check it out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side might be quieter (side we stayed on) but it's far enough from the freewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Professor56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,235 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

As I had an early morning meeting in Troy, spent one night here. Although not new or fancy, this place was an outstanding value due to reasonable price and great, friendly service. Everyone I interacted with here did an exceptional job --- from the front-desk check-in and check-out to servers in the attached bar and restaurant.

Since the price was so reasonable, I upgraded my room to a juacuzzi suite which was great! Room and bath was spotlessly clean, bed was very comfortable and lay-out of room with desk and lighting was good for working. There was also a free business center.

There is a happy hour with free drinks and free food -- it was an excellent Italian pasta the night I stayed there. The pasta w/ bread sticks was so good that I didn't even need to buy dinner.

This at one time was a Holiday Inn, but new management has taken over and they seem to be very committed to customer service.

The hotel is located close to I-75, but a little difficult to access (basically circle around to a dead-end residential area), but once you get there, you will be pleased with your stay.

Great value, great service. great experience. If I am back in the area, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CynthiafromOhio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
2.5 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#11 of 17 in Troy
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Detroit - Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Detroit - Troy

Property: Quality Inn Detroit - Troy
Address: 2537 Rochester Ct, I-75 & Rochester Road, Troy, MI 48083-1875 (Formerly Holiday Inn Detroit - Troy)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Detroit - Troy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Troy just off Interstate 75, the Quality Inn® hotel right off I-75 at exit 67. This Troy, MI hotel is central to Detroit's Big Three automakers (General Motors, Ford, and Chrysler) and many top-tier corporations. Additional attractions close to this Troy hotel include the Palace of Auburn Hills sports and entertainment complex and the Detroit Zoo. Oakland Mall and Somerset Collection are nearby and feature dozens of retailers, specialty stores and more. Try the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Wall Street, for a delicious meal in a relaxing atmosphere during your stay. As a guest of this hotel in Troy, MI, you can enjoy features like:*Free wireless high-speed Internet access*Manager's reception with food and drinks *Free weekday newspaper *Seasonal outdoor pool *Exercise room. Corporate travelers staying at this Troy hotel can take advantage of additional conveniences including a business center, computer with Internet access, and copy and fax service. There are four spacious banquet and meeting rooms located on the premises. Coffee makers with free coffee, refrigerators, hair dryers, desks, irons and ironing boards are standard features in all guest rooms. Ask about rooms that offer additional features like microwaves, hot tubs and sofa sleepers. This is a pet-friendly hotel; fees apply. For added convenience, laundry facilities are located on the premises. The Quality Inn hotel is a great place to stay if you are looking for personalized service and countless features at affordable rates in Troy, MI. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, we have numerous amenities that will make you feel at home. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Detroit - Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Detroit - Troy Hotel Troy
Holiday Inn Troy
Troy Holiday Inn
Quality Inn Detroit - Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing